We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Phenomenal location. Wonderful views. Good staff. Very helpful. Bathroom pretty disappointing. Otherwise the accommodations were quite comfortable. Very fine restaurant. We are definitely planning to go back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    255
    97
    63
    26
See reviews for
168
378
43
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although I've stayed in many other hotels and condos in Santa Fe, the Inn offered a very pleasant,attentive but expensive experience. The Inn's staff members were definitely more amiable than the local merchants, and our suite was perfect with the best mattress ever! The entire experience was wonderful- Luminaria's scrumptious dishes, the one man band (60's Folk music), guest artists at work on their next creation, and fast valet service (unfortunately a $20 daily charge).
The location was perfect- A block from the square and the best shops like the Olive oil and Vinegar shop. I shopped there twice!
My only suggestion is to change the parking situation. The rooms, etc. are expensive enough... Please allow the guest the option to self park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had driven to Santa Fe and decided to find a place when we got there. We drove by the Inn and decided to give it a try. The staff was able to find us a room. We didn't realize that there was mandatory valet parking and a fee to go along with it though. Oh, well. We were treated very nicely by all staff members and all our questions were answered quickly. It was nice to be able to walk to the Plaza and surrounding areas. It was nice to feel pampered! We'd go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis M, Director of Operations at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding The Inn and Spa at Loretto located in Santa Fe, New Mexico. I am so pleased we could accommodate you during your recent visit and truly appreciate you for taking the time to write this review.

We are incredibly grateful for our location and for our hospitable staff who take great pride in providing the highest level of service. With that said, I would like to mention that while there is a fee for the convenience of valet parking on property there is also a complimentary self-park option located across the street for visitors who prefer.

We’re delighted that we made you feel pampered and look forward to your next visit to Santa Fe. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Dennis Marcinik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We just returned from 5-days at the Inn & Spa at Loretto - From our check-in to check-out...everything exceeded our expectations. Having traveled to Santa Fe and stayed in hotels near the Square - we expected mandatory valet, so this was not an issue on our end. The Front Desk staff was very accommodating, the rooms were very clean and well furnished and quiet. We never heard anything from the hallways, adjacent rooms, nor from upstairs. We loved the Living Room Lounge (especially Christophe - the bartender) and our meals at the Luminaria Restaurant were very good, as was the wait staff. We love the convenient location of the hotel - within easy walking distance to all of downtown and Canyon Road. All in all - we will only stay at the Inn going forward.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here in February. Lovely place. Spacious rooms, quiet, excellent staff. However, there is no self-park option and valet cost is around $20 a day. There is also a "resort" fee per guest. I'm not exactly sure what "extras" we got for the fee. But this place is wonderful, clean, and close to everything! The staff knows the area and is very helpful with recommendations! I'd stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for an end room. Some rooms in the middle hallways have 1 (if at all) small window. End rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis M, Director of Operations at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Inn and Spa at Loretto. We appreciate your comments regarding our rooms, staff, and location. Thank you for emphasizing these features as it is always wonderful for other visitors to read. With that said, I would like to mention that you are correct about us offering valet parking with a fee for the convenience of our guests however, there are complimentary self-parking options right across the street for visitors who prefer to park themselves. In addition, our service fee covers wireless internet access, local and toll-free telephone calls, morning newspapers, and in room coffee and tea. The fee also covers gratuity for room attendants, our morning coffee station in Luminaria, fresh fruit, daily art demonstrations, fitness room, yoga classes, business center, and more. I hope this is helpful.

Our policy is for our front desk and reservations team members to explain the above to our guests during check-in and at the time of securing reservations. I regret and apologize that this did not happen in your case. We are graciously looking forward to your next visit to Santa Fe. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Dennis Marcinik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Inn and Spa at Loretto is one of the most comfortable, unique hotels I have stayed in. Room decor was specific to Santa fe, giving it a memorable appeal. Hotel staff were accommodating and pleasant. My only concern was the connecting balcony outside of my room (actually had an adolescent guest streak across the window area!), however this is easily ignored with pulled shades. Overall I was satisfied with the hotel as well as its convenient local.

Room Tip: You may want to consider choosing a room with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Front desk staff was uninformed of special event. The nickel and dime charges for any special requests for deliveries were ridiculous for an upscale hotel. Front desk staff was overwhelmed and not very accommodating. Other hotel staff have have been a delight. The rooms are beautifully decorated. The beds super comfy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.