We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn at Loretto - great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Inn at Loretto - great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Inn at Loretto is in the best location in town. Easy access to great restaurants, cultural venues, the Loretto Chapel, etc. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are nice and clean. The facility is a bit dated, and the fireplaces advertised for the more expensive rooms are just for show. They have been sealed a while ago, so they are not usable. Bathrooms are small and in our room the closet was inside the bathroom (!) The restaurant in the hotel (Luminaria) is not really that great. I saw great reviews before going, but there are MUCH better restaurants in town at more convenient prices. More attention to detail would be great, for example picking up items from room service that were left outside rooms on our floor for 2-3 days. I'm rating it very good, because we got the room at a discount (otherwise it would be average) so can't complain about the value, but would definitely not pay full price to stay here. Would probably go back if we found another great deal for a room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheTravelerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel every year at Christmas time for the past 20 years. We keep coming back because of its convenient location to the plaza. We also love the beautiful lobby with its incredible artistry and huge inviting fireplace. Its a perfect room to sit in after a long day of gallery hopping and shopping. Recently the hotel redid its color pallete using dark black and red in the upstairs rooms--I'm still not sure I like it. The restaurant, however, is beautiful with a terrific breakfast; although, the dinner menu is not as good. The Inn at Loretto is especially wonderful at Christmas time--a storybook fantasy with its many rooftop luminaries glowing in the snowy night air.

Room Tip: corner suites are lovely. The rooms have balconies, but its far too cold to go out on them at Christ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3cward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The hotel and its staff made our trip a memorable experience. The room was great - nicely appointed and conveniently located to the Plaza and eating establishments. The hotel staff was very helpful and courteous from the time we arrived until our departure, they made us feel like we were part of their family and made sure that our expectations and comforts were taken care of. We'll definitely return!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RLWyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for the kind compliments regarding our staff at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We strive to provide a unique experience for all our guests and it brings us great pride that we accomplished this for you. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific palisades, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stay here every year near Christmas and the double rooms are a bit cramped for a family of four unless you get one of the larger corner rooms. But even the smaller rooms are tastefully appointed in a New Mexican theme with a big easy chair and a small table and the beds have always been comfortable. The walls are nice and thick and we've never had a problem with noise in the rooms.
Service was particularly good this year. The concierge noticed we were coming in on Christmas day and went out of her way to call us and make sure we thought about where to eat since many restaurants are closed that day. We chose the on-site restaurant and were treated to a free glass of champagne and had very nice meal with excellent service. Service in the living room for drinks was extremely good Room service was prompt. Kudos to the staff.
The location, of course, cannot be beat and we always feel very welcomed when we come back to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bearwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The service was great and you can’t beat the location right in the heart of Santa Fe.
The room was very clean and comfortable, although the bathroom was a bit out of date and needed some renovations, also the A/C was noisy but you can’t have it all can you :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lestate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

While the hotel is certainly beautiful and one of the most convenient locations in the area, the service at the Loretto is really what sets it apart from many of the hotels in the area.

As I pulled up in the drive, I learned that they only have valet parking, which is not my preference, but I went along, and the valet person I first encountered was extremely gracious, and he told me that I shouldn't hesitate to request the car as often as I needed. I arrived at the hotel prior to check-in time, so my room was not yet available, but the desk staff offered to call me on my cellphone when the room was ready. The room itself was uniquely beautiful. The only downside was that it was unusually dark, primarily due to the dark paint on the walls, and the available lighting was limited. The bathroom was large and included a double sink.

Because the hotel is located within walking distance of most of the main tourist attractions, there was very little need for use of the car. However, when I did need the car, I was always impressed that the valet seemed to know who I was whenever I left or returned. In addition, the front desk staff was always ready to answer any questions or give directions, and always did so cheerfully.

I had a wonderful time in Santa Fe (again!), and I wholeheartedly recommend the Loretto.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdbhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Located right downtown is great for walking access to the plaza. Arriving by car is quick and easy. Vallet there to handle the car at $18.00/day. Room we booked was $189.00 a night but they also add $14.00 a night for ammenities such as WiFi and tip for valet. See above. Service in there "living room" (lounge/bar) was poor at best. Food quality was pretty good but limited selection. Cost was grossly over priced. We never tried the spa but pricing looked to be on par with other high end places we have tried. Certainly a unique place but over all very expensive for the return.

Room Tip: It looked to me that the 4th floor rooms in the back had no balcony. Be sure to ask if you are booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,616 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,449 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing