We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel in May 2012 so chose to stay again this past week (May 16, 2013). We opted for this particular hotel/spa rather than stay in the more convenient Albuquerque area. We set up the reservation through a great reservations manager, Maureen, who assisted us immensely. However, two events cause me to reconsider staying here on our next trip to the area. First, our room, despite our repeated requests for a "quiet room away from the elevator" was directly across the hall from the elevator. More importantly, we were abruptly awakened around 4:00 a.m. by a power outtage that stopped all air conditioning (white noise for the elevator bell plus air itself) and all other power sources were out. We had no idea what was happening! (We were so alarmed by this outtage that my husband walked down 3 flights of stairs to the front desk in his pajamas with our flashlight to see what was going on.) We have stayed at highly rated hotels & resorts across the country without an incident of this kind--ever. The next morning during our checkout, we mentioned this abrupt outtage/sleep interruption. Lisa, the hotel front desk personnel who checked us in and also did our checkout, said, "Didn't you see the card on the desk about the expected power outtage?" Such a card did not exist in our room. She did not inform us of this expected event at check-in either. Had we known of it, which interrupted our much needed sleep, we would have stopped in another city for the night. As stated, very disappointing lack of personalized service for a lovely, expensive hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    255
    97
    63
    27
See reviews for
169
379
43
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aliquippa, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I love the Southwest and were married in Albuquerque, NM in 1995. This was our 3rd trip to New Mexico and we decided to stay in Santa Fe. The hotel was beautiful, clean and centrally located so that it was easy to walk into downtown. The food is very good, although a bit pricey. The bar had a happy hour and it was fun to sit on the comfy sofas in front of the fireplace. I had a lavender scrub at the spa. The Loretto Chapel is attached to the hotel and is worth a tour. The history of the chapel is very moving.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This place is great if you like interior cabins on bad cruise ships. Our room had only the light from the narrow balcony door and dim interior lamps. We shared our 4'x4' balcony with pigeons who left their droppings everywhere.These droppings were not removed by housekeeping during their daily visits so we did not use our balcony. The air conditioning was incredibly loud and obtrusive. Check out was lengthy, complicated and inaccurate. The food and the bar were fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria,TX
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were at this hotel for a conference....great location! Our room, however, was just OK...we were at the very end of the property....and the elevator closest to us was "out of order"! Food service and bar service was very good. Breakfast in the hotel dining room was very good....as we're the drinks in the bar! This is a small hotel, which is nicely decorated!

Room Tip: Not 353.... It is the at the very end of the hall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The property is in an excellent location, close enough to walk to the plaza and restaurants all around. The beds are to die for. The spa is the main reason we stay here, it is fabulous. The girls that work there are so nice and helpful. the spa area is beautiful!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Inn and Spa at Loretto on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed The Spa at Loretto and happy you found your accommodation comfortable.

We look forward to a future opportunity to serve you again should you return to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I had been traveling with my family for just under a month, we were on the road all day. I was done
I didn't think we'd ever get to this place, my sister in law had looked on line and we thought we would check it out. I pulled in behind my brother, they were checking to see if they had 2 rooms available. Yea! they did, I had my service dog Lucy with me, we were all greeted with a smile. I was then offered a bed for my dog, and they even had her favorite color( red) they also had dog bowls. I have been to a lot!!! Of hotels and one beach house on this trip, I have never slept in such a comfortable bed. The staff was friendly and courteous, one girl at the front dest even offered to watch Lucy when I went shopping, she also greeted her by name every time we came in. Thank you so much. The restaurant there was incredible and they had a great wine list. Thank you Antonio you are a fantastic bartender! I'm rating this Inn high not only because it was great, but also how they treated Lucy. I guess if your a dog lover then you'll get it. I think your Inn is beautiful and I can't wait to come back for a longer stay. If your driving down the highway and see the turn off for Sante Fe get off and go it is truly beautiful:) and stay at this Inn you'll get spoiled and not want to go home either.

Room Tip: I'm not sure, we had 2 rooms and both were equally good. The ac was a little noisy, but that did...
See more room tips
Green Features: The rooms were very clean, they also have a air conditioner that's on a motion detector, to save energy.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I appreciate the time you took to write this review of The Inn and Spa at Loretto located in Santa Fe, New Mexico. I am so pleased you’ve enjoyed your time here and appreciate the compliments regarding our guestrooms and staff. We are very thankful for everything our Inn represents and for our wonderful team.

Thank you again for this review. Please feel free to contact me upon your next visit, I’d love to meet you and Lucy.

Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Perhaps it's the construction it wasn't as if the hotel was empty but it sure sounded like it was. It may have been the most undisturbed sleep I've ever had in a hotel. Not an inexpensive place to stay and they have those crooked "resort fees" that so many places have implemented but even at 200 plus for the one night it was a treat and probably worth it just to be right in the heart of the downtown district.There was no charge for the valet parking which was a pleasant surprise. We did a last minute booking at the front desk there are probably better deals to be had.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.