We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Common areas are gorgeous. Rooms could use a refresher” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Common areas are gorgeous. Rooms could use a refresher”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here recently and found the common areas to be gorgeous. While, the actual room really could use a refresher in furnishings. The bed was old, had a big dip and was uncomfortable. It also smelled like smoke. The staff was friendly -but not over-the-top service like at many hotels.

The grounds, lobby, restaurant were gorgeous and very conveniently located. In all, a nice stay. The pool looked VERY inviting -but I didn't get to use it during my stay. So, it does have that going for it.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    243
    94
    59
    24
See reviews for
164
362
43
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I received one of the best massages of my entire life from Maria! As a former Director of Spa at luxury properties and in the industry for over 14 years I have experienced many. Maria was in my top 3! The entire staff was wonderful and the spa was beautiful. You must visit!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Love the location of this hotel. I do agree the rooms are small and dark. We had two double beds. No queens are available. This is a beautiful property. The pool and spa are exceptional.
There is a fee for parking and breakfast. Great hotel for couples.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you dbrennen2000! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the time you took to post a review. We couldn't agree more, the Inn is a great experience for couples and we offer many amenities for romantic getaways. Thank you for your compliments to our pool and spa. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager, Inn and Spa at Loretto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Loretto Inn is a great place with a wonderful. From the moment you arrive your are greeted with friendly staff that makes you feel so welcome and special.

My husband and I stayed there for our Anniversary and I have to say they really made our stay very special and memorable. For dinner we dined at Luminaria and the
food was fantastic and the service was great. The restaurant is so beautiful and romantic. Kudos to their new chef he is wonderful.

The Hostess was very sweet and placed rose petals on our table, so romantic, it truly was a special evening.

The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure our anniversary was memorable.

We loved the ambiance of the overall hotel and enjoyed Happy Hour with tasty apps too.

You can't go wrong with Loretto with their well appointed rooms we hated to leave!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this hotel as the place to celebrate our Ruby Wedding anniversary while on a Route 66 road trip, and it was to be our first rest day since departing from Chicago. From the moment we made our reservation for the 2 nights at $460, plus parking $48, plus service (what service?) $35, spa treatments $430 [plus 20% tip automatically added to the invoice "for our convenience"???], we received quite a number of welcoming emails, making us feel that our experience would be really special.

But it was not.

Their website says that "outdoor dining at [the Luminaria] restaurant is a special experience not to be missed..." Unfortunately for us, what they did not tell us was that our visit coincided with an Indian Market event in the locality, bringing an influx of business which rendered the patio dining area full to capacity. Without a reservation, we were turned away by the hostess who showed absolutely no interest in our plight. I suppose we could have been a bit more organised in our planning, but It would have been very helpful if management had taken the trouble to use their e-mailshots to advise us to make a reservation for dinner on this particularly difficult date. After all, they knew it was on the calendar, but we did not.

As for the accommodation, our room was adequate, but the promise of a private balcony which "frames an assortment of vistas, including the Sangre de Cristo mountains, Saint Francis Cathedral, Loretto Chapel or the Inn's garden retreat scented by lavender and sage" was a massive oversell. My photographs show that the primary vista from our balcony was a quite unattractive view over the business end of the hotel. I may have overlooked something, but I don't see any balcony vistas in their website gallery.

We were therefore extremely disappointed by our choice, and it certainly put us in no mood for a rest day or spa treatment there. We therefore announced our intention to checkout after the first night, but were surprised to find an invoice the next morning covering a 2 night package, presumably because we failed to honour our reservation!

To be fair, with the exception of the restaurant hostess, the best part of our experience was the staff. We found the valet/bellman to be extremely courteous and welcoming. Mike at the front desk was extremely understanding when we queried the invoice and went out of his way to make corrections and reparations, as well as gathering feedback about our disappointments. General Manager, Thomas McCann also contacted us with a gracious apology for our experience, and said that management would have made every effort to accommodate us in the Luminaria, had they been aware of the circumstances. However, the hotel and spa had both been informed of our "special occasion" well in advance of our arrival, but demonstrated no awareness whatsoever.

The hotel has reacted fairly once they realised our disappointment, and want to welcome us to a repeat visit. To err is human, so we accept the apology, but we shall never go there again.

During our 21 day road trip, we lodged in a variety of hotels, and luckily for us The Inn & Spa at Loretto was the only one to fail to meet our expectations.

Pauline E
U.K.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked an upgraded room with a "sitting area". The sitting area was really small and not worth the upgrade. The spa massage was nice, but I wouldn't pay for the add ons; they are not really worth the price. The lounge /restaurant was good enough, our waitress on the first night didn't provide such good service, but Brian was a wonderful waiter. The bartender is also really great. I liked the resident artist - showcasing local talent - was a fun way to buy art and meet the artist. The location is great because it is easy walking to the plaza and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for largest room because based on design of hotel, the rooms vary in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Greatplaces2go

Thank for taking the time to share your experience at the Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your spa service and also happy to hear that you enjoyed our daily artist in resident. We love having the opportunity to connect guests with the “Art and Soul of Santa Fe” and always appreciate receiving feedback about the exceptional artists who demonstrate their work on-site. Thank you for your praise of Brian; he is a true asset to our team and your compliments of his service have been shared accordingly.

Your feedback and patronage is very appreciated and valued. Thank you again. We look forward to the opportunity to have you as our guest on your next visit to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very centrally located. The front desk staff were helpful and accommodating. The hotel is very nice but a little on the dark side; it was clean and comfortable and I would definitely stay there again. However, keep in mind that a lot of extras will be charged. Also, room service is pricey. I ordered yogurt and fruit for $11.50, but actually ended paying $23.00 (wow). I made reservations for a Superior Guestroom thinking the amenities would be extra nice. What I found was that a regular room may have been the totally acceptable and more economical. The reason I reserved a superior guestroom was because I wanted the stay to be extra nice for my other two guests. The extras were bathrobes and nicer toiletires. What I found was that the bathrobes were older and their collars were frayed - making them unappealing. I requested one additional one as there were 3 of us, and the one provided was in the same condition. The provided toiletries were for one person. Not sure why this happened but when we requested additional items, they were provided.

Room Tip: I would get a regular room instead of a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear IRMA L,

We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide a review of the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and honored to know you would stay with us again. Thank you for also providing feedback about the robes you received. Please know this was immediately addressed with the Director of Housekeeping.

You compliments have been shared with the front desk, as well as the entire Loretto team. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.