We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming elegance in a perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacksonville Fl USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Charming elegance in a perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had never been out west per se and didnt know where to start so Santa Fe seemed to be a good place to start. The Inn and Spa at Loretta was highly recommend and I can see why.This charming boutique style hotel was perfectly located Santa Fe a block off the main Square and was easy walking distance to most shops, restaurants and many local attractons. The lobby area was open and charming and had a mini mall with art inspired galleries that flowed into the reception area. The reception area flowed into the lounge & bar area which overlooked the pool. The lounge area is truly a work of art with its rustic charm intermingled with an amazing hand carved art inspired ceiling that is truly spectacular and fits the space perfectly. I rarely would mention a ceiling in a review but this really is worth a look! The same artisit also did work in the elevators as well and carries the art inspired theme throught the hotel.There are historical pictures and art all over the hotel and this was a nice touch in unfying the space. .The rooms were very comfortable and were decorated with a mix of southwest style and tradtional style. Our room had the Kiva fireplace and a small sitting area and we had a nice rustic four poster bed. The room was impeccably clean and quiet and had a small balcony where you could enjoy breakfast or a meal.Unfortuneatly, the balcony was a common one where guests from other rooms on your level could walk past your french doors at any time. creating a bit of a secuiry concern.Had the hotel made seperations in between the rooms which could be done fairly easily I think this would have been a much wiser choice. The only other thing I thought was odd was that there were no safes in the room. The bathroom closet which sported an iron,ironing board, robes and slippers was a bit tight but there was room to add a safe. I understand these are in the works so this should be remedied in the near future. Overall the room was very comfortable and quiet and very enjoyable. I would recommend the Junior Suites as they are much more spacious and deliver more square footage. There are also 5 speciaty suites as well but book early as these tend to fill up fast! The Spa there was devine and I can see why its rated in the Conde Nast top 20 in the US. Excellent treatments rooms, aromatherapy and persoanble staff made my facilal a wonderful experience. There is a private elevator that takes you right into the spa so you can slip into your robe and slippers and go right into the spa. Overall this was a lovely place to stay and with a few execptions provided a great value compared to more pricier options closeby.The location was perfect and you could walk to several dozen restaurants and shops within 10-15 minutes. We had a car but never used it as it was so central to everything. The Luminaria Restaurant was amazing so please look at my seperate review of that. The food was heavenly and showed why this is one of the top ranked restaurants in Santa Fe !

Room Tip: Spend the extra money on the Junior Suites or Specialty suites as the standard rooms tend to feel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for posting this wonderful review about the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We set out to provide an authentic experience for our guests and it brings us great pride that we accomplished this for you. We thank you for mentioning our retail corridor. We take pleasure in the fact that our hotel is truly a “one stop shop” for guests who do not want to leave the property or who have limited time in Santa Fe. I also appreciate your comments regarding the ceiling in the Living Room. It was designed by a man named Charles Lomayestewa, a living Hopi artisan, that did in fact designed the interiors of the elevators like you started and the spa credenzas. I am pleased that you took advantage of the spa elevator. We love the idea that our guests do not have to walk through the lobby in their slippers and robe, they just ride the elevator down and can enjoy our “divine” spa. Thank you for mentioning this as it might be very helpful for other travelers to read.

Please visit us during your next visit to Santa Fe, we would love to have you again.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    260
    100
    63
    28
See reviews for
171
385
43
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This should be a nice hotel. Its price and location would have you think that. Most employees are pleasant. Unfortunately, the room is definitely subpar. Why? Here's a sampler. Room 253 is directly above a noisy and noxious air handler (see photo). There are insufficient electrical outlets; one result is having to put the coffee pot on the fake fireplace (see photo). Inattention to detail includes a bathroom shelf that lists, allowing contents to fall (see photo). Part of the problems may be structural, about which nothing can be done. Part may be failing to live up to standards. All-in-all, not a bad place, but definitely not up to the standards that the price and location demand. We'll try someplace else next time.

Room Tip: Don't allow yourself to be assigned a room above the air-handling equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The best thing I can say about about this hotel is that it is quiet, and it is a block away from the Plaza.The lobby area doesn't get a lot of foot traffic and is very dull as compared to the bustling La Fonda. The rooms are smaller than a Holiday Inn. The only closet was in the bathroom, which was very old. If someone in the bathroom opened the closet door the bathroom entry was blocked. There is only one well-hidden ice machine on each floor and if your room is on the opposite side of the building it is a long hike to find it. There is no pool or fitness room, only a high priced Spa. It does have an business center. A daily "resort" and parking fee are extra add-ons to your bill. Parking is valet only. Staff is not better or worse than anywhere else. For the money, we expected a lot better.Tried it once, but won't go back. Average hotel at luxury prices.

Room Tip: Rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I greatly appreciate your feedback, but would like to clarify a few items that you mentioned above. Our hotel does in fact have a fitness room, it is open 24-hours a day and is located on the first floor. We also have an outdoor pool that is tempered at 80 degrees year-around and is located on the east end of our hotel. You are right about us offering valet parking for the convenience of our guests, but there is self-parking options in Santa Fe for guests who prefer to park themselves. I am very sorry that these items of concern were not communicated effectively to you. Please accept my apologies and contact me if desired.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a perfectly nice hotel for a business traveler. The service is efficient and the rooms are comfortable. At the end of the day though this is the standard high end hotel wrapped in adobe. There really is very little authentic about this building or experience. It is afterall surrounded by a somewhat hidden parking lot on three sides. Unfortunately this hotel is somewhat symptomatic of central Santa Fe which feels more like a Hollywood set then the western retreat for artists in the 1920s.

Room Tip: You may have to turn off the room fan in order to get a quiet nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

First, the hotel has a great location and everyone who works at the Loretto is friendly. The rooms are very dim and dull. The air conditioner short cycles so it turns off and on a lot making it difficult to sleep. The vent in the bathroom was very dusty and was in dire need of a good cleaning. I believe the rooms need a facelift and make them more light and appealing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I recently completed a three night stay at the Inn at Loretto. The location is perfect being right in the downtown of Santa Fe. There are many shops, restaurants, and bars within a few minutes walking distance. The rooms are comfortable, but nothing to rave about. What makes this such a great hotel is the staff. From the front desk people, the valets, and the people in Luminara, (their restaurant), everyone was exceptional. They were consistently friendly, helpful, and polite, These are the people that can really make your trip special, and they did a great job!

Room Tip: Our corner room had a nice big patio with tables and seating outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about the Inn and Spa at Loretto on TripAdvisor. This city truly is amazing and we are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Santa Fe. I appreciate your comment regarding our staff. Our priority is to provide our guests with the very best service before, during, and after their stay. I am thrilled we did so for you. Again, thank you!

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I and another couple booked two rooms using vouchers for the hotel. The hotel is beautiful; the rooms are spacious and I loved the decor--the deep reds do make the room a bit darker, but just throw the curtains open and the beautiful Santa Fe sun livens it up. The room and bathroom was very clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. There was a nice common bar area in the lobby, which made for a nice meeting-up place. The hotel is centrally located; it was very nice being able to walk to town and restaurants without having to get back into the car. The hotel itself therefore gets high marks. We were disappointed with the customer service, however. Their disorganization made checking-in a nightmare, and to top it off, the agents we dealt with (2 of them) were rude. Rather than apologizing to us for their mistakes, they were clearly annoyed that they had to deal with the administrative fall-out. One even lied to our friends in order to pawn off the problem on whoever we dealt with next. I understand that mistakes happen and reservations get lost; what loses them points was the way their agents handled the situation. Being rude to guests is simply not appropriate. On the plus side, their management does seem to have its act together; once we got them involved, everything got sorted (though it took a whole day) and we were treated much more kindly.
I waivered between giving them a 3 and a 4 star review. I'm hedging my bets toward believing that the two agents we dealt with were simply having bad days, and weighing more heavily the beautiful rooms, location, and attentive management. I hope the customer service improves; it is the single mar on an otherwise wonderful hotel, and I have to admit that it is the one reason why I might not book there for our future trips to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.