We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Romantic in You” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Save Saved
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“For the Romantic in You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My travel partner was adorably curled up near the headboard of the enticingly elegant and comfortable expanse that passes for a bed at the Inn and Spa at Loretto in Santa Fe. Her legs folded under her, the pillows strewn all about, she was draped in one of the lush robes The Inn provides its guests, and casually turning the pages of the city’s “Pasatiempo,” a weekly of high regard that covers the broad array of art, books, culture, concerts, events, and openings.

We were in town for an indie premier produced and directed by one of my friends.

I was just out of the shower, and like her, in a robe, toweling my hair dry while flipping through the channels of the large LCD in a niche on the wall above the fireplace. The Inn had put us in one of their stylish Junior Suites, which “suited” us fine, with a plenty of room, two sinks in the bath, and two comfortable leather chairs placed in alignment with the TV, just above the stylishly faux fireplace. (Switch off the room lights, and set a match to the “candles” in the fireplace to enhance the romantic mood.)

I crossed the room, the thick colorful carpet underfoot. Pushing the drapes away from the patio doors, I saw the afternoon sun was bathing our personal patio in light an artist could admire. I stepped out, and felt it’s warmth on my face, a very slight March breeze freshening things up.

I called back into the room suggesting that we had time for a glass of wine on the patio before we head out. Thinking that it might be too cold for that, she countered with a recommendation of champagne in the room. I knew that would keep us in our luxurious suite long enough to prevent us making the premier.

When I returned to the room she was cuddling one of The Inn’s plush toy black bears and asked if she and the bear were going to get fed.

I told her that I had made reservations at Luminaria, the warm, friendly restaurant in the hotel with a great menu. That made her happy enough to ask for the champagne again.

We never made it to the premier.

The Inn and Spa at Loretto: for the romantic in everyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    242
    93
    58
    24
See reviews for
164
359
43
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is a nice hotel located right in the center of Santa Fe, only about a block from the Plaza. I think the building is older but the rooms appear to have been updated in recent years - they're comfortable and nicely decorated. The walls are thin so I did hear a lot of noise from the hallway and neighboring rooms, so bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper. Bathrooms are a bit small and don't really have counter space but are fine for a short stay.

The staff here was very friendly but not overly attentive. The bar area & fireplace is is a great, cozy spot to sit for a drink but our service on a Saturday night was not too great - I think there was one waitress for the entire bar area. One other complaint is about late checkout. The staff was nice enough to allow one for me, but apparently their room keys are set to lock you out at the normal checkout time, so we got locked out and had to get another key.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the Inn and Spa at Loretto, we really appreciated the time and consideration you put into this review. Also, thank you for highlighting the Living Room and the comfort it conveys while dining there. With that said, I am incredibly sorry for the few issues you encountered while staying with us, please contact me so I can apologize to you.

I hope you choose to stay at the Inn again during your next visit to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

Very nice people working there.
Be sure to check out the Loretta Chapel & the miraculous stairs. Junior Suite was great size. TOlietries stink- terrible!!!

Luminaria- great service ask for Jay!
Food was good not fab!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

The Inn has a prime location near the plaza and close to everything but that's all they have to offer. The front desk service ranged from just unpleasant to down right rude; truly customer service is not important at this property.

The guest rooms are very small and while fairly recently renovated, they just feel old and outdated. The restaurant is fairly expensive and the food is just average. After one meal at the hotel, we decided to have all other meals off property.

The one positive about the hotel was the comfortable bed and high quality bed/bath linens.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by the HR Coordinator that works there at the hotel. The atmosphere was excellent, service was great. Highly recommend!!!!
Room was nice and bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Charming place located in the heart of town. Nice feel to the whole place. Lobby and fireplace were very inviting from winter's chill.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

+ decor was exquisite in my room and in public areas; unique architecture; restaurant was lovely and inexpensive in comparison with other local places.;good music and happy hour in the expansive lobby;Santa Fe has a small airport to fly into; my room had a huge outdoor sunny terrace; room had a bathtub plus shower. very close to Plaza and Canyon road, Mission, and Caathedral; free shuttle all around Santa Fe;

Room Tip: king room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We take pride in our architecture and décor, in fact the Inn and Spa at Loretto is the most photographed building in Santa Fe! Also, thank you for mentioning Luminaria in comparison to other local restaurants and our happy hour menu. We really appreciate your time and kindness and will forward this review to our team. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.