We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn and great location but very thin walls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn and great location but very thin walls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I found a great deal on Living Social for a 2 night stay at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. I was very impressed with the exterior Southwest decor. The interior of the hotel was just as impressive. The location was perfect, centrally located and within walking distance to area shops and vendors. Upon arrival, we were greeted with valet parking and bell service. Our room was nice and fairly large and had a fireplace (for decor only). A door leading to a large outdoor patio was an added plus. There was an outdoor pool but surprisingly no hot tub. It was a bit too chilly (in March) to get in the pool but my boyfriend got in anyway....brrr. I sat out while he swam. We took a few drinks to enjoy while at the pool. Shortly after we arrived at the pool, we were approached by bar staff and told we could NOT bring our own drinks and could only have those that were ordered from the bar. Hmm? The Inn is located next to the Loretto Chapel which is a must see. The spiral staircase is amazing and the story behind it even more so. Aside from shopping, there's not much else to do in the area. We did take a bus tour which gave us more opportunity for photos throughout Santa Fe. My biggest complaint would be the "very thin walls in our room". One night we were awoken by what sounded like someone in severe pain. Apparently, it was a guest who had a little too much to drink and was NOT quiet about it. Things finally settled down after about an hour and a half. Better insulated rooms would certainly have helped avoid this sleepless night. Overall, on a scale of 1 - 10, I give the Inn a 6. The regular room rate is a bit pricey. It's a nice place but needs some improvements.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    304
    122
    69
    32
See reviews for
205
441
50
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Mississippi
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our ABA group is gathering at the Inn and Spa at Loretto for its Fall Council meeting, and we have hit a home run. The front desk is cheerful and the staff bends over backwards to make sure your stay is great in every respect. The spa is one of the most professional that I have seen. Right outside the main entrance is all of the beauty and charm of Old Santa Fe, and adjacent to the Inn is the Loretto Chapel, steeped in history and tradition. There are dozens of boutique shops that are located within this property, and the Inn's fitness center does not cut any corners. This Inn has earned a solid reputation for superior quality at an affordable price, and the rooms are comfortable with everything in good working order. We had a very good room rate for our group. This is the kind of place you return to.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for recognizing the Inn and Spa at Loretto as a “superb Inn”. We are so grateful that you and the rest of your group enjoyed your time in Santa Fe, and at the Inn. Because of our smaller size, we generally only accommodate one group at a time making that group our entire focus. We couldn’t be more delighted that we “hit a home run” for you. Thank you for posting this review for other readers to see. We’re hoping to have your group back with us next year.

Sincerely, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I just spent a week at this Inn and had a delightful time. Perfect location and very good food. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, especially the valets and the front desk. Nice shops with in hotel. Loved the décor and the beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you join the destination club you have a good chance of a room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto in Santa Fe, New Mexico. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you on your next visit to Santa Fe!
Warm Regards - Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

They had some special deals for this place going on Living Social so we snagged a voucher for a 2-night stay and decided to give it a try. Its a fairly fancy place that is located in the heart of Santa Fe and when you drive up guys come out and greet you, grab your bags and park your car, etc. In fact there is only valet parking there (not sure why you can't park your own car since they have a big enough lot) and if you need you get your car one of the guys must go and get it for you.

pros: Nice comfortable rooms and rustic old Southwest decor everywhere in the hotel. Staff was helpful. Walking distance to pretty much anywhere you want to go in the downtown SF area. Next door to the Loretto Chapel which is an interesting place with some interesting stories behind it. You really don't need to drive around much while there.

Cons: Probably a fairly pricey hotel when paying full retail price. I like parking my own car and not have have to depend on staff to fetch it for me. This would have been a perfect place to have a hot tub outside...but no hot tub!!!!! The pool is not really heated either. They do not like you drinking wine outside by the pool/courtyard unless you buy it from the bar.

what to see: walk a couple blocks into the town square and go see the Indian vendors when they are set up out there. You can get some nice jewelry at pretty decent prices. Lots of shops in general in the area but they are usually a little high priced, especially compared to the Indian vendors. Take the little tour bus around SF, and you'll see lots of interesting stuff.
Grab a street taco from the vendor in the square...really good. Get lunch or dinner at the SF Shed...great food and margaritas. There is a little diner on one side of the square that has some great breakfast. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent a week at the Inn and had a great experience. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The restaurant services were top notch. The location is excellent. We look forward to visiting Santa Fe again and will definitely stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for the compliments you gave our staff and restaurant. We look forward to hosting you again!

Warm regards, Sheri Decker General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
130 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The good: convenient location to Plaza, good concierge service, super soft and comfortable beds, fast and nice valet car service.
The not-so-good: you can definitely hear your neighbors through the walls and from the shared balconies, the closet is pretty small and in the bathroom, there was a cute pedestal sink with double sinks but pedestal sinks are so impractical - there were a couple of small glass shelves in the bathroom but there was room for much more storage, there were no outlets by the beds - this is hard to believe in modern times as most people want to charge their phones and use them as alarms at the same time, and worst of all there was no safe - as most people travel with multiple devices these days there is a need to lock them up when you are out of the room, additional fees for valet parking and "hotel" services.

Also, we had two issues -- the toilet didn't flush on the first day and then on the last day the bathtub backed up with some black water that smelled like sulfur. To the hotel's credit, the problems were taken care of each time within about 30 minutes.

In reading the TripAdvisor reviews of many of the most popular hotels in Santa Fe, there did not seem to be one perfect option. All the hotels had pluses and minuses. Overall, the Inn at Loretto is a fine choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. We are very proud of our property and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your experience. With that said, I offer an apology for the few inconveniences you’ve pointed out. I will be sure to address these with the team.

Your patronage is much appreciated and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Sincerely, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good things: location, concierge (Pamela), spa service (although not a full-service spa as we expected).

Not so good things: Service. I had to call three times to get a bathrobe. Finally the frost desk clerk brought it to me himself.
Cleanliness: The a/c/ vents were filthy. You could see the dust hanging down.
Heating & A/C: Very old system. Loud. Since it was very cold a couple of nights, the system would go on and off, and it would wake me up. Also the air that came out of the vent was very strong. There was no way to adjust it. Empty water bottles and paper flew around. That's how strong it was.
Early morning coffee service: They should have it available for early risers, even if they have to charge for it. The restaurant and a coffee shop in the hotel weren't open for business at the times they said they would be.

Green Features: They had shampoo, conditioner, body wash in containers on the wall, which was good. But they also provided bar soap as an alternative, which was appreciated. They change sheets once every 4 days (I believe) which was fine with me. We were there 4 nights. Towels changed daily.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. We are very proud of our property and I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. With that said, I offer an apology for the few inconveniences you’ve pointed out and am happy to report the heating and cooling system is being updated and is expected to be complete very soon!

Your patronage is much appreciated and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Sincerely, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,443 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.