We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hate to write a bad review...BUT..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Save Saved
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 59 hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Hate to write a bad review...BUT..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I don't want to be mean. I only hope that this review will make the management of this hotel take notice of some serious problems and rectify them. So here goes..It started when my husband and I drove up next to the valet sign. We had to wait for a few minutes because it was extremely busy. Since we had dinner reservations in 1 hr, we opted to take our luggage in with us instead of waiting for someone to deliver. Apparently, this didn't sit well..as the doorman stood silently while we struggled to get our luggage through the front doors. Seriously..He just stood there watching us. Front Desk staffer was very nice. Then we got into the room. The room we thought we had booked (from the Inn's website pics) wasn't even close to what we were given. 1st..It was extremely claustrophobic. There was no windows, but there was a door that went out to a shared patio. When u opened up the curtains to get light in the room, your neighbors that share your patio can see right into the room. So...NO PRIVACY. 2nd..Dresser Drawers? There was a tiny nightstand on one side of the bed. 2 of the drawers contained bibles and hotel info. We where there for 7 days and had 4 suitcases. I was not expecting to live out of my suitcase for a whole week. 3rd..We finally found a small closet behind the bathroom door. It was so small it barely fit our 2 winter coats. NO WAY 2 people could stand in the bathroom..it was that small. 4th..There are no safes in the room. WHAT?!? You need to go down to the front desk to lock any valuables. 5th..Bose or IPOD docking station that was promised on the website was an old RCA CD/Clock Radio. I don't know anyone who still travels with CD's. 5th...No hair dryer in the room. Had to call down to front desk for one. 6th..Our fireplace...which took up a good portion of our tiny little room...consisted of a fake candle in a fake fireplace.

That was our room. Good thing was that mgmt let us check out after one night w/out any penalties and we found a great room at another hotel...and they were actually very nice when we explained our grievances. Another good thing...they have a very large and cozy bar w/ pretty decent food downstairs. See? I can write nice things, too :) Good Travels.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis M, Director of Operations at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate the time and consideration you put into this review. Our priority is to provide our guests with the very best service before, during, and after their stay. With that said, I apologize for the concerns you shared. We take guest reviews very seriously and take pride in the facility and services we provide. I understand your frustrations.

I’d be happy to speak with you at your convenience. If you wish to discuss your stay with me further, I can be reached at 505-984-7930.

Sincerely,

Dennis Marcinik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    197
    78
    55
    24
See reviews for
136
319
38
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have been staying at the Inn and Spa at Loretto pretty much on a monthly basis for the last 10 years - for both business and personal trips. The hotel's service --starting with the valet and front desk ---have been impeccable. On the valet side, Diego always delivers quality service. Josephine Vega, Front Desk Supervisor, continues to do an outstanding job, as does Charyce Martin, also assisting at the front desk.

The management staff of Dennis and Clint, as well as Guin White, certainly makes their guests feel at home. I know they do with me and my family. i am glad to recommend this hotel to those looking for great service.

Art Morales
Houston, Texas

Room Tip: They are all great rooms due to recent reovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spend 7 nights at this hotel for Christmas. I read the reviews before so it wasn't a big surprise when we get there.

Staff: is all right according to our experience, nothing WOW but nothing wrong as well.

Noise: except those "famous" heater that must be old, the room was very quiet, we were near by the Chapel and we absolutely loved hearing the bells each morning. It was somehow magical. We had no trouble sleeping because of the heater, our days were so busy with all what Santa Fe has to offer that we slept like babies each night.

Room: dark, but well it's the style of the new mexican homes so no complain about it, I just wished for bigger bed than full size. However loved the smoothness of the bedding sheet and the comfy mattress. Very clean and fresh room. Whenever we came back to the room it was already cleaned, very pleasant.

Pool: I really wished that they could have done something about it. We travelled with kids and the heated pool was one of the reason we picked this hotel. But because of the ice, the pool was close while our stay there. They said that the salt doesn't work with the ice, well I looked and there were few spot here and there that could have been broken. I guess we were the only guest interested in using the pool.

Location: we could have go to a cheaper hotel with indoor pool, cleaning including, breakfast including, parking including etc... but we decided to stay downtown instead and we don't regret our choice. Being surrounded by the Chapel, nice restaurants where you could walk from the hotel, all those wonderful adobe homes helped make this trip so magical. It was Christmas time and we had such a great time walking every day and get a feel of the town. I don't think we would have get the same feeling in another hotel.

Price: it's pricey but you know all about it before you make your reservation, so no surprise here. You have to add everything on top of the room price : cleaning, parking, breakfast. You pay mostly the location here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Several friends and I just spent several days at the Inn and Spa at Loretto in Santa Fe, NM over the Christmas holidays, and I can't say enough about our wonderful experience. From the moment we checked in, we were made to feel not just welcome, but special. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated in Southwest decor, spotlessly clean, with very comfortable beds. The lobby area is very large with comfortable couches, a fireplace, and a lounge area where both beverages and food could be enjoyed. The restaurant features a varied menu and the food and service were both excellent. Two of our party had massages at the spa and both reported that the experience was wonderful. The concierge was very friendly and helpful in securing dinner reservations during a very busy season and suggested a baroque concert in the Loretto Chapel that was outstanding. A note to dog owners: the Inn welcomes dogs, and we saw many during our visit. In summary, all in our party highly recommend the Inn and Spa at Loretto as a delightful place to stay while visiting the "City Different."

Room Tip: One of our party is a smoker. There are some rooms that have a balcony, and I would recommend one fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis M, Director of Operations at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Inn and Spa at Loretto located in Santa Fe, New Mexico. I am pleased that you enjoyed our rooms, The Living Room Lounge and Luminaria Restaurant. I’m also happy you were able to enjoy ProMusica’s A Baroque Christmas in the Loretto Chapel. We were honored to work with them and adored their performance as well. We hope to have the joy of hosting you again, please visit us the next time you are in Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Dennis Marcinik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We received truly outstanding service from the team at the Inn and Spa at Loretto! My wife and I recently visited Santa Fe for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this spectacular property. We absolutely loved Santa Fe and especially the fabulous Inn and Spa at Loretto. Our experience at this resort was so enjoyable in large part because of the highly personalized service we received from General Manager Dennis Marcinik and Food & Beverage Director Natasha Aasgaarden.

We have had the good fortune to travel extensively over the past 25 years and have stayed at some of the finest hotels in the world. Thoughout our global travels, I have rarely encountered such warm and gracious hospitality as was extended by this team. Dennis's team treated us like old friends...cheerfully answering many questions and enthusiastically counseling us regarding potential dining choices, daily activities and transportation options.

The pursuit of good food is always an integral part of our vacations. We enjoyed the culinary scene around Santa Fe and particularly the creative and delicious offerings at Luminaria. Natasha's team made us feel like guests in their home with many special touches ranging from rose petals on the table to outrageous tortilla soup...everything was perfect! The food was phenomenal and totally in harmony with the natural beauty of the area.

Today we all work in a tough business environment where there is no shortage of hollow rhetoric about excellent customer service, so it is truly refreshing to experience the real thing. Congratulations to Dennis and Natasha for assermbling such a strong team that obviously takes personal responsibility for delighting guests. Because of the outstanding treatment we received coupled with the rich beauty of the resort, we will certainly be returning to the Inn and Spa at Loretto. You will love this beautiful resort!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just returned from 6 nights at this hotel. Our only complaint, but it is a major one, is that the heating systems in the rooms are VERY NOISY. We were awakened every 20 - 30 mins, when the heater would go on. When we inquired about this situation, the engineer did come to the room to investigate and explained that this was the " normal " sound of the heating system and that it was the same in all the rooms. Other than this problem, which was not even controlled by using ear plugs, the hotel is lovely and the service is friendly and responsive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis M, Director of Operations at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I would like to thank you for describing our hotel as “lovely” and our service as “friendly and responsive”. I am very grateful for these comments, but offer my sincerest apologies for the noise you experienced while staying with us. Undeniably, some rooms have heating and cooling units that are louder than others. We are currently in the process of rectifying this problem. I hope to convince you to return and experience the accommodations we’re known for.

If you wish to discuss your stay with me further, I can reached at 505-984-7930. Thank you.

Dennis Marcinik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our first trip to Santa Fe so we had to rely on TripAdvisor reviews to make our hotel selection. We booked, as always, through Hotels.com and were very pleased with our selection. The hotel is just a short walk from the historic plaza and other attractions...including literally next door to the famous Loretto Chapel. The hotel has a very upscale but authentic feel. Check-in went smoothly and we were fortunate that our room was ready even though we were checking in early. We loved the room. Even though the hotel is older, it's well maintained and the rooms are decorated beautifully (and authentically). The furnishings are very nice and comfortable. Our room had a small fireplace that held two candles and a shared very large patio with another room. However, it was too cold to use the patio other than a quick trip to check out the view, snow, etc.

We were pleased with the flexibility of the houskeeping staff as we kept really irregular hours on when we were in and out of the room. They always came to clean while we were out and did a nice job.

We had occassion to order room service several times and were pleased with every meal. The quality and temperature of the food was excellent and the delivery time a reasonable 25 - 30 minutes.

We saw a few reviews about the noise from the ac/heat vent. Yes, it's loud, but we actually like some noise when we sleep, so it was welcomed in our case.

We had a nice time sitting in the lobby lounge. We found sofas near the large fireplace and enjoyed the happy hour appetizers and conversations with other guests. I also used the spa and had a fantastic foot and leg massage.

We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Amex, Otel and Venere so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.