We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Save Saved
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 59 hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for our anniversary in November and it was absolutely beautiful! The hotel is located in an excellent location and just a short walk from the plaza, museums, dining, and shopping. The Loretto Chapel is located right next door to the hotel and is an absolute must-see for anyone visiting Santa Fe. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast at the Luminaria Restaurant and excellent cocktails and live entertainment at the hotel bar. Though the walls were a bit thin, the rooms were nice, clean, well-lit, and very spacious compared to other hotels we have stayed at. There is a $14/day resort fee as well as a $19/day valet fee. The staff was very friendly, professional, and knowledgable. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Inn and Spa at Loretto and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    197
    77
    55
    24
See reviews for
134
319
38
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friday Harbor, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

So the Inn at Loretto was recommended to us by locals. And it is a charming place, and a good location. My experience with the service, however, was mixed at best. (They could take some lessons from the Hotel Modera in Portland, a much lower cost hotel, with wonderful, welcoming service staff.)

We arrived about 5:00 pm on a Thursday. A reasonable time, when you might expect a number of check-ins. There was one person at the front desk, with 5 or so parties in line. She was checking people in, answering the phones, answering questions. She was very nice, but she shouldn't have been alone.

The room was nice, smallish, but okay. The closet was in the bathroom, which was strange, but in old buildings I guess they have to make compromises. The bed was quite nice, and the various appointments were fine, no complaints.

The other complaint I had was with some B.S. $14/day service charge. That got you what you normally get in any other nice hotel: "free" wifi (or on the confirmation notice from Orbitz "complimentary wifi"). If it's free or complimentary, how come it's $14? And some other stuff, a paper, coffee, fruit, access to the business center. Again, all of this stuff is normally what you'd expect as part of your bill. It's just deceptive to advertise room prices, but tack on this service charge for normal amenities. (And yes, they are quite normal. I travel a lot, and this kind of stuff comes along with the room at much less "classy" hotels.)

When I brought this up to the front desk staff the next day, the gentleman at the front desk was reasonably nice, but clearly had fielded this question from others as he was quite ready with the canned answers. The woman at the front desk however was incredibly rude and arrogant in her responses. And pointed out that it was "noted on the agreement that you sign when you check-in." Well sure, that's after you've already paid for the room. And as I walked away she says, in an extremely sarcastic tone, "I'll be sure to pass that on," referring to my comment that it was very tacky to do this kind of thing. Clearly she couldn't care less.

Also, the door to our patio leaked badly, so when I got back to the room after breakfast at Tia Sophia (recommended), there was a big industrial fan in the room drying out the carpet. Stuff happens I guess. At least they tried to take care of it.

So in general, if you want to stay here, just be aware of the potential rudeness of some of the staff, (most were great), and that stupid "spa service charge." I'll never stay again, because it's easy to be nice and easy to be up-front and honest. But it's not a bad place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We appreciate your patronage and are extremely disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. I welcome the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further. I can be reached at 505-984-7928.

Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our fifth stay at the Loretto. It gets better every stay. Friendly people, lovely rooms, good location, nice bar. Reception manager, Josephine Vega, is really special: professional, kind, and helpful.

Green Features: Hotel has a strong environmental policy and is very environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is an excellent hotel that provides great service--front desk, concierge and the valets. Each had great local ideas for hiking, eating, etc. The room was beautiful, comfortable and well appointed. The Hotel is beautiful and really perfectly located just two blocks from the Plaza. Can't say enough good things. Highly recommend and we are discerning consumers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Always a relaxing time. If you a dog ask for the room with gated patio. You can enjoy wine on your own patio and your pets can hang with you, without a leash. Great in the summer for easy access to to pool. And ask for spa deals when you check in. Two of us usually do two treatments each and a nice discount is offered, when asked.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Loretto is a lively, excellent hotel with gorgeous and comfortable rooms, excellent room service and terrific food. Much of central Santa Fe is within easy walking distance. I would definitely stay here again and heartily recommend it. The Loretto really exudes individual, regional character.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the opportunity to have you as our guest again!
Warm regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were in Santa Fe just for the day. After a long day of walking around seeing wonderful art, churches, etc, we went into the Loretto lounge. What a great thing to do! We sunk into the beautiful comfy leather couch, sitting by a beautiful burning fireplace, and had a great glass of Pinot Noir with their special spiced peanuts, made in-house. After a long relaxing conversation, we headed back out for more looking around town. Stopping into a little cafe for dinner, my companion suggested we were in the wrong place. I asked "where to?" and when she suggested we go back to the Loretto lounge, we both smiled. Back there, I had a delicious grilled salad (would love another one just like it) and she had a buffalo burger. And we sat and listened to a wonderful singer/guitar player. Delightful. Give it a try, or at least stop in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Living Room lounge at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are so pleased you enjoyed the great food, wine and music. We offer live music in the Living Room every Friday and Saturday night and hope you can join us again soon!
Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Amex, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.