We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better places to stay in Santa Fe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Save Saved
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“One of the better places to stay in Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just back from two nights at the Inn at Loretto over Labor Day weekend. Stayed here on a special offer which included parking and a hotel credit which was a great deal. Here are my impressions:

PROS

- Hotel Restaurant - Luminere's was one of the highlight's of the trip. We had excellent service (with a bit of fun attitude) from a staff member named Melissa - she recommended some of the best dishes. She pushed us to order the Shrimp and Chorizo appetizer and she was right. (I have a feeling she tells the chef what to cook) Also the chicken dish with the crispy skin was one of the best I've ever had. Such a great experience. Highly recommended.

- Lounge Area - Really nice. We enjoyed cocktails here each night. I could have spent more time here and the bar staff was excellent here. They have food too - doing it again I'd like to have had a light dinner here.

- Staff - the staff was very good throughout the property - front desk to valets. Housekeeping also was good. This hotel does not do turndown service.

- Room Service - was very good, prompt and priced in line with most 4 star properties.

- Coffee Shop - there was a cool hole-in-the-wall coffee shop in the hotel. Enjoyed the coffee and muffins here.

- Location - Really close to everything you'd want to walk to in downtown Santa Fe.

CONS

- Rooms - the rooms are DARK and dreary. The architecture of Santa Fe is the same everywhere for the most part. Adobe architecture with small windows to block the blazing New Mexico sun. In this case the small windows let in minimal light and they painted the rooms a DEEP, DARK red color with dark furnishings and rugs. Really dreary. We asked to change rooms after the first one had really very minimal light. The first room felt like an inside cabin on a cruise ship. Watch out for inside corner rooms.

- Balconies - From what I can see ALL balconies are shared. So don't expect a private outdoor space in any room. It's just the architecture of the building and again most of Santa Fe is the same way so can't totally blame the hotel for this.

- Bathrooms - The guest bathrooms are also small and very basic. Not much of a luxury feel here.

- Gym - there is a TINY gym maybe 4 people max could fit in. Was a busy little room with minimal equipment.

- Elevators - the elevators are seriously not worth using. Extremely slow - If you can manage it just find a staircase - it will save you several minutes each time.

Overall looking around at other hotels in Santa Fe, the Inn and Spa at Loretto appears to definitely be one of the better places in the downtown area. I wish the guest rooms were brighter and decorated more like the hallways which were brighter. Despite this, I would still recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in the downtown Santa Fe area.

Room Tip: The internal corner rooms have NO natural light. Think inside cabin on a cruise ship.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    228
    90
    55
    24
See reviews for
156
355
41
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

With a huge exception for a very incompetent Concierge, who single-handedly messed up every plan she made for us, I will give the hotel high marks. The hotel itself was very well decorated, very clean and well maintained. All the staff was very friendly, though some staff training would be in order. Most of the staff was quite good, but some unnecessary slowness in the restaurant such as the maitre d checking to see if there was an outdoor table available for us, and then setting up a table with silverware and then having to come back to her station to get menus when there were already at least 6 other set tables already available seemed silly. However, this is the southwest and life is slower so the few minutes this took might not have been a big deal to people not from NY who are used to the ultimate efficiency for everything. We had breakfast there twice and dinner once and food was excellent - at least 4 star quality. Our room was beautiful and when i complained that the room they first put us in had a balcony overlooking a roof, they quickly moved us to one with a huge terrace with a better view. The pool was sufficient but nothing special. If you are looking to hang at a pool a good part of your trip, this may not be the hotel for you. The shops in the hotel had beautiful things, both clothing, artwork, jewelry, etc. though Sante Fe is known for its great shopping and you were not limited to the hotel. Within a few steps was the town of Sante Fe and all its shopping splendor. Don't look to Sante Fe for bargain prices on anything - good looking cowboy boots were priced $1800.00 to several thousand dollars. However, there was a lot of unusual and beautiful clothing, pocketbooks, jewelry, and artwork that you may not find easily elsewhere, except in places like Sante Fe, Sedona, Scottsdale, and others and they're all expensive too. Ranches with horseback riding, and other outdoor activities were a short drive away. i will again mention the utterly incompetent concierge who screwed up our plans by giving completely wrong information - i really wanted to go skeet shooting as that is not available in too many places but it was available at a nearby hotel and she called on a Saturday for us and said we can go any day from 1:30-3:30 but neglected to say it was not open on Sunday, which is of course the day we picked to go. Since she also made all day plans for us to be with a guide on Saturday, that might have registered as an important tidbit to tell us. She also recommended a very expensive guide for Saturday, who had absolutely no plan and drove us around in circles most of the day to places that were closed or of absolutely no interest (more shopping!) after we told him we were looking for an outdoorsy day of hiking, fishing, etc, and when you are in a city a short time, messing up two days is a big deal. So my recommendation is ask for Mary at the concierge desk as she's been there 20+ years and this would have never happened with her.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights over Labor Day weekend at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. The first room we were given was dark and small and worn, nothing like the photos on their website. We asked to see another room, which was larger and brighter, but still not as pretty as the photos. The location of the hotel is perfect, and Luminaria, their on-site restaurant was excellent, which is why we are giving the hotel a "very good" rating!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We get up to Santa Fe to stay overnight several times a year. This has become our favorite hotel. The location, service, convenience, etc. are all first-rate. The rooms are modest in size, but in good shape, and have the nice touches that one hopes for. The pool is small, but has a nice ambiance. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We are delighted that you have chosen to stay at the Inn and Spa at Loretto exclusively. Since you travel to Santa Fe often, please consider signing up for our Legacy Club, you’ll receive 20% off at Luminaria and The Spa at Loretto. We can’t wait for your return. Thank you for this wonderful review!

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a beautiful setting to easily see Santa Fe. It is a few blocks from the historic main square and next to the Loretto Chapel with the famous staircase. Our room was beautiful with a fireplace (that we used in August) and a wonderful balcony. The food and atmosphere in the outdoor garden setting was so relaxing and the food and wine list was wonderful in the main restaurant. The shops in the hotel area, plus the ones across the street, are inviting. PLUS... it is an easy walk to Canyon Road with all of the art galleries. We will stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace. Not all of them have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I would stay again at the inn and spa at loretto while in santa fe NM. We booked a regular room and where upgraded to a balcony room upon check in. great! Room was nice but as was previously mentioned bathroom counter space was limited at best. Beds were wonderful. slept great and very quiet. (best bed we had in the entire trip to NM actually).
Enjoyed a wonderful breakfast outside which also was a highlight for us on our trip. Staff at the inn was most helpful and very proffessional. Would recommend it to our friends and relatives......

Room Tip: balcony was great but was shared with others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for recommending the Inn and Spa at Loretto located in Santa Fe, New Mexico. We are very pleased that you thought our staff was helpful and professional. Thank you also for commenting on our “wonderful” beds and our restaurant, Luminaria. I greatly appreciate you and the time you took to write this review. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in early June to celebrate my father's birthday.

We booked through Virtuoso, which included a series of nice perks including free parking, breakfasts, and upgrade. This was a great value.

We liked the property - excellent location and easy walking to the plaza. Though not brand new, it was charming and comfortable. We were given very nice rooms considering the special occasion and found the beds to be top notch. My only complaint would be the ventilation system - the AC units are too noisy for this quality of a hotel. But then again, my wife and I realized that it can be more difficult to sleep when acclimating to the significant altitude.

The highlight of our trip was taking the Cumbres & Toltec scenic railrod from Chama to Osier and back. To meet the train, we had to leave before room service opened. Not a problem for the hotel - they were still able to deliver breakfast an hour before opening. Great service.

Also - brunch in Luminaria was excellent.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.