We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous location, small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Save Saved
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fabulous location, small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

the best location in Santa Fe! Rooms are small, balcony availability is very exaggerated, but staff is welcoming. The lounge is fun in the evening. Be sure to check the operating hours of any place you plan to visit.
Restaurant and spa are both top notch. The Eggs Benedict are terrific.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I appreciate your generous review regarding The Inn and Spa at Loretto located in Santa Fe, New Mexico. I apologize for the rooms not meeting your expectations, but thank you for mentioning our staff, Luminaria Restaurant, and The Spa at Loretto.

Please stay with us again during your next trip to Santa Fe and be sure to dine in Luminaria for lunch or dinner. Chef Brett Sparman is guaranteed to impress you again.

Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    217
    88
    55
    24
See reviews for
147
348
39
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitou Springs, CO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A friend who'd lived in Santa Fe told me this was her favorite hotel. It's gorgeous. When you pull your car up to the check-in, the adobe facade gives that wow you're looking for when you go to a high-end resort.

We bought a Living Social, which gave us a tremendous deal for a couple of days. ($110/night, before all the add-ons, which are many.) We had a great time, but there were a few issues.

When I had booked, the hotel rep told us the superior king would have sleeping for three. (We had our 16-year-old with us.) It didn't even have an over-sized living room chair. They were fine about changing our room to a queen.

One of the problems I have with the hotel is, considering it's size, the lack of meaningful common areas. A strip of galleries and shops, for instance, is nice, but I'd enjoy them as much if they were near the hotel and not in it. I want spaces where I can interact with other guests.

The pool might be that kind of place. And the pool is open from sunrise to midnight, which is rare. Unfortunately, during our visit in March, it was too cold to really enjoy the pool, and nobody hung out there. I was surprised to hear that there is not hot tub. Even the world-class spa here lacks the option of just paying a fee to hang out in a hot tub. It's treatments only.

Another issue we faced was major construction. Hammering and power tools were in operation throughout our stay in a room very close to ours. Fortunately, a guest services person told us that we could bring a bottle of wine and our computers to the lobby bar (nicely named The Living Room), though we did get hassled by a waiter who hadn't gotten the word.

Lastly, I hate valet-only parking. I tip well whenever I get my car. When we decided we wanted to go to Canyon Road galleries, the valet gave us directions but didn't make it clear this was just a couple of blocks away and silly to drive. (I think he just wanted that extra tip!)

Oh, and the room was a bit dusty.

But although some of these gripes might suggest serious problems, I should make it clear that, overall, my friend was right. This is a fabulous property. The rooms are lovely. The shared balconies splended (though ours lacked much of a view.) The fitness center well-equipped. And the staff was generally friendly and professional.

Room Tip: As for rooms far from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I had been to Santa Fe several years ago and stayed right on the Plaza We wanted to try another hotel but still be close to the historical downtown. Family recommended the Inn and Spa at Loretto. Everyone from the Valet staff to the Housekeeping staff could not have been more accommodating. We decided to eat in the Lobby Bar our first night and both had incredible dishes. We enjoyed the food so much we ended up eating dinner in the main dining room the next night and our final night back at the Lobby Bar. The wait staff at every meal were all attentive to our needs. Our food was outstanding and presentation beautiful. We will definitely pass on excellent reviews to our family and friends. Can't wait to return to the Inn and to Luminaria.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Loved this hotel. The rooms were really lovely - with big squishy down beds, a cool little patio, and nice bathrooms. Great location if you want to be near the Historical Plaza. I wish we could have stayed longer or tried out the spa or restaurants. It was actually a little pricier than we would normally do for just one night, but for the value we found on hotels.com, it was a great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, California, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We arrived and my whole family felt so welcome. Valet was so nice and they were very helpful. Walking in the hotel you get a good feeling of Santa Fe, I have read some reviews on here and people need to understand that this hotel isn't brand=new and if that's what they are looking for, then go somewhere else. The inn and spa SCREAMS true Santa Fe. The Front desk workers were so Knowledgeable, Brooke, who works the front desk was super friendly and very fast at checking us in. She even helped make reservations for us. Jennifer was working with her and they both were amazing! You can definitely tell that the workers there were (family) Going to our room , when we first walked in it was beautiful and we got the same feeling as we did walking into the hotel. SANTA FE... The colors made it seem so cozy and unlike white-walled hotels we didn't feel like we were in a hospital. The workers at the front desk pointed out all the GOOD places eat on a map so we had an amazing day walking around looking at all the shops. The Housekeepers were very on point and the whole staff at the luminaria were on point. Everyone seemed like they loved their job and knew what they were doing, I,100% will come back and tell my friends about it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The staff and dinning at the Loretto Inn and Spa were the greatest. I would recomend this to anyone visiting the Santa Fe area. It is located downtown near many sights within walking distance. It has very comfortable rooms and great staff, shops and small cafe in the inn. It would be the number one place for me to stay when I visit Santa Fe again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your patronage of The Inn and Spa at Loretto. Our team takes great pride in providing a memorable experience for our guests, we are genuinely appreciative of your positive feedback regarding our staff, Luminaria Restaurant, and our location. Thank you again for taking the time to write this fantastic review.

Please feel free to contact me upon your next visit to Santa Fe, New Mexico, I would enjoy the opportunity to meet you.

Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Inn is beautiful, the staff are helpful, the location is great. The room was fabulous, who cares if the candles are not what they expected lol.They still lit (they were little bottles of oil with wax covers) and the hotel even supplied the matches. The bathroom was a 1940s dream - black and white tile with lots of chrome. I don't know when the hotel was built, but it has been redone and still shows its age in the AC/heating ducts - a lot of dust came through. We didn't try the restaurant, we walked to one the concierge told us about and it was perfect. We didn't expect the required Valet parking so I was a little disconcerted about that. The front desk upgraded our room. The bed was wonderful. The area was wonderful. Shopping and restaurants nearby made me wish we had more time. The Loretto Chapel is actually next door which was nice. Two things knocked my rating down from 4 to a 3. First, the AC/Heating ducts. There was a lot of dust coming out of the ducts when the fan was blowing. Second, there was a message on my phone telling me to contact the front desk. When I did, I was told that my credit card had been declined and that I needed to take care of that. After panicking and calling American Express we found out that the front desk had not even swiped the card. The person I spoke to had just assumed the card had been declined. If you have ever had that happen you know it can cause you a few minutes of panic!

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor, with a balcony over the pool. The large shared balcony actually had a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.