We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stayton, OR
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is an older hotel done in the southwest style. Room decor is good and the service was good. I was there for a conference and I thought the conference facilities and food was above average. I was going to come in and stay a day early but the conference rate didn't apply. This was an incredible value for the conference rate but I think the normal Saturday night rate was on the high side so I am glad I didn't book the extra night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as our conference facilities and cuisine. We hope to welcome you to the Inn again on your next business or leisure trip to Santa Fe! Best Regards, Thomas McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    247
    96
    63
    25
See reviews for
166
373
43
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is fine and perfectly located. But check your bill. In May 2014 I booked four rooms for a total of 16 nights. Surprise birthday party for wife and friends. Upon checkout, the front desk could not tell me if any of the Spa or Bar credits were deducted from my room bills. Computer screens and physical paperwork were of no help. I felt sorry for the front desk personnel as their computer system was clearly inadequate. The woman next to me was making the same request as to why she was charged for something that wasn't explained on her printout. As people lined up to check out, both front desk agents were unable to explain anything. Four calls and a week later, I was finally credited about $600 that otherwise would have been kept by the Inn. This morning, I found out that they double charged my sister (one of the guests in the party) for her room and thus double charging. They may have double charged some of my other guests as well - I'm waiting to hear back. On the whole, the staff has the regional apathetic medical condition whereby they just don't care much. Mary at the front desk was a big help and could not have been nicer. Carlos, not so much. Luminaria management double booked a side room we had requested so it was not available even though we were clearly in their calendar. The alternate room was cavernous for our small party. Concierge and valet service were spectacular. Front desk and management get a failing grade.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Inn has truly lovely decor and advertises on their website "wine down Wednesday". Clever concept and my wife and I looked forward to a tasting of 4 wines for $12. Large place so my wife and I stopped at reception desk and clerk sent us down to their "Luminaria" restaurant. Receptionist there wasn't sure they were holding it that Wednesday, called her general manager and found is never in "Luminaria", but rather in lobby bar. So went to lobby bar (about 30 feet from reception desk we first stopped at). Given paper sheet for our tasting comments dated for March (visit last Wednesday in May). Each served 4 wine glasses each with about 1.5 ounces of wine (a large sip). Not wine experts, but know our way around a wine store. Thought wines undistinguished. Hoped for appetizers to clear our palette after each tasting, but none provided and no recommendations of matching between wines and appetizer menu. Asked waitress who seemed nice, but could give us no guidance; suspect a training issue. Finally ordered some olives and small piece of toasted bread. Total bill $36.79 before tip; wine prices in Santa Fe very high (400% markup over retail not unusual), but stop here particularly disappointing and will avoid in the future. Shame as so much could be done with this concept (e.g. "Battle of the Bordeaux" where 4 separate Bordeaux are served, "the best of New Mexico" as a sample of locally produced wines, etc).

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m extremely disappointed to hear about your less than satisfactory experience and assure this was immediately addressed with our staff. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further and can be reached at 505.984.7928. Your feedback and patronage are very appreciated. We do hope to have you as our guests in the Living Room again. I look forward to speaking with you. Sincerely, Thomas McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel over Memorial Day weekend. When we arrived at the hotel, we were turned away as there was a blackout in Santa Fe. It was interesting to read that another group was taken to their rooms via flashlight and the stairs, this option was not offered to my group.
We left to get something to eat and when we returned there was confusion around our rooms. It seemed there were no more available double rooms even though we had booked several months in advance with confirmation of double rooms. I was first put in room 109 which I was told had a patio. There was no patio, there was a little area about the size of the bathroom outside and there were no chairs or table. There was a dog in room 107 that constantly barked. When we were waiting when we first arrived, a man did come to the desk and he requested to be moved because of a barking dog. We asked to be moved, they put us in room 209, there was a dog in 203 that barked all Friday night, Saturday all day until I finally called the front desk. I am a pet owner so I have no issue with animals but they should not be left in rooms alone, that should be a policy at Inn and Spa at Loretto. I did visit a room on the top floor, it had a beautiful balcony but the room was very small. It was a double room, possibly the king rooms have more space.
On Saturday night, we went to the bar area. We waited and waited, there were probably about 40 people with two waitresses. The live music was very good so that help ease the pain of having to wait so long for service and to pay for our food and drinks. The location of the hotel is great for visiting the downtown area.

I was disappointed with this hotel, I thought it would be nicer, rooms larger, decor nicer. This is an updated review. The hotel manager contacted me after my first review, I have since tried twice to reach him and he has not contacted me again. I left a voicemail and I replied to his trip advisor email.

Room Tip: No room on the first floor No room on the side facing the parking lot, I think this is the lower od...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at Inn and Spa at Loretto. We drove to Santa Fe from Albuquerque, so had a car, but did not use it much except for a few day trips out of the area. The hotel is very comfortable and we felt welcome and pampered.

Room Tip: If you don't prefer a dark room, ask for a sunny room. Our window was so small and the walls wer...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for her birthday week back in early April. Neither of us had ever been to Santa Fe & several friends recommended the Inn & Spa at Loretto. We were extremely happy with our choice of hotel, the staff was spot remembering our names and taking the opportunity to utilize them when and wherever they saw us (even off property).
The room was well appointed with a great Santa Fe feel to it and we had a private terrace area with great views of the area.
Do not miss dining at Luminaria for dinner. Yes, this is the restaurant in the hotel, the service & food were both five star (see the review that I completed for the restaurant during our stay in April). We dined at some very nice restaurants while in a Santa Fe and found Luminaria to by far be the best, even when compared to some of the more pretentious ones on near by Canyon Road.
My thanks to the entire team for a wonderful vacation!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you! We fondly remember hosting you and are so truly honored by your reviews of both the Inn and Spa at Loretto and Luminaria Restaurant. We are very proud of our property and your compliments to our staff, accommodations and dining are such a great testament to the team's efforts. Thank you again. We look forward to celebrating many more birthdays with the both of you! Warm Regards, Thomas McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is an excellent choice for visitors wanting to stay near downtown and enjoy the amenities of a fine hotel. It is located half a block from the historic Santa Fe Plaza and a 10 minute walk to Canyon Road (where 100+ art galleries are located). Room prices are at the upper end but competitive to other properties in the downtown area. Check to see if they have any specials for the time you are visiting since the specials often include parking, internet and resort fees. The restaurant is very good; however, if you are looking for a moderately priced meal it is best to visit one of the restaurants in/near the plaza. The accommodations are very nice and many rooms have a balcony to enjoy the unique weather and vistas of Santa Fe. Service is good.

Room Tip: Ask to see if a room with a balcony is available at your price point
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.