We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Upscale Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely Upscale Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have stayed here previously for business and our most recent trip was for just one night. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, with a small seating area and fireplace. We thought there was no in-room coffee, so we went down to the lobby in the morning, but our friends in another room found a coffeemaker in the cabinet under the TV - good to know! The location is perfect for walking to the Plaza and Canyon Road and the hotel definitely has an upscale feel. We came back after dinner out on Saturday night to live music in the bar area, but no seats to be had. It is a lovely property with lots of amenities, but we probably wouldn't spend the $275 for one night again when our time in Santa Fe is spent out in the town, not in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    260
    100
    63
    28
See reviews for
171
385
43
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Having stayed here on many occasions and trying the many other fine places to stay in Santa Fe the Inn and Spa at Loretto is a great place for the location and value. Yes my heading is like an old shoe that is because the place maintains its old charm and it feels comfortable like that of an old shoe that you know how it is going to feel. While you are dealing with an old hotel if you understood this going in then great you will not be disappointed. Yes there is the Rosewood and it is fabulos but the price is much greater. The spa is dated but if you are going looking for a quality massage then again you will not be disappointed. Ask for Sarah if you want a strong deep tissue therapeutic massage, you will have to ask for her when making your appointment.
Their restaurant is great for dinner and breakfast. Take time to unwind in their spacious lobby bar.
The service from the valet, check in and restaurant were all doing a great job. If you can ask to view your room because they have many different types. I prefer the 4 th floor junior suite with balcony overlooking the Loretto chapel. Also you will find mostly older couples.
Again there are a lot of choices at all levels of prices, I stay at many depending on what I plan on doing in Santa Fe

Room Tip: Jr suite on 4 th floor overlooking the Loretto chapel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. I was delighted to read your review and so pleased that you had another enjoyable stay with us. Your loyalty and patronage is very appreciated. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn on your next visit to Santa Fe! Best Regards, Thomas McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Central location to the plaza. A beautiful, old building with Aztec interior decorative work. Perfect for first time visitors who want to avoid the car and wish to visit the museums and restaurants on foot. Also, the hotel really reflects old town Santa Fe and one feels immediately part of the city upon arrival - a genuine experience, rather than a chain hotel feel. Hotel restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere and the staff were exceptional - at check-in, valet staff, waiters etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and delighted to hear that you were able to take in the many museums and activities near by. We truly appreciate your comments about our staff, service, amenities and design. Your word of mouth recommendation is the best compliment we could receive! Thank you again. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Best Regards, Thomas McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here last week on our first trip to Santa Fe to celebrate my birthday. It was in the perfect location; close to everything we wanted to see. Upon our arrival, Ross checked us in and gave us an excellent overview of the property. For the rest of the week, each time he saw us he greeted us by name, which made us feel welcome. Our room had an excellent view with a patio and the bed was so comfortable! On our second to the last night in town, we dined at Luminaria, which was by far the best meal of our trip. Marilyn and Melissa took great care of us and were knowledgeable about the menu, offering excellent recommendations on wines and entrees. My husband ordered the tortilla soup and the special that evening, which featured steak with hollandaise, bacon, and other goodies, which he enjoyed very much. I had a grilled romaine salad (a nice twist on a classic Caesar) and the Chilean sea bass, both of which were amazing. Desserts did not disappoint; over the course of the week between the bar and restaurant, I think I tried them all! The Chef stopped by at one point during our meal to see how we were enjoying things, which was a nice touch. I must say, Luminaria is the perfect example of excellent food and top notch service in a warm and inviting atmosphere. We had dined earlier in the week at a well known restaurant on Canyon Road, and while the food there was very good, the extensive formality and somewhat pretentiousness off the staff and atmosphere left us underwhelmed. Our meal at Luminaria made up for this and was the highlight of our trip.
The last night of our stay, when we returned to our room, we found a bottle of the Albarino I had enjoyed the previous night at dinner, along with a happy birthday note from Marilyn. As someone who has worked in hotel management for many years, this attention to detail was much appreciated.
All in all, we had an amazing visit to Santa Fe and would recommend Loretto and Luminaria to anyone. Many thanks to their wonderful staff for leaving us with such fine memories of our vacation!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are so happy to hear that your stay was memorable and honored to have shared this special occasion with you. Your word of mouth recommendation is the best compliment we could receive. On behalf of Marilyn, as well as the entire staff here at the Loretto, thank you and Happy Birthday! We so appreciate your patronage and look forward to sharing many more special memories with you! Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

After reading of this hotel's high rating by Conde Nast Traveler magazine, I had high hopes but found a room with tired bed linens, flat (old) pillows and a weird arrangement where the clothes closet was located inside the bathroom. Very inconvenient! However, the Living Room (bar) was cozy with its fireplace and the staff was warm and welcoming, especially the Valet guys. Would I stay here again? Probably not; it turns out our room was located above the bar which had nightly entertainment and disrupted our sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid a room on 2nd floor that is directly above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We've stayed at many Santa Fe hotels over the years but never tried the Inn at Loretto before. We spent 5 nights and had a lovely experience, even though we stuck to a mid-tier king superior. It came with an extra large corner balcony that overlooked the Loretto Chapel next door and had great views of town. Others have noted that the rooms are painted a deep plum color which makes them rather dark, but given the brilliant sun in Santa Fe the room felt warm and cozy. Furnishings were new and the bed was incredibly comfortable, as were the sheets and pillows. Valet parking was incredibly efficient and all of the staff were very kind. The food in Luminaria Restaurant and in the bar is excellent. The only limitation many reviews complain about is the hefty parking and "resort" fees, though this does cover gratuities for maid service. The only complaint is that they charge for bottled water. Pretty much all other luxury hotels in Santa Fe provide two free bottles per day because it's such a dry climate. Give the pricey resort fee they could afford to give guests free water and maybe a couple extras like shoe-shine kits and papers at your door (though these are available in the lobby). Overall, though, a great experience.

Room Tip: Avoid paying extra for a "fireplace" room as their fireplaces don't work. Do ask for...
See more room tips
Green Features: They will wash towels only if placed on the floor and change sheets only every 4 days, unless requested (we requested after 3 days and they were very courteous about this).
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your experience at Luminaria Restaurant, as well as the décor of the rooms and grounds. We are very proud of our property and your compliments to our staff and service truly validate the entire team's efforts. Your feedback is very appreciated and has been noted. Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you as our guests again soon! Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Our group just completed a 2-day meeting at Loretto. All the staff was very friendly and attentive. Food and accommodations very nice. Because of the great spa here, a few attendees took advantage and brought along spouses - all were pleased.

Only one major thumbs down here. WiFi was free, but super slow. Not great for getting work done in the room, and was a bit of a hindrance in our meetings. If they get that taken care of this place is a great relaxing meeting destination.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and delighted to hear that your group was able to take advantage of our spa services and dining. With that, I'd like to offer an apology for the slower than normal internet speed you experienced during your stay. We typically receive great comments about the speed of our WiFi, however as an industry we recognized that the level of volume and type of device used can impact speed and connectivity. The IT Manager has been alerted and I can assure you this was resolved immediately. Thank you again, your feedback and patronage is very appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn on your next visit to Santa Fe! Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.