We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very nice and clean. Stayed for 3 nights. The only thing I would say was the airconditioning was very loud! It worked hard to keep the room comfy thoughout the day since it was so hot out. Overnight though, i did hear it go on and off constantly. I had read people mention it in other reviews- and thougt there was no way it would bother us- we just want a safe clean room- but, it did make our stay a bit more uncomfortable! We had a large corner room with a huge private balcony. Location was fabulous-

Room Tip: 7am church bells if you are on that side of the hotel- pretty sure you could hear them everywhere th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am incredibly sorry for the noise you experienced from the air conditioner while staying with us. I agree, these mechanical sounds must have been disturbing and aggravating. Admittedly, some rooms have heating/cooling units that are louder than others. We are investing more than $300,000 dollars over the next two years to fix this problem. I hope to convince you to return and experience the service and accommodations we are known for. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    243
    94
    59
    24
See reviews for
164
362
43
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ATX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family and friends decided to visit S Fe and had picked this place as the place to stay from Saturday evening to Friday morning.

Here are the pros:
Downtown and close to everything....
Room was an ok size for a family of four, I just would have liked more drawers for clothes and a bigger closet. I didn't care for the closet being in the RR....
Bed was comfy and place was clean and safe for sleeping.
Pool was nice...kids loved it...
Staff especially the valet parking was excellent..very helpful and informative in helping 1st timers in where to eat and go.
Bar area had a great happy hour and food choice and taste was excellent.

Cons:
Our AC was not working properly basically the whole time I was there. The 1st night it took till midnight for the room to cool down. The 2nd night it took till 3 am to cool down....the 3rd night the same and finally I said something to the clerk on the eve of our 4th night...but the maintenance had already left for the night.

I forgot to call the next day again and so dealt with another half hot night....we finally said something at a decent hour our final night and they tried to fix it. They could not and so moved us to another room...that AC worked fine.

Our friends had no problem with their AC and loved their room.
Other cons:

Limited drawer space and closet space for families of 4 who are staying longer than 2 days....
Their concierge was helpful but didn't keep her word and failed to book our friends and our dinner reservations.

Overall, though..for what we paid and what we got...I am happy with it and would bring my family and friends back.....just next time the AC is not up to par..I will speak up faster than I did on this trip and would definitely complain about how the concierge didn't keep her word.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great spot to "do" Santa Fe. Rooms are bit dark. Beds are comfortable. Can be noisy especially with neighbors who are loud. Ask for 3-4th floor away from Chapel if you want a quieter area. A/C noisy. Staff was particularly helpful, but check-in personnel were not as gracious as they should have been. I had booked two rooms for my family and only one of our rooms was given an upgrade. They made no effort to try and accommodate or change the other room (we were there for 7 days). Bar staff, and valets were very friendly and attentive. Pool was fine for our needs with 6 year old. Over priced rooms and resent paying $18 parking fee every day - rip off.
Food at Luminaria was excellent.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here on a short trip to Santa Fe. The location is amazing, it is very close to the town center. We parked our car, and didn't drive it the whole time we were in Santa Fe--we were so close to everywhere we wanted to go. Even if your room doesn't have a balcony, there are many shared balconies with patio furniture throughout the hotel that you can sit on and enjoy the stars! The staff was very helpful, from the many recommendations we received to the easy check in. I recommend booking through the hotel's website, as they had some great special deals going on when we visited. The beds were very comfortable, and the room was very nice! I highly recommend it! There is a nice little pool, and there is a waitress out there to take drink and food orders. The one downside to the pool is that there aren't many umbrellas or shade.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Inn and Spa at Loretto located in Santa Fe, New Mexico and were able to walk almost everywhere you visited. Being located in the heart of Santa Fe is truly a blessing. I also love the fact that you emphasized how beautiful our starry nights are. The balconies are a great place to stargaze and so is our beautiful garden located near the pool. I greatly appreciate your input, it is always rewarding to hear the specifics of a guest’s experience and is very helpful for other travelers to read. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were six adults from New York who stayed for three days. This is a lovely hotel on almost all accounts - feels and is exclusive. Rooms were attractive, beds comfortable, lobby and shops beautiful, nice bar area and music on Saturday night. Pool is fine, not huge but adequate. Location is terrific, just a few blocks to the main plaza. You pay more to stay at this hotel, but you get value for your money. Only complaint was concierge services which could have been better in recommending restaurants and things to do in the area. We did not eat at the hotel because the prices were really high. Cannot comment on the spa either as we didn't use it. Found a great place for breakfast and light lunch right across the street when you exit the hotel. We ate breakfast there every morning outside under the umbrellas. Highly recommend this little place for breakfast - good food, portions, ambiance and service.

Room Tip: There is not much of a view from the rooms. Suggest higher floor with view towards the street so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Inn and Spa at Loretto located in Santa Fe, New Mexico. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our rooms, beds, lobby, and shops. We also love the fact that you enjoyed the Living Room and Matthew Andrae’s performance during the weekend, he is great. With that said, I apologize for the lack of information the concierge service seemed to have during your stay. Your comments are valued and assist us in our continued training efforts.

Additionally, since you did not get to enjoy Luminaria or the Spa at Loretto please consider our Legacy Club membership during your next stay. Once you sign up you will receive a 20% discount on food in any outlet, including Luminaria, and at the Spa at Loretto.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very nice hotel in the heart of Santa Fe. Staff was very helpful and rooms good size. Would definitely recommend this hotel and was even better priced for us because of a Living Social voucher.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Decided to spend 2 nights in Santa Fe on a recent trip back to my homeland. I rarely visit Santa Fe ( I don't know of many natives that do anymore) but thought it would be nice to spend a couple of romantic nights with my husband in Santa Fe. The hotel is lovely. The location was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was pleasant. Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;