We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Save Saved
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbus, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We only had one night in Santa Fe, so we were looking for a hotel in the center of the action. This hotel has a great location downtown adjacent to the Loretto Chapel and shopping, we loved the style of the rooms and facilities, and we were able to get a good rate through Expedia, so we booked it. I was not looking forward to some of their services, such as valet parking and bellboys--I just prefer to be left alone to take care of my own business--but I was pleasantly surprised on arrival that their service staff was quick and not distracting. I would still prefer to be left alone though! I found their desk staff to be unfriendly the whole time we were there. They didn't do anything specifically wrong, they were just unfriendly. The photos of the facilities and rooms were accurate--I love the style. It's an older hotel, so it's not crisp, you know, but it is well maintained with current decor and faultlessly clean. Not every building can be brand new and who would want them to be? Loved our little patio and fireplace. I just can't figure out why they don't put some foliage on that rooftop that half the rooms open onto--it just doesn't seem like it would be that difficult to maintain. The sheets and bed...so soft. We ordered breakfast to our room for 7:30-8, and it was pretty late--about 8:15. We figured they just hadn't gotten our order. Had they come five minutes later, we would have been on the street looking for food already. Check out, once again, surprisingly seamless, valet and all. So, altogether, we had a great stay here, really enjoyed it, though I do think that we would have been disappointed with the our room had we paid regular prices.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear LinusAdvice,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your thoughtful review. Thank you for your compliments to our accommodations and attentive, yet unobtrusive service. Your feedback and patronage is very appreciated. We hope to have you as our guests again on your next visit to Santa Fe.

Best Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    241
    93
    58
    24
See reviews for
164
359
43
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great find in Santa Fe! Planned on staying one day in town and last minute decided to stay an extra night. The desk staff easily accommodated our request - although at 100% capacity - and upgraded us to a suite (including lovely patio deck) ---NICE! Rooms nicely laid out, comfy beds although there's minimal counter space in bathrooms in the traditional rooms. Good bar / lounge area, restaurant just okay and had wonderful massage. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from pool if you are concerned about noise (events are held there during the afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear LaurieG110,

We are so happy you enjoyed your experience at the Inn and Spa at Loretto and honored you chose to extend your stay with us. I'm pleased the front desk was able to accommodate you with an extra night and an upgrade - what a treat for your retreat! Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn on your next visit to Santa Fe!

Warm Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great location and ambience. Nice setting. Step out the hotel door and you're in the heart of Santa Fe. Very helpful staff. Rooms are well appointed with a small balcony and view. Beautiful grounds. You won't need your car while there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a nice hotel to stay in Santa Fe unless you want to spend more money on one of the other 2 properties that are more expensive. The spa is wonderful. The rooms were good but not fantastic. The only complaint would be some of the service staff at the restaurant and the room service was a little not up to what we expected. We probably would stay here again if we return. probably...

Green Features: Non smoking property. I didnt pay attention to the rest
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear titaperezPuertoRico,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and spa experience! However, I'm disappointed to hear that you did not experience the exceptional level service from our restaurant and room service that the Loretto is known for. I would a very much appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further so I may address your comments more deliberately with the team. I've sent you my contact information via direct message. I hope to hear from you soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn on your next visit to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I usually stay a little more on the budget side however this hotel is worth every extra dime! I love it's architectural style, its sun warmed ambience and great pool. My only real complaints are that my room was too dark and as a tour leader I need to be able to 'see' what I am doing! I will ask for a lighter room next year because I plan to take another group to explore this wonderful city and its environs. I would also appreciate breakfast being built into the cost; it would save complications! Nearby the hotel the arts are astounding. Great food, great museums, excellent shopping (in the hotel also) and in the plaza and of course Georgia O'Keeffe lives on! We went for the International Folk Art Market and the Santa Fe Opera!

Green Features: The hotel has great environmental policies in place. Important in dry country and in a world faced with climate change. I would appreciate the use of less plastic overall but that is a discussion for another time.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Caroled,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are truly honored by your 5-star rating and compliments to our architecture and amenities. Knowing that you plan to bring your group back again next year is the best compliment we could receive! We definitely have a room that will better accommodate your needs as the tour leader.

We look forward to welcoming you and your group back to the Inn on your next visit to Santa Fe!

Best Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Inn and Spa at Loretto has a fantastic staff. Always attentive and anticipating their guests' wishes. I went for a run one morning, and the valet attendant provided me with a map and a cold bottle of water. The resulting tour of Santa Fe by foot turned out to be one of my favorite runs ever!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Owner at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you Eric C! Your comments to our staff, and specifically the valet team, are so appreciated. I'm incredibly proud of the wonderful and dedicated staff here at the Loretto and knowing that they were able to make your stay, and run, that much more memorable is such great validation. I've shared your comments with the entire team.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay. We hope your travels bring you back to Santa Fe, and the Inn, soon!

Warm Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager, Inn and Spa at Loretto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

While the hotel in itself is beautiful, with great charm, the room left something to be desire. We had a 2 bed room with a seating area. The lighting was terrible, regardless of how many lamps (not in the most convenient places) you turned on it was still dark. The worst part of the room was the lack of drawers (2 small ones) and a tiny closet in the bathroom of all places. You could not open the door to the close if you wanted to have the bathroom door open. A really dumb place to put the4 closet. Instead of the seating are (4 chairs and a small table) they should put a closet and drawers there. Because of these inconveniences I would not stay at that hotel again.

Green Features: They have signs about the use of towels and changing linens.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear eva k,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto, we are delighted that you enjoyed the overall charm and ambience of the hotel. Your feedback regarding the rooms is very appreciated and has been taken into consideration. I did want to mention that we have many different rooms types offering more storage and closet space that might better fit your needs. I hope you'll consider one of these rooms for future stay with us as we'd love to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again.

Warm Regards,
Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.