We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Great Service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Torrance, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location. Great Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is very beautiful and in a great location. It's right next to the Loretto Chapel, a must see. and within two blocks of the Plaza. This was our first time in Santa Fe and we were enchanted by this historic city. Also, their restaurant, the Luminaria is excellent. Also wanted to put in a good word for the concierge, Pam. She has very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    261
    100
    63
    28
See reviews for
171
386
43
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our only regret was that we could only spend one night in this beautiful hotel.

We arrived without reservation and the staff was very accommodating. We had a nice, roomy and well decorated room. Very quiet. Nice, large pool for a morning wake up swim.

The hotel is right around the corner from the plaza. Just leave your car there and go explore the old town.

Excellent breakfast on the patio.

The valet staff was very helpful at pointing some of the historical sites and giving us advice for a great dinner place.

We'd love to go back.

Room Tip: Try and get a room upstairs, this affords more privacy than the street level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location, rooms, restaurant, and spa. Had deluxe king one night and Junior Suite for 3 nights. Very artsy Native American decor, big rooms with patios. Luminaria was the restaurant we had breakfast on site for four mornings. I got something different every day, very good. Also nice touch was the "Family Room" which was a bar full of tables and divans where you could order off the smaller menu or anything on the bigger menu. Room service was just as good. The spa is Conde Nast's 19th in the country and was also very nice. Location during the Indian market was perfect as was the proximity to Canyon Road's shops and galleries. Wonderful, unique,historical, and spiritual Chapel at Loretto, famous for the miraculous staircase is on property along with a gift shop.

Room Tip: Junior suites were pricey but with Gold American Express card got a one time $75 credit per room (ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a lovely historic yet modern hotel which perfectly reflects the local ambiance. The bed was heavenly and decor beautiful. Lovely artwork. The hotel is just off the Plaza and within easy walking distance of the main shopping and sites. The Indian touches and furnishings were fitting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel located in the heart of Santa Fe. If going to the annual Summer Indian Market, the location is perfect. Lots to do within walking distance. Luminaria restaurant food was very good. One time the server forgot part of the order, but once we mentioned it, they quickly brought the rest. We found the hotel to be clean, the staff friendly and helpful. We had no problems with towels or space as others had. We plan to return to this hotel.

Green Features: If you want clean towels, leave the used towels on the floor and they will be replaced. I agree there is no need to change all the towels every day.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We just returned from our second stay in Santa Fe at the Inn at Loretto. The first stay was fine, but the second was a disaster. Our daughter and son-in-law woke up and discovered bedbugs in their room. Our son-in-law was covered with over 20 bites. They comped them for one night's stay, but there was no additional explanation or attempt to reconcile what can only be termed a "disgusting" hotel experience.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 306--one known bedbug infestation site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for writing, and I deeply regret you and your family’s experience. Having personally inspected the premises, I would like to assure you that this was an isolated issue and swift and corrective action was taken to remediate the problem in this one guest room.

For readers of this review, it is important to know that this is one single isolated incident and has no connection to the overall cleanliness of the Inn and Spa at Loretto. In fact, 83% of our current reviewers rated the property cleanliness at 5 stars (excellent). The Inn and Spa at Loretto maintains the highest standards.

With that being said, bedbugs are one of the most feared issues a hotelier can face, therefore we take every precaution to prevent, eradicate and pursue these issues like no other. Due to the nature of these pest they can appear from nowhere. They are, at this time everywhere, hotels, airline seats, theaters, office buildings etc. and are a huge issue in Europe and the Orient. They show up in the nicest and cleanest hotels. They are very proficient hitchhikers, meaning that they can be picked up anywhere, particularly in luggage and deposited in our facilities. They can lay dormant for over nine months before they even have to feed. In dealing with them we immediately remove and treat or discard the furniture linens and anything else that we feel necessary. Then every square inch of the room, bedding, carpet, furniture drawers and bases, headboards removed and treated multiple times over a three day period to ensure eradication. Also we retreat the room in the same manner approximately two to three weeks later to make sure we get anything that by chance, was missed. We train our housekeepers and engineers in detection and appropriate action steps for discovery. Our housekeeper check their rooms daily. Engineers have been trained to respond to any insect reported in a room to take immediate action to ensure it is not a bedbug and if it is the room is immediately decommissioned for treatment.

I would welcome an opportunity to discuss this issue with you. I can be reached at 505-984-7928.


Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very small. The tiny closet is located inside the bathroom, only few drawers in the room to put your clothe and they were also small. We call every day for extra towels and nobody will answer the phone and even one day my husband went to the front desk to ask for towels and they were never deliver to our room. You share the balcony with other people.

The restaurant Loretto is very good

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.