We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Fe Suites / a great value!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Santa Fe Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Santa Fe Suites to your Saves list
The Santa Fe Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3007 S St Francis Dr, Santa Fe, NM 87505 (Formerly Camel Rock Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Santa Fe Suites / a great value!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I are artist educators from Austin, TX. For several summers I have offered week long printmaking workshops through Making Art Safely, Santa Fe, NM. My wife and I have stayed at the Santa Fe Suites on a number of occasions while conducting these workshops.
This Christmas holiday, we stayed for three nights with my mother and daughter joining us. We rented an adjacent two rooms on the South side of the complex at the ground floor level. The rooms were clean and comfortable and were priced at an economical rate. We appreciate the courteous staff and the complimentary breakfast. I also enjoy the location of the complex being out of the traffic noise of the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    138
    69
    42
    25
See reviews for
66
131
41
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was our 2nd trip to santa fe the 1st mind you we stayed in one of the luxury hotels in the downtown area, and even then the sofa's were itchy. So this go around we opted for budget travel.
We got to santa fe real late in the evening and the staff was still helpful and friendly. The room was more spacious then we thought considering we were budget traveling, and the kitchenette was a great addition.
The room was clean but it lack the amount of towels we would need during our stay. my life mate simple stepped out and found room service and lucky for us my life mate is Spanish speaking and got all the towels that we needed.
The only issue I would say is the bed is hard as a rock and they only gave one pillow to each person, but hey it budget travel at it best I have seen worse trust me.
The only other issue I saw was that it is not close to downtown and all the hotspots, that did not so much bother us since we are ok taking our car around to see the sights and sounds of the city.
I have to say that it is well kept, non noisy and is close to a residential neighborhood of what looked to be well kept but older homes. I do not remember lots of fast food places near by even though I do remember that a Walgreen is close and a taco/burrito place is near by.
Now coming from San Antonio Texas the gps kind of lead us off when we were 1st looking for it but it quickly rerouted us and we had not issue.
The hotel did offer a continental breakfast but we are not hotel food eaters we want to eat where the locals eat. Can we say Jambo's cafe Jamaican food any one umm uumm good. With that said it's your simple continental breakfast fair. can we say bagel with cream cheese and milk and maybe a fake egg.
So to the budget minded traveler who does not want to sleep with the bugs try this place out, and bringing a extra pillow or two from home you should be just fine.

Room Tip: make sure you bring an extra pillow their seemed to only be one per person. make sure to bring a e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The staff and service was great at this hotel. However, the rooms were dirty, especially the floors. We were above a couple whose large dog barked all evening. Our room had one large towel we had to share, very thin pillows, and the TV channels that we coild see all had a blue tint.
The breakfast was not great, the room had one small table we shared with another couple. The floor was filthy.
We would not stay again unless we were in a pinch. At $75 a night you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Unlike most lodging facilities in Santa Fe which are either located on Cerillos Road or near the Plaza in downtown Santa Fe this motel is situated a few miles south of downtown in the back of a strip mall. The room was large with a small kitchenette. Even though it is not far from several retail stores I didn't find it to be noisy. The price is also quite a bit lower than what one would pay for a room near the Plaza.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The room was the dirtiest I ever recall staying in. The carpet was so dirty I hated to walk on it with bare feet. The bedspread had holes in it (presumably from smoking, though the room was non-smoking now). The furniture had worn holes in it. The breakfast was spartan.
The location was acceptable, and the size and design of the room was okay. It was the condition and cleanliness.
I told the desk staff of my above observations, and they agreed it was pretty bad. They noted that some of the buildings (each building has roughly a dozen suites, and there are probably eight or ten buildings) had been renovated, so maybe there are better rooms than the one we had. I was very disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask if your room has been renovated in the last year or so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The motel is located at the edge of a shopping center. The room, including a small kitchenette is small. The walls and ceiling are thin. Consequently, you could hear your neighbors both left and right and above you.

Room Tip: This motel isnot for someone who likes to have a good night's sleep. The room was noisy and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As others have pointed out, these are really mini-suites, or studios. I wasn't surprised, however, because that's pretty standard terminology for this type of facility. With two double beds, it was fine for a family with two small children. The service was great, and the continental breakfast was a nice touch-and rather unusual for such facilities with kitchenettes. The service was great--efficient and friendly. My only negative is that the pillows were terrible. I travel a lot, and these were as bad as any I have tried. This may sound petty,but they were essentially solid foam pads that actually made it hard to sleep. Without this problem, I would have given Santa Fe Suites a 4.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Santa Fe Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Santa Fe Suites

Address: 3007 S St Francis Dr, Santa Fe, NM 87505 (Formerly Camel Rock Suites)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Santa Fe Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Santa Fe Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
The Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Santa Fe Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.