We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Santa Fe Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Santa Fe Suites to your Saves list
The Santa Fe Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3007 S St Francis Dr, Santa Fe, NM 87505 (Formerly Camel Rock Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Sycamore, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“noisy rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The motel is located at the edge of a shopping center. The room, including a small kitchenette is small. The walls and ceiling are thin. Consequently, you could hear your neighbors both left and right and above you.

Room Tip: This motel isnot for someone who likes to have a good night's sleep. The room was noisy and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    135
    69
    42
    25
See reviews for
65
130
40
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As others have pointed out, these are really mini-suites, or studios. I wasn't surprised, however, because that's pretty standard terminology for this type of facility. With two double beds, it was fine for a family with two small children. The service was great, and the continental breakfast was a nice touch-and rather unusual for such facilities with kitchenettes. The service was great--efficient and friendly. My only negative is that the pillows were terrible. I travel a lot, and these were as bad as any I have tried. This may sound petty,but they were essentially solid foam pads that actually made it hard to sleep. Without this problem, I would have given Santa Fe Suites a 4.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Santa Fe Suites is a two story multi-building motel with no elevators in the southern end of Santa Fe, NM. There are 2 dedicated handicapped rooms with roll-in shower. The buildings are built around a small courtyard adjacent to the office. Small pets are permitted. No pool, no restaurant on site. There is a laundry room near office area. For the location, amenities, and condition it is an unbelievable bargain.

Studio rooms clean and cover the essentials plus a kitchenette. For a range of $55 - $79 you will get a one queen bed, a love seat, coffee table, 2 nights stands (only 1 fits beside the bed in certain configurations), a 3 drawer dresser, large television, mirror, tall 2-seater table and 2 stools with backs. The configuration with 2 double beds doesn’t have a love seat or coffee table. That one is a very tight arrangement. Furniture is very basic, not very comfortable, and carpets seem to be indoor-outdoor type. Ask for extra pillows because you will get only 2 small ones.

The kitchen has 2 burners, small refrigerator/freezer, small dishwasher, good sized sink, microwave, and single cup coffee maker, plates/cups/flatware for 4, and 2 pans. The bathroom has full size tub/shower, sink, commode, heating lamp in ceiling.

The staff is very accommodating and on site 24/7. Ask them where to eat and where to buy turquoise, leather, chile, guns, etc. Everyone is properly trained; the cleaning staff is sweet and polite.

Free breakfast, standard cold fare, is 5:30 to 9:30. They are very short on tables but the guests come and go so it works out fine unless there is a large group traveling together. The coffee is bad to terrible. There is a Starbucks 100 feet away at the Alberson’s grocery store. The area is pretty quiet and a little tricky to find as it is tucked behind a strip mall and a medical professional building. It's a very safe area.

The only complaint is that the wifi sputters and coughs, even with the extra hotspots.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sana Fe, NM, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have stayed at the Santa Fe Suites several times, and the major reason is the great price, only around $55/night, an excellent value for Santa Fe!.

The rooms (they are studios, not suites) are quite nice, with space for one or two travelers, would be very crowded if you are a family with children. Kitchen is adequate, internet is a little slow and spotty.

The hotel is in a shopping center, with very short walking distance to a grocery store and several restaurants. A 10 minute drive from downtown Santa Fe, but still a very convenient location.

Someone in management messed with the cable channels a few months ago, so now almost all channels are sports channels, no cable news channels, this is a little silly.

I would rate this hotel 3 stars, were it not for the excellent price.

Room Tip: The rooms closest to reception have the best internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had a studio, which was very cute and laid out well. The internet worked fine. I was concerned about this based on previous reviews, but they offer more than one hotspot, and even though I was at the end building the signal was fine. It dropped maybe twice in the week I was there. There was only a shower, which was incredibly small. I thought, "this must be what it is like to shower in a submarine". The shower head was also way too low. When I moved my stuff in, I sat down on the little sofa bed couch next to the window and nearly gagged - it smelled horrible! I did not want to move at that point so my solution was to buy a bottle of febreeze at the Albertsons right next to the hotel and douse it. I also did not sit in it again, but I had no problem with smells the rest of the time I was there. I was on the second floor and there was a large window I could open for fresh air. The bed was very firm (no pillowtop) but otherwise fine. The pillows are not the best. If you like fluffy pillows consider bringing your own. The first day the towels were not replaced but when I mentioned it late in the day they brought them right over and I had no problem afterwards. I also had a problem with my key not working a couple times but they fixed it. The hotel provides cleaning service every day unless you are in the room, then they ask if you would like them to clean. There was only a pot and no frying pan but I have seen the same thing at other suite hotels. They have a little dishwasher but there is no dishwashing detergent. This was no problem for me, because the maid washed my dishes everyday for me. She also got me extra coffee pods for the room (which by the way, are very weak - if you like strong coffee try using two at a time). Although it is in a shopping center, I felt very safe (even as a woman traveling alone) and it was quiet and pleasant during my stay. They offer a small breakfast every morning which I think is quite nice considering the price of the hotel. However, there is nothing hot, mostly carbs. They had some nice extras, like granola and kashi in the cereal dispenser and everything bagels in addition to the typical items. They have some fresh fruit, but if you want a banana or orange show up before 8 am or buy them yourself, only bitter apples are left over after that. The breakfast lasts from about 6:30 to 9am. The breakfast room is really small, I just took mine back to the room. You may want to bring your own tray, there is nothing in the room for this purpose. The location was great if you have a car, very close to highway and to plaza downtown. There is a Whole Foods and a Trader Joe's within two miles and Albertsons is right there. On the whole I found this to be an excellent stay for my purposes. If you do not have a car or you want a pool or other luxury items consider getting one of the hotels located inside the plaza, but as for me I would only want to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Room seemed clean, shower was lacking power. Nice they had laundry facilities right on the premises. I wouldn't call our room a "suite", beds, bathroom, counter with chairs , refrigerator & microwave. Adequate for our needs, but not the space a family may want. Location, can be a bit tricky to find. Located behind grocery store. If you want an average, clean, nothing fancy place, this will work for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here with my travel buddy and his dog for one night in August, 2012. It was fine. The carpet was very dirty, and the bathroom plumbing made a loud, funny noise, but overall, not bad. It was reasonably priced and was pet friendly, which is why we chose it. Also, it's very close to the Tune-Up Cafe, which is DELICIOUS.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Santa Fe Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Santa Fe Suites

Address: 3007 S St Francis Dr, Santa Fe, NM 87505 (Formerly Camel Rock Suites)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Santa Fe Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your The Santa Fe Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
The Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Santa Fe Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.