We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Stay in Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Manhasset, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delightful Stay in Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

My husband and I spent five glorious days this month (May 2011) at the La Fonda Hotel celebrating a milestone wedding anniversary. When we arrived at the hotel we were graciously greeted by Dennis at the front desk and once on the Terrace level in search of our suite we were again welcomed by a warm and helpful concierge (Rebecca and Mary Anne alternated shifts on this desk). In honor of our anniversary we were greeted with a bottle of white wine and later a plate of cheese, crackers and fruit were delivered. Our suite was well-appointed (great bed and linens), it was spacious and charmingly decorated, and our breakfast each morning was delivered on time and always warm and delicious. This was our first visit to Santa Fe, so we were eager to explore all the cultural, culinary and art offerings of this delightful city, and the La Fonda Hotel, provided a quiet retreat for us at the end of each exciting adventure. And by the way, the La Fonda lobby bar makes an amazing variety of scrumptious Margaritas.

Room Tip: Let them know if you are celebrating an event
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    271
    72
    33
    38
See reviews for
187
505
58
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, CA USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

From the moment I drove into the parking lot of the hotel, registered, was shown to my room, had help from the concierge, experienced the sparkling feeling and beautifully decorated areas all over the hotel, the happiness of all of the workers, courtesy, and care throughout my stay...I was overwhelmed with positive feelings. The food in the restaurants was delicious, one waitress had been there for 30 years and loved her job...La Fonda has an old world historical feeling while being involved in such things as using recycled paper on the straws..a lovely experience...I recommend La Fonda Hotel!

Room Tip: just ask, very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

La Fonda has a special place in my heart. My earliest memories include eating salt-rising bread in the restaurant when it was still a Harvey House; a dog show; my parents meeting other local friends there; Suzette's fashion shop, proms, art shows. In the years since I moved away from Santa Fe I have returned again and again drawn, by the unique collection of art in the lobby, the Indian Detour desk, the painted glass, frescos and artwork everywhere by Ernesto Martinez; the the French bakery and bar; ast but not least the people who are La Fonda -- Lalo, now retired (who carried suitcases for Eleanor Roosevelt); David--a wonderful employee; Steve Wimmer -- world's greatest concierge; the warm folks in the gift shop. There is no hotel in the world uniquely Santa Fe as La Fonda. Historic, fanciful and first-rate!

Room Tip: Talk to the conciege desk, especially Steve Wimme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Upon arrival, we headed to the main desk for check in. We were greeted by Dennis who handled our reservations and verified all the information of room type and price and that they were correct. He had a great sense of humor and made a rather long day end in an enjoyable experience. He had a professional manner about him and at the same time made you feel at ease. He is the reason we will be going back this fall. The rooms were very comfortable and having flowers delivered to the room earlier that day was handle by Nancy at the concierge desk and were beautiful. The atmosphere was wonderful and the dinner in the restaurant was excellent. We had made reservations for dinner and was advised by the front desk to do so since it was crowded and this was on a weekday evening. The hotel is right off the plaza in Santa Fe and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who would be staying in the Santa Fe area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I recently stayed at the La Fonda (which was my first time at this hotel) and I had a fabulous time. The staff was GREAT! If you stay at the La Fonda, be sure to ask for Dennis at the front desk; he is so nice and extremely helpful. The location of the hotel is superb because you are close to everything (EASY WALKING DISTANCE). I will most definitely stay at the La Fonda next time I am in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Hotel with real character - arguably the most appealing thing about Santa Fe. We had a beautiful suite with real individuality. The public rooms, especially the restaurant, are like no others. A historic hotel of immense appeal. If you like identikit uniformity the same the world over La Fonda is not for you but if you like something different with a real flavour of its own, this is the place. Only grumble is that I didn't check my bill properly (my fault) and only realised too late I'd been charged for parking when in fact we'd travelled by train. That is a recommendation in itself, though: NM Rail Runner from Albuquerque is excellent and a great way to get to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

A quick trip to Santa fe.Three lovely days here.La fond a is a beautiful historic hotel right downtown .Walked everywhere.The staff was efficient and friendly particularly Dennis at the front desk.He helped make this trip wonderful! We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.