We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

After years away we had the pleasure of staying at this lovely property again. We were pleased with our visit. Check in went smoothly, our room was clean, comfortable and exactly as reserved. The hotel and spa are kept up well and very relaxing. The location is convenient to The Plaza. Check-out went just as smoothly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Welltraveled3401,

We're honored to have hosted you again and appreciate your thoughtful review of the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are so proud of our property and delighted you found it just as a enchanting as when you visited many years ago. Hopefully a return trip to the Inn won't be too far off. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    255
    97
    63
    28
See reviews for
169
379
43
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife and I went to Santa Fe in December for just a few days of quiet and peace. We picked Inn and Spa at Loretto mainly because of its location. We did not want to drive once we were in the town. Considering that we checked the geography only online, we were not sure about our choice but fortunately it was the right one.

Inn and Spa at Loretto had valet parking and hence we did not have to worry about that. Of course we were charged for this service but I think it was worth it. The ambience in the hotel was generally pleasant and cozy (considering it was winter). The rooms were modest in size and the decor was well integrated with the surroundings. The view from our room balcony was that of the town and it was OK. We hoped we could get a room with the view of the mountains. We had our breakfast in the hotel’s restaurant a couple of times. The food was pretty good but a bit expensive ($50 per person). We were not very surprised with the price as I knew that Santa Fe in general is an expensive place.

The best part of the hotel was its location. It was perfectly located for someone who would like to walk around to shop and dine instead of driving. It was right next to Loretto chapel, across from several art and souvenir stores and a short walk to the plaza. There were several other restaurants and miscellaneous stores within walking distance. If it were not for winter, one might be able to walk even further and hence have more choice of places to visit.

Overall, our experience with the hotel was pretty good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you Bhaskar A! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Winter is truly an enchanting time in Santa Fe and it sounds like you were able to soak in the city's many wonderful offerings. We do hope you'll be able to visit again in the warmer months as our town lights up with vibrant colors of greens and orange, and the streets are lively with festivals. Please let us know when you plan to return and we'd be happy to recommend one of our stunning rooms with mountain views. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards, Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We visit Santa Fe at least once a year and we look forward to staying at the Inn and Spa at Loretto upon our returns to this enchanting town. Our stay is always a highlight as the service and ambience are continually outstanding. Perfect location to enjoy all of the fun sights and sounds of Santa Fe. The accommodations are beautiful and the staff is friendly and efficient. It is an all around enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: A higher floor with a patio or balcony provides a nice view and a peaceful way to enjoy the morning
See more room tips
Green Features: They do an outstanding job with their green practices. One of the better ones.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear LAJ7,

Our sincerest gratitude for your wonderful compliments and continued patronage. Reading your comments truly made our day. We are so honored to hear that the Inn and Spa at Loretto is your hotel of choice when visiting Santa Fe and look forward to welcoming you back time and time again!

Sincerely,

Tom McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great location to be able to stay and walk to all the sights and attractions. Well kept and reasonable. With in walking distance to amazing award winning restaurants, There is a tour bus that leaves from the parking lot.

Room Tip: we stayed in June before it was too hot and we turned off the AC and slept with the windows open. Wo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Water conservation was talked about and was easy to comply with
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Two couples on vacation stayed at Inn at Loretto early June 2014. As others have said, it is a great location in walking distance to the plaza, shops, museums and restaurants. Service was excellent. The pool was nice and we had it practically to ourselves each morning, The rooms aren't huge, but they are nicely appointed, clean and comfy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you! We are truly honored by your high ratings and thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. You compliments to our service, accommodations and amenities are very appreciated and have been shared with the entire team. We hope to welcome you all back to the Inn and Spa at Loretto soon! Warm Regards, Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel is centrally located downtown and the guests can walk almost everywhere!

The staff were extremely helpful and service request handled promptly.

Only issues: Walls are extremely thin and the traditional Mexican cuisine bland.

Best features: The pillow top beds and the drinks!

Spend sometime in the Livingroom! A great place to unwind or meet fellow traveler in a laid back lounge setting.

Went as a girls trip...but I see it more as a couples retreat.

A must see in Santa Fe!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear sonyacharie-

Thank you for choosing the Inn and Spa at Loretto for your Santa Fe girlfriend's getaway! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and honored by your compliments to our staff, location, Living Room Lounge and pillow top beds. Thank you for also noting the Inn as a “must see in Santa Fe.” We hope you will join us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I so wanted to like this place. But no. Location great. SPA MASSAGE amazing!!! Staff meh. Breakfast good. But really the room was wrong wrong wrong. Pathetic configuration and sell it as a junior suite. Overpriced for no room safe, no full length mirror. Furniture big and awkward. Our bed is so big that on one side one of us (me) had to squeeze walk sideways against the wall and window/ curtain to get on/ off bed, then was greeted with a footboard that jutted out so you banged your thigh each time. Really. Oh after we requested they move the bed a bit, they had to put the bedside table over to partially block the entrance to the tiny bathroom. Classy.
No not a great room and not worth it. It looks like five graces would've been much better. Or maybe a standard room and not pay the amount for what shouldn't be called a junior suite

Room Tip: Avoid 503 . Awful config for junior suite and for the $$ not worth it. Other suites are so much be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear phoebe858,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to provide a review of the Inn and Spa at Loretto. I’m delighted to hear that your spa treatment was “amazing” and that you enjoyed breakfast and our premier location. However, I’m disappointed to learn that our accommodations did not you’re your expectations. I’d love to know what room you were in so I can address your concerns and determine if revisions to the room layout are possible. Please feel free to contact me directly at 505.984.7928.

Your feedback and patronage are much appreciated. We do hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guests again and can assure you we have many stunning rooms that would certainly exceed your expectations. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.