We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Historic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Port Huron, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Magnificent Historic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We arrived at La Fonda exhausted and almost past the dinner hour. The desk official, Brenda greeted us with such a great warm welcome and quickly got us oriented with the hotel, ammenities and the city. She is a great person to deal with for anything at this wonderful hotel. Our room overlooked the Loretto Chappel and had a lovely balcony, all this at one of their lowest priced rooms too! Our room was beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable. We dined in the restaurant that evening and had an outstanding culinary experience. Even though we were late diners the restaurant never rushed us or made us feel uncomfortable for being late. Our waitress, Alexis was very professional and offered some good substitutes due to my food allergies. This is one of the best historic hotels in the USA so if you are in the Santa Fe area do not miss it. Parking is at a premium here but the hotel has its own parking garage, which is a huge plus.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    271
    72
    33
    38
See reviews for
187
505
58
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

My husband and I spent one night in Santa Fe last month, and I had the hardest time choosing a hotel in the plaza area. My husband chose La Fonda, and I'm glad he did! While it's clearly an older building, I enjoyed the historic Southwest charm. The location is incredibly convenient to walking around the plaza and surrounding streets. We relaxed in the hot tub. Our room was spacious. The view from the rooftop bar is great. Dinner at La Plazuela was fabulous, and I loved the interior courtyard. The front desk staff - I believe it was Jeremy (?) - was very helpful - really great service. Only complaint was some noise outside our room - we were on the first floor across from a conference room, and the cleaning staff was a little loud. But I expect some noise staying in a hotel. Overall, I recommend it and would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koloa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Spent a great deal of time researching a hotel with charm and character, in a very relaxed and romantic setting, in the historical area of Santa Fe .... and chose La Fonda ..... we were not disappointed. We stayed in one of the 14 rooms on the concierge floor ..... with a huge king bed, private patio, and semi-private spa. The room was spacious, well-appointed, and the king bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever enjoyed. Rebecca, our concierge, was bright and friendly, and assisted us with all of our needs. The entire staff ..... housekeeping, restaurant, front desk ..... was extremely courteous, friendly, warm, and outgoing. Every aspect of the hotel is rich with history, beauty, and comfort. It was the perfect setting for a romantic visit to Santa Fe. The hotel is located right in the middle of the historical area of town, and everything from the 100+ galleries on Canyon Road, to the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum were within easy walking distance. We would return to La Fonda in a heartbeat .... it was one of the highlights of our stay in Santa Fe. Congratulations, La Fonda, for making our visit so very memorable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at La Fonda on the Plaza from Saturday, April 16th through Sunday, April 24th, 2011. I was in Santa Fe for business purposes and I found the La Fonda to be perhaps my most enjoyable stay in a hotel ever. The property itself is beautiful, charming and historic but it is the hotel staff that made my stay so memorable.

I would like to start off by thanking Brenda and Dennis at the front desk for their warmth, sense of humor and efficiency in responding to any needs that I expressed. I would like to especially compliment Brenda for accommodating some special requests that I made to her.

The bellman staff members were prompt, friendly and helpful. Thanks to David Robinson and Omar for moving my luggage and boxes around during the week.

Nancy at the concierge desk was also very helpful with directions.

The fifth floor rooms facing the Loretto Chapel have outside patios with terrific views. The Basilica of St. Francis located diagonally across the street is gorgeous.

I highly recommend the La Fonda on the Plaza for visitors to Santa Fe, NM.

Tom from Florida

Room Tip: Room 505 next to the Bell Tower - awesome views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

My husband and I just spent the most wonderful few days in Santa Fe at La Fonda. The hotel is in an ideal location to enjoy all of the sights, shops, galleries and flavor of Santa Fe.

The hotel itself is warm and friendly in a true historic Santa Fe setting. The staff is helpful and friendly. In particular Eddie in reservations and Dennis at the front desk. Dennis always greeted us with a smile and a fun suggestion for something to do or a place to dine. We would look forward to seeing him and report our days activities back to him!

The rooms are well appointed and comfy and cozy. The shops were some of the best on the plaza and La Plazuela is a beautiful and delicious restaurant.

We will return as often as possible. Thank you La Fonda!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Decent value for a Plaza location hotel. Room & bath was a bit small, but comfortable, nicely decorated, and very clean. Did have some allergy problems though (this is a very old hotel). Parking was extra ($12/day), but worth it - could walk to shopping, galleries, and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

La Fonda is an old hotel built in the Santa Fe style and remodeled beautifully to keep up with current trends. My room was small, the bed was incredibly wonderful, and I had all the conveniences you would expect from a modern hotel. Because of multiple remodels, the hotel is on many levels. There are stairs, elevators, and lifts if you need one. The meeting rooms were spacious. I especially enjoyed being in La Teraza, which is on the top floor with views in all directions and a terrace so you can enjoy the views in the fresh air when the weather is nice. The staff was wonderful.

I did get a little tired of Mexican food, but that's Santa Fe. Mornings I ate at The French Bakery which was a delight.

The only problem I encountered was getting lost in the myriad of hallways. Finding my meeting room was sometimes difficult. However, the staff - any staff member - was always glad to drop what they were doing and show me the way.

Since La Fonda is right in the middle of the museums and the cathedrals and all the other goodies offered by downtown Santa Fe, I consider it a good choice.

Room Tip: Dicker. See what options are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.