We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks nicer than it actually feels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Santa Fe Suites

Save Saved
You added The Santa Fe Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Santa Fe Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3007 S St Francis Dr, Santa Fe, NM 87505 (Formerly Camel Rock Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Looks nicer than it actually feels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The complex is located in a shopping mall with choices for dining. There was an Albertsons (super market) with Starbucks inside. The complex looks better on the outside than it does on the inside.

Our room was 417, a ground floor two queen bed room located in building 4 right behind the lobby.

The room was not very well lit and small. It has a full kitchen with utensils and dish washing detergent. The kitchen area was very well lit but not too much light spills over into the room. The good thing is the second sink on the outside. There was also a coffee/tea maker.
The bathroom shower/tub is scratched and rusted in some areas making it feel worse than it is. There are bathroom amenities including hairdryer.

There is free WiFi but I didn't use it because it was slow for some reason.
Breakfast was very bare. There was cereal, danish, two types of toast (wheat and french), coffee was like water and instant oatmeal. The second morning the instant oatmeal was not replenished. In the juice machine, there is a spout for water which you can fill your water bottle with.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    131
    67
    35
    21
See reviews for
57
123
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Not a great personable person at check-in. The room was ok, but the refrigerator made an extremely loud clunking sound every time it turned off. It stopped and I was able to fall asleep but woke up at 1:30, I'm sure due to that noise. Finally, at 4am, I took my food to the car since it was freezing outside and turned it off. The TV was really old and had horrible contrast, so the picture quality was poor and the pillows were terrible too. Probably won't stay here again, there's too many other nice hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was driving across the country and was looking for inexpensive hotels with comfortable beds. Santa Fe Suits is an inexpensive place. However, beds were dated and really uncomfortable. A pillow reminded me a roller coaster. If you are looking for a good night sleep - avoid this hotel. Otherwise, it's a decent place for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlanda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel was terrible. The courtyard on their website did not exist. There is no lobby and no comfortable chairs in any room. The rugs are filthy. People live in this hotel full time and it is more like a shabby apartment complex. The manager is rarely in the office, so it is run by the desk clerk of the day...the night clerk is nice to some and very rude to others. Just a terrible experience and it ruined my vacation.

Room Tip: You cannot get a good room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed a week at this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The accommodations were clean and convenient. It was quiet and spacious. The price was extremely low for the area and I assume it was because of the age of hotel. The sheets and towels were clean but some days both were older than others. However, what we wanted was clean, safe and convenient and this place filled the bill. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed there for five nights and were pleasantly surprised to find a full kitchen when, from recollection, only kitchenette was mentioned online. The room was small but very comfortable and roomy nevertheless. Queen bed, sofabed (which we didn't need), small coffee table, high "dining" table with two chairs and everything provided in the kitchen. The shower was not wonderful but at least there was enough water to take a shower, it wasn't a hopeless drizzle. And, although close to a busy road, traffic noise was not a problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

since we stayed here several years ago we decided to return. Our room was small and dirty. The carpet dirty,our sheets dirty and worn out. The air conditioner which was close to the bed did not work,one ceiling light only worked part time. The fridge made a loud noise about every half hour. We did not sleep most of the night,I ended up with a stiff neck from the poor pillows,a back ache from sleeping on springs. There was one nightstand with one light,mold on the shower curtain. When we checked out they did take all of 20.00 off our bill. We did not have the breakfast just some bad coffee,we left there for a restaurant. They need to do some cleaning up. This room was to be a queen suite.

Room Tip: do not check into Room 211
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Santa Fe Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Santa Fe Suites

Address: 3007 S St Francis Dr, Santa Fe, NM 87505 (Formerly Camel Rock Suites)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Santa Fe Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Santa Fe Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
The Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Santa Fe Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.