We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awe the Beauty and Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Decatur, Texas
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awe the Beauty and Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Inn and Spa at Loretto was a thing of beauty and charm. Starting with the valet & ending with the General Manager & literally everyone in between; the staff exemplified customer service & they all genuinely seemed pleased we were staying with them.

The hallways & grounds are strewn with lovely art & quant shops, with equally quant curators, line the halls of the lobby. The view from our open air balcony was stunning & the Loretto Chapel and Saint Francis Cathedral were literally downstairs and out the lobby door! We were within two block of the Plaza, tours, art galleries and every imaginable eatery.

Our room was absolutely gorgeous, dimly lite in the evenings creating a peaceful ambiance with a cool breeze from our open air balcony which over- looked the beautiful pool and grounds. Oh and we decided the bed was one of the most comfortable we'd ever enjoyed. We will be returning year after year~

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    260
    100
    63
    28
See reviews for
171
385
43
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel is perfectly located, just about a block from the square. Tons of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Rooms were large, clean, and had nice balconies. Would definitely stay there again. Also dog friendly if you are traveling with a pet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I accompanied Husband to a convention at the Inn, and we both felt it was a great choice. He felt the business facilities were more than adequate and I enjoyed the friendly service, the excellent restaurant, and the knowledge that I could get my car and be out amongst the trees and mountains within an hour's drive. Bad knees make walking for any distance at all a problem for me, so I truly enjoyed taking off each morning in a different direction (always making sure I had a bottle or two of cold water along), exploring the different little ghost towns (most of which have been turned into artisan shops). I did walk down to the town's plaza, which is quite busy and well used, with many, many shops around it, that was only perhaps 3 or 4 blocks away. Most nights we ate at the Inn's award-winning restaurant, Luminaria, and were never disappointed. The service there was wonderful, the food a delight, although we cold have done with a few more choices and specials.
Our room was large, with a fireplace (no fire, but we could have candles if we wished) a good-sized bathroom, but strangely enough you had to go into the bathroom to get to the small closet. We never got to the spa, but certainly enjoyed the balcony - the last night it finally cooled down enough for us to order room service and have dinner out there. While sitting out there they had two weddings in the chapel next door (the one with the famous unsupported staircase), which were really nice. Our one real complaint was that there is no type of support to hold onto while getting in and out of the bathtub. I have a bad knee and definitely did not feel comfortable taking showers there A/C was very noisey, but we got used to it, plus it did it's job keeping us cool. important in Santa Fe during the warmer months.If

Room Tip: If possible get a room with a shared balcony overlooking either the pool or as ours did, the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a two night stay at The Inn and Spa at Loretto recently and found accommodations first rate. The service--from check-in to valet parking--was excellent. The rooms were quiet, the beds comfortable, and the outdoor patio area a bonus feature. Access to the plaza--and its myriad of restaurant options--is very convenient.

The only cautionary note I would make is that the bells from the nearby cathedral may awaken guests earlier than they would like but by the second morning, it became a quaint reminder of what a great place Santa Fe is.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just returned from four day corporate retreat and was very impressed with the charm and ease of this Inn. Staff are exceptionally warm and rooms comfortable. Noise level zero. Open air balconies are a plus during the cool nights. As a seasoned 20-year spa guru, my favorite part was a cranio-sacral therapy treatment in the Spa with Halimah -- truly gifted and talented in her approach.

Room Tip: Room on the back side with balcony provides stunning view of the moon at night and morning sunrise.
See more room tips
Green Features: Nice to see their commitment to water conservation.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Inn and Spa at Loretto on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and noted our staff as being “exceptionally warm”! We have many talented therapists in the spa and are so pleased you enjoyed your treatment with Halimah.

Please stay with us during your next trip to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, Texas
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Inn and Spa at Loretto is in need of a few upgrades. Our room and bath were dark and the room temperature was hot. The bed was too soft and the furniture showed its age. We enjoyed being only a few blocks from the old downtown plaza and the hotel staff were very helpful in giving us directions. We will look for something better on our next visit to Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Select an upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We made the Inn and Spa our destination for a long weekend trip to Santa Fe. We've walked by the property on our other visits to Santa Fe and finally decided to stay even though other hotels were less expensive. We checked in earlier than official hotel policy suggested but the front desk staff found a room for us and we settled in and began exploring the property and the area. Our room was comfortable and had a nice view of the chapel and the cathedral areas from our balcony. We spent part of an afternoon at the pool and were pleased with the beverage service and the ambience of their courtyard. Despite construction in the area and a busy city street next to the property, it was quiet and we had a peaceful night's rest. The location can't be beat and a short walk got us to any and all the attractions and shops we wanted to see. We're not spa fans but we were very pleased with the atmosphere and the customer service provided by the staff at this very nice property.

Green Features: It's a nice feature but doesn't impact our decision-making process.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.