We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn at Loretto,Santa Fe, New Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Save Saved
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Inn at Loretto,Santa Fe, New Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Having travelled to Santa many times in the past with my friend and family, this time we stayed at the Inn and were treated like royalty - from the valet through the concierge getting us to wonderful restaurants. Our suite was well-appointed, the fireplace was used almost constantly and the wood bin was never empty. This is the first time I have taken time to write a review of any place and appreciate the opportunity to award five stars from a personal viewpoint.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    217
    88
    55
    24
See reviews for
147
348
39
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian, Alaska
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stay at this hotel every January for a meeting. January is a very quiet month is Santa Fe and the hotel seemed fairly empty. So it is surprising to hear the stories from others in our group about their rooms -- for example the couple with five chlldren who were given two rooms down different hallways. My husband and I -- having stayed here four times -- asked for a room in a specific location. This was not the room we were assigned at check in. HOWEVER, the front desk was accommodating in looking for the room we wanted, which we did get. The reservations desk people need to pay more attention. That said, the public spaces in this hotel are lovely, as are many of the rooms. The staff is friendly and polite. We look forward to the many dining options in Santa Fe, so we don't usually eat in the hotel restaurant, Luminaria. However, we had dinner here one night and it was excellent.

Room Tip: Good luck with that. The reservations people should be fired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of visiting Santa Fe. We decided we wanted the works, spa, food and a beautiful place to stay. We were not let down. We were going to go to Luminari restaurant the first evening inside the hotel. The food was 5 star. The duck, the short ribs, elk, Chilian sea bass, we tried it all, it was great. The following morning we did breakfast there, I got an oatmeal pumpkin creme brulee. My wife tried one of the southwest buritto, she loved it. The spa was like no other we had gone to. The dessert sage scrub and massage is a real treat. First a scrub, then a shower and finally a massage, I would go back just for that. The staff was all dressed very proffesional, clean, pressed, polite, a rarity. Keep it up, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Recently my wife and I had the pleasure of enjoying Santa Fe for a couple of weeks while staying at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We were personally and warmly welcomed by Stefan Huber, General Manager, who has put together a really excellent staff. Clint Cross, Director of Guest Services, is well titled. He provided numerous accommodations, suggestions, directions and assistance, large and small, to enhance our exploration and pleasure of the "City Different". Spa Coordinator Kelley Callan kindly worked us in to the busy spa massage schedule several times on short notice (great results!) The restaurant was a pleasure of service and excellent food. The valets were courteous and prompt, even to appearing instantly any time we requested a fire in our fireplace. Every single employee greeted us or inquired if they could be of assistance virtually every time we saw each one. We have stayed at the Inn during previous ownership, and it was always very nice; but the current owners and operators have made it into something really special. If you want to enhance your next trip to Santa Fe with a special treat . . . indulge yourself at the Inn and Spa at Loretto.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you from the entire staff for this review and your most gracious comments. Our priority is to provide our guests with the very best in service before, during, and after their stay at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are incredibly delighted to hear that you and your wife had such an amazing experience at our hotel. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We spent 4 fabulous days in Santa Fe at this hotel. The staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The down blankets were great! The fireplace was a crowning touch and was stocked with wood, fire starters, and matches. Loved it! Special mention to Erik Berntsen, Clint (who found a fantastic gift box for me at the last minute), and Ben.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We are on a 3 week road trip and are staying in 15 hotels, this hotel is near the end and one we were particually looking forward to.
Last night we had the worst nights sleep of any hotel stay in my life, and I have stayed in many, many, many hotels! We were put in a room near the end of the corridor on the 4th floor. We were near the corridor heating and ice machine and in a room with an adjoining door.
We returned from a nice meal to our room at 10pm, and tried to sleep. The pipes were ticking, the ice machine was whirring, and the corridor heating kept kicking in with a loud whooshing sound. To top it off the people in the adjoining room turned their TV on and we could hear every word.
I was so excited about staying at this hotel, that we tried to ignore it and sleep through it, but it was impossible. At 1am still awake (with all the noises and TV still on next door), we called reception, they offered to move our room, but we would have to pack up and move our stuff then. We decided again to try and sleep through it. At 4am still awake with the corridor heating system still whoosing, next doors TV still going and the pipes still banging. We had had enough, we asked to move rooms and fetch our stuff the next morning, they let us, but with a bit of an arguement - the hotel was very empty on a Sunday night in off season, so we didnt really see the problem. The next room is better, but our stay is already ruined and our sightseeing ruined also as we are so tired.
I really couldnt recommend this hotel, just in case you end up in the wrong room like us. I believe I am quite fair in my reviews, but this hotel was a massive disappointment. It is a shame as the rooms are very pretty.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. My team and I take guest reviews very seriously and pride in the facility and services we provide. Consequently, the Inn has attained many great service awards with Condé Nast and AAA, to name a few.

I am so sorry that you encountered these noise issues on your first night and terribly regret you could not get any sleep until you moved to a different room, which must have been awfully inconvenient. I agree that these mechanical noises were disconcerting and apologize for these most unfortunate circumstances. Please be assured that our engineering team will immediately look into these noises to remedy them so that future guests will not encounter these conditions.

When you have a moment, please call me so I may apologize in person.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Inn at Loretto is in the best location in town. Easy access to great restaurants, cultural venues, the Loretto Chapel, etc. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are nice and clean. The facility is a bit dated, and the fireplaces advertised for the more expensive rooms are just for show. They have been sealed a while ago, so they are not usable. Bathrooms are small and in our room the closet was inside the bathroom (!) The restaurant in the hotel (Luminaria) is not really that great. I saw great reviews before going, but there are MUCH better restaurants in town at more convenient prices. More attention to detail would be great, for example picking up items from room service that were left outside rooms on our floor for 2-3 days. I'm rating it very good, because we got the room at a discount (otherwise it would be average) so can't complain about the value, but would definitely not pay full price to stay here. Would probably go back if we found another great deal for a room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.