We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chesterfield, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This hotel provided one of the best stays my wife and I have ever experienced. Our room was on a corner and was large and modern, but kept the historic ambience that makes this hotel so unique. Best location in Santa Fe. Steps from the Plaza, museums, restaurants and shopping. The hotel restaurant was fantastic also. Little outdoor bar on fifth floor (top floor) was a great place to spend some afternoon time. A stay here brings you back in time and helps you appreciate the "City Different". All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Parking at $12/day was reasonable and very convenient to the hotel entrance. Great Experience. Will go back as often as I can.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    299
    78
    34
    38
See reviews for
211
559
61
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We found La Fonda to be a wonderful, very central hotel that allowed us to easily walk to many of the sites we wanted to see in Sante Fe. Breakfast in their courtyard style restaurant every morning was a wonderful way to start the day and the food at this restaurant was great. Highly recommend the tortila soup.

Their pool and spa area, which included a gym (much appreciated to jog off a few of the meals we enjoyed at southwestern restaurants during our stay), was very nicely kept. The location to the church downtown was quite nice, as you could hear the afternoon chimes every so often, while sitting pool side.

The rooms are done in a very local, traditional style and we really appreciated that. Hotel staff were always helpful, offering turn down service nightly and little mint chocolates which were lovely. The beds were so very comfortable and we had many good nights rests.

Overall, a great place to stay and I would come again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I booked the room based on an email offer and only later realized it was for a queen bed. Rather than canceling and rebooking I thought it might be cozy for my wife and I to bed down in a queen size. Well, the bed wasn't the only thing that was small. The room was also quite small. The decor is a little outdated (unless you really like the rustic Santa Fe style) but the room was clean and the service was reasonably good. I should mention the location is excellent and the hotel bar is quite lively in the late evening. However, next time I go to Santa Fe I plan to book a room in a little more upscale hotel such as the Inn at Loretto.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

After a ghastly weekend in Gallup, NM, almost anything would have been delightful, but our 2 nights at La Fonda were the perfect antidote. Our room was beautifully restored, with comfortable chairs, plenty of storage and a great bed. We were on the top floor and had a perfect view of the Loretto Chapel. Drinks on the Bell Tower Terrace were refreshing and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had a wonderful visit at La Fonda. Although the building is old, it is updated. Clever use of drop cords to help those of us who are electronically inclined. WiFi was fast enough for my needs. Bell Tower Bar is the best place for a marguerita! Concierge was very helpful. Parking is tight for bigger vehicles but there was always a space. All in all, it was great!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

My wife and i have stayed in some fine hotels in our 36 years of marriage but the brief time we spent at the Lafonda ranks among the best. We passed through Santa Fe July 11th and 12th. Our time spent at the Lafonda was great. Our room was unbelievable, the pool was refreshing and the restaurant off the lobby was so good that we had dinner and breakfast the following morning w/o leaving the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. We rank the Lafonda alongside the Fairmont Castle in Banff and the Old Faithful Inn in Yellowstone for historic charm and great service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Great location within walking distance to all the attractions on the Plaza. Rooms are small but very nice. Old hotel with lots of stairs and different levels-so navigating with a stroller is not the easiest. But this is part of this hotel's experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.