We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent - close to the plaza. The staff was helpful and friendly. Many of the reviews mentioned daily additional fees, dark rooms, small patios, and very limited counter space in the bathroom. All of these complaints were true but as I was aware of them (thanks to trip advisor reviewers), I was prepared.
I have also stayed at The Eldorado Hotel in Santa Fe. Each of these have pros and cons. I would stay at either one again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    306
    123
    70
    32
See reviews for
205
444
50
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Inn and Spa at Loretto is a beautiful hotel and resort. This was our first visit to Santa Fe and were there to spend the weekend at the International Folk Art Market in July. Very well maintained facility, clean and quiet rooms, excellent shops and restaurant. The location couldn't be more perfect - in the center of many great restaurants, shops and historical places to visit. The staff was friendly and helpful throughout our stay...and after. I left my phone charger behind in the room and realized it the next day. I called and the housekeeping manager was very kind in following up with me the next day after she had a chance to check with her staff. She promptly put it in the mail for me and it arrived shortly after we returned home. Highly recommend this establishment.

Green Features: As with most hotels today, the hotel offers an option to reuse towels and bedding in order to save resources. They also use bulk soaps and shampoos in the bath to reduce waste.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you Randy O! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and happy to hear we were able to recover your phone charger. Your compliments to our rooms, staff and restaurants are very appreciated and have been shared with the entire team. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide a review and look forward to having you as our guest again.

Warm Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager, Inn and Spa at Loretto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

There are many things that go into making a hotel great. There are the natural attributes such as mountain and ocean views. The proximity to museums and other attractions. Of course, it goes almost without saying that the rooms must be clean and comfortable. But I believe the distinguishing feature is how the hotel staff reacts when things don't go exactly right. I was impressed by how the staff immediately took ownership of the problems and did there best to correct the problems.
I recommend this hotel and will look forward to returning to it again.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with pets choose a downstairs room. You may be surprised that in spite of being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear BigD5809,

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and honored to receive your high ratings. I'm personally very proud of the staff here at the Inn and Spa at Loretto and your review truly validates the entire teams efforts. Knowing you would recommend our property and stay with us again is the best compliment we could receive. Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. It was walking distance to a lot of the sites. It was a wonderful base to visit the area. Santa Fe around Christmas is a must. We will definitely go back. And we wish to visit the Taos area next time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear gilgbuch,

You are right, Christmas in Santa Fe is a must! We hope you can join us this year for the annual Canyon Road Farolito Walk, held every Christmas Eve, and located just one block from the Inn. Every year we provide hot coco and cookies for our guests to enjoy before the event, and a roaring fire is lit to warm you upon your return. It truly is enchanting!

We sincerely appreciate the time you took to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto and are so delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I have stayed at The Inn and Spa at Loretto twice. It is great value. The location is excellent. Nice rooms. Great pool. The staff is warm. It is located adjacent to a architecturally famous church. Lots of great shopping. I loved the spa and recommend the Royal Spa Treatment.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony or outdoor space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you lisayogagirl! We appreciate the time you took to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto and are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and the Javanes Lulur Royal Ritual spa treatment. We look forward to having you as our guest again on your next visit to Santa Fe!

Warm Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My daughter and I went to Santa Fe for a relaxing spa trip. We both had pedicures at the spa that were over priced and not great but my daughter's massage was wonderful and the hotel itself was in a great location to walk the square. We loved the pool and the bar for having a nice glass of wine in the evenings. We had a large labradoodle with us and noticed a few other big dogs, quite a few small dogs - Santa Fe is very dog friendly and no one batted an eye when ours went running through the bar when he pulled out of his collar - oops! The staff was so accommodating and had great recommendations for food and drink. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Shannon G-

Thank you for choosing the Inn and Spa at Loretto for your recent trip to Santa Fe. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the time you took to post a review. Santa Fe is indeed a very dog friendly town and we always enjoy meeting our guests' furry friends. It sounds like your labradoodle had quite an adventure! Your compliments to our service, spa, pool and Living Room have been shared with the entire team. We all look forward to your return visit!

Warm Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We spent one night here while we were in Santa Fe to visit relatives.
The room with a king-size bed was beautifully decorated.
I loved the small balcony with a beautiful view of the city and the stars at night!
The swimming pool is a nice size--a luxury to swim in when surrounded by adobe and a view of the mountains.

Green Features: I appreciated the efforts being made by the hotel to minimize waste,
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you Barb M! We are truly honored by your 5-star rating and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Santa Fe is quite picturesque and the star filled night sky's are unparalleled. We're happy you were able to experience this! Thank you for your compliments to our room décor and pool facilities.We hope your travels bring you back to Santa Fe, and the Inn, very soon!

Warm Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager, Inn and Spa at Loretto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,450 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.