We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they came through for us...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairfax, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“they came through for us...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

we just returned from a partial week at the loretto and i must admit that they came through for us. we were there during the heavy rains and the outside door to our room did not seal, so the carpet was soaked when we checked in. when we notified the front desk they attempted to dry the floor while we were out hiking for the day, but on the 2nd day the carpet was beginning to mildew and smell. when i went down to the front desk and requested another room they did not even hesitate and found us another room with an upgrade to a junior suite, moved our luggage while we out hiking and refunded us the resort fee for the inconvenience.

the rooms, other than the problem with the heavy rain, were very clean and well appointed. our king bed in both rooms was extremely comfortable and the bedding was top notch. we even pulled the sheets off the bed to try to find a tag so we could buy some for ourselves.

the location was very convenient to the town and the canyon road galleries, which interested my wife. the concierge steered us to the geronimo restaurant near the top of canyon road and we had an excellent meal with very good service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Inn and Spa at Loretto. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, but apologize for the unusual rain. We’re not accustomed to having so much rain all at once and it did cause a few issues.

With that said, I’m pleased our team accommodated your room change request and that you were happy with your new room.

Your patronage is much appreciated, we hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    268
    105
    65
    30
See reviews for
178
400
45
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A friend and I spent a long weekend at the hotel. The hotel locationwas perfect. We could walk everywhere in the downtown Santa Fe area yet it was quiet enough for us to sleep well. The general atmosphere inside was excellent - a warm, welcoming lobby and bar as well as a restaurant with great atmosphere. Service was above average. The rooms, however, were average. I expected them to be larger. The bathroom was also small and not updated. The beds were too soft.

Green Features: The only environmental practice I noticed was a note in the bathroom suggesting that we not get our towels washed every day.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here the first of August and the weather was perfect. The hotel was very impressive with excellent front desk personnel. They were very helpful with any request and went out of their way to provide excellent customer service. The rooms were nice but some were showing signs of age. The ceiling AC in some cases were not properly caulked and was an eyesore in the room, however the room was nicely decorated with one of the most comfortable beds. Our 9 year old son was with us and a single bad was wheeled into the room. It was tight squeeze for 3 people but we made it work. The shampoo and conditioner product was very nice and was provided in ample amounts. One draw back, our view was overlooking the lower level hotel roof. Not all rooms have this view so be sure to ask for room not facing the front road. The bar was quaint and full of great people watching and had comfy couches for a nice night cap or snuggle time with your loved one. Overall it was a very nice stay and I would recommend.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for no lower level roof view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Enjoy a perfect Santa Fe expeirence at the Inn and Spa at Loretto.

Comfy rooms, friendly staff, peaceful surroundings and great restaurant keep us coming back each year. Outstanding location to the plaza, shops and dining spots.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with one of their little balconies or patio. Great to set out and relax after a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Outstanding. The organic and local food options on the Luminaria menu are wonderful.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The covered outdoor eating at their Luminaria restaurant is tops for ambiance. The menu is creative; the dishes are attractive and tasty. Breakfast was perfect for dining with friends and planning the day. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. (We were among a group of 10 people whose luggage didn't arrive with us from Denver; we received it ten hours later. Is that common for the Santa Fe airport?). The bath/closet arrangement is very tight, but the room is quite comfortable. The hotel includes interesting shops. We will book again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

So I have to start by saying the bed at Loretto was THE MOST DELICIOUS BED I have ever slept in. I even stripped the sheets so I could see what it was (of course the amazing soft hotel bedding contributed to the experience). The location at the edge of the historic plaza is excellent. The hotel entry is lovely and the service attentive. While the valets were great and quick, I prefer to be able to have access to my car without having to call a valet every time. The hotel features photographs of Santa Fe history, it's like a museum walking through the winding hallways. And you are next door to the Chapel with the miraculous staircase, which is worth a look.

The room was comfortable enough, but laid out oddly. It was dark, and painted dark maroon which made it feel even more closed in, and the view was somewhat disappointing right there in old town...mostly the unfinished-looking roofs of other hotel rooms. The towels were small and worn. We went downstairs for a drink in the very welcoming lounge...and paid $64 for 2 drinks, plus tax and tip. They were good, but wow! Won't do that again.

Net, net...if I do come back, it'll be for the bed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace and/or a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. We are very proud of our property and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your experience. With that said, I offer an apology for the few inconveniences you’ve pointed out. I will be sure to address these with the team.

Your patronage is much appreciated and we hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
505-984-7928
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trophy Club, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent the Labor Day weekend in Santa Fe and the pleasure of staying at The Inn and Spa at Loretto. Everything was perfect from arrival to departure and everything in between. The Inn provided an authentic Santa Fe experience right in the heart of town close to restaurant and shopping. Luminaria is a great dining option for all meals. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and small fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.