We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, gorgeous resort made for a beautiful Santa Fe experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, gorgeous resort made for a beautiful Santa Fe experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We received truly outstanding service from the team at the Inn and Spa at Loretto! My wife and I recently visited Santa Fe for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this spectacular property. We absolutely loved Santa Fe and especially the fabulous Inn and Spa at Loretto. Our experience at this resort was so enjoyable in large part because of the highly personalized service we received from General Manager Dennis Marcinik and Food & Beverage Director Natasha Aasgaarden.

We have had the good fortune to travel extensively over the past 25 years and have stayed at some of the finest hotels in the world. Thoughout our global travels, I have rarely encountered such warm and gracious hospitality as was extended by this team. Dennis's team treated us like old friends...cheerfully answering many questions and enthusiastically counseling us regarding potential dining choices, daily activities and transportation options.

The pursuit of good food is always an integral part of our vacations. We enjoyed the culinary scene around Santa Fe and particularly the creative and delicious offerings at Luminaria. Natasha's team made us feel like guests in their home with many special touches ranging from rose petals on the table to outrageous tortilla soup...everything was perfect! The food was phenomenal and totally in harmony with the natural beauty of the area.

Today we all work in a tough business environment where there is no shortage of hollow rhetoric about excellent customer service, so it is truly refreshing to experience the real thing. Congratulations to Dennis and Natasha for assermbling such a strong team that obviously takes personal responsibility for delighting guests. Because of the outstanding treatment we received coupled with the rich beauty of the resort, we will certainly be returning to the Inn and Spa at Loretto. You will love this beautiful resort!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    264
    104
    65
    30
See reviews for
178
393
44
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just returned from 6 nights at this hotel. Our only complaint, but it is a major one, is that the heating systems in the rooms are VERY NOISY. We were awakened every 20 - 30 mins, when the heater would go on. When we inquired about this situation, the engineer did come to the room to investigate and explained that this was the " normal " sound of the heating system and that it was the same in all the rooms. Other than this problem, which was not even controlled by using ear plugs, the hotel is lovely and the service is friendly and responsive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis M, Director of Operations at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I would like to thank you for describing our hotel as “lovely” and our service as “friendly and responsive”. I am very grateful for these comments, but offer my sincerest apologies for the noise you experienced while staying with us. Undeniably, some rooms have heating and cooling units that are louder than others. We are currently in the process of rectifying this problem. I hope to convince you to return and experience the accommodations we’re known for.

If you wish to discuss your stay with me further, I can reached at 505-984-7930. Thank you.

Dennis Marcinik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our first trip to Santa Fe so we had to rely on TripAdvisor reviews to make our hotel selection. We booked, as always, through Hotels.com and were very pleased with our selection. The hotel is just a short walk from the historic plaza and other attractions...including literally next door to the famous Loretto Chapel. The hotel has a very upscale but authentic feel. Check-in went smoothly and we were fortunate that our room was ready even though we were checking in early. We loved the room. Even though the hotel is older, it's well maintained and the rooms are decorated beautifully (and authentically). The furnishings are very nice and comfortable. Our room had a small fireplace that held two candles and a shared very large patio with another room. However, it was too cold to use the patio other than a quick trip to check out the view, snow, etc.

We were pleased with the flexibility of the houskeeping staff as we kept really irregular hours on when we were in and out of the room. They always came to clean while we were out and did a nice job.

We had occassion to order room service several times and were pleased with every meal. The quality and temperature of the food was excellent and the delivery time a reasonable 25 - 30 minutes.

We saw a few reviews about the noise from the ac/heat vent. Yes, it's loud, but we actually like some noise when we sleep, so it was welcomed in our case.

We had a nice time sitting in the lobby lounge. We found sofas near the large fireplace and enjoyed the happy hour appetizers and conversations with other guests. I also used the spa and had a fantastic foot and leg massage.

We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

On our recent trip to Santa Fe to celebrate our annivberary, my husband and I decided to splurge a little and stay at the Loretto Inn. What a delightful exerience! Our suite was roomy and beautifully decorated with 2 balconies and a fireplace! What a treat! And the Christmas decorations were gorgeous! We really felt like we were on vacation! From the reservations desk to the bellhop that lit the fire in our fireplace, the staff went above and beyond our expectations! Loved our stay!

Room Tip: We mentioned that this was our first stay and we were celebrating an anniversary, and they upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Santa Fe is a great place to visit to enjoy any time of year. The beauty of this charming town in winter - decorated in luminaries with snow is beautiful. The Inn and Spa at Loretto is the best place to stay in the best location in town. The Concierge and the front desk staff were very helpful. The rooms were very beautifully decorated with up to date and comfortable furnishings, our room even had a balcony with a view! We enjoyed the snowfall this December and will always remember this special trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis M, Director of Operations at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your glowing review of the Inn and Spa at Loretto. The spirit of Loretto truly is truly stunning in the winter months. Our team greatly appreciates your comments regarding our location, staff, and rooms. Its reviewers like you, who allow us to keep doing what we love to do every day. Again, thank you!

Dennis Marcinik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is right next to the Loretta Chapel. Possible the next best hotel behind La Fonda. More pricy. the spa is just the great spa you would expect. towels for days and all that good stuff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Recent stay was so disappointing; I planned a romantic weekend away for the Xmas time with my love; the property is so nice, we had a great room or so we thought. The TV system was broken, the "engineer" came to assess after a call and never returned. A day later upon inquiry at the desk I learned "oh we need a part, it cant be fixed this weekend, so sorry for the inconvenience">
Then, the bathtub leaked all over the carpet in the adjoining room. Again, we summoned assistance. This person arrived, shrugged his shoulders and directed us not to fill the bathtub! I paid for an upgrade for a suite with a fireplace that lacked adequate supplies to light a fire. Front desk uninterested in my discomfort. All this kind of spoiled the romance. I wont spend my money on a room here again and the front desk staff that I dealt with lacked customer service skills.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.