We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small bathroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Save Saved
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small bathroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Inn is beautiful, the staff very friendly and helpful and, yes, the location is unmatched. We were disappointed, however, with our room. It was smaller than expected and the bathroom was very small. There was a double sink, but no counterspace. Just some small glass shelves on the wall. We kept the blow dryer on the floor of the bathroom. The tiny closet was inside the bathroom, behind the door across from the sinks. That caused many traffic jams. Comfortable bed, nice view from the balcony, and the Luminaria was divine. Wish we would have had a kiva in the room but the oil candles in the fireplace gave some atmosphere. Hope we weren't given a smaller room due to the fact that we used a travel site to book a better rate. However, breakfast was included and the Luminaria again was absolutely excellent. All the staff was very, very friendly and accomodating. We had gotten used to alcoholic smoothies on our recent trip to Hawaii. The bartender was very rude when we innocently asked if they made smoothies to drink by the pool. His response was, "This is a bar, what do you think?" I "think", we paid about the same for a room with a partial view of the ocean at a 5-star hotel on Maui. But the bartender at the tiki bar didn't give me a smart remark when I asked for a Coors Light. Not sure if we'll stay here again, but we will definitely eat at the Luminaria and sit by it's big fireplace on the patio for after-dinner drinks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
I want to thank you personally for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you enjoyed Luminaria, but offer my sincerest apologies to you and your guests for receiving less than perfect service at the bar. This issue has been addressed with our entire team. In addition, I can assure that you did not receive a smaller room due to booking through a travel site. Thank you again for your time, I greatly appreciate it.

Sincerely,
Stefan Huber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    232
    91
    56
    24
See reviews for
159
357
41
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We have been planning to visit Santa Fe for many years and the opportunity came up over the labor day weekend. We looked at close to the center of town hotels and decided to stay at the Inn at Loretto based on its location ( the chapel and its staircase being a prime reason for wanting to visit.

We could not have made a better choice. From the start we felt welcomed by the staff, especially he front desk who went out of their way to help when we requested a little brighter room. The room we eventually stayed in was perfect and the location was superb. breakfast was excellent.

What can i say, if we ever come back, this is where we will stay again.

Room Tip: We had reserved a King, but the availability of better rooms is greater if you do two doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Marketing Coordinator at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
I am so happy you selected The Inn and Spa at Loretto for your stay during Labor Day weekend. We take pride in our hotel and make sure our guests have a great experience. I’m also very happy that you came to see the beautiful Loretto Chapel. I hope you had a chance to learn all you can about the history. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed one night and loved this place. Expensive but worth a treat. Beautiful lounge and great location.

Room Tip: get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt, Texas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Can you say tourist trap? This is it. A dark gloomy mildewy room for over $400 a night. As a frequent leisure traveller and one who enjoys Santa Fe and had heard and read good reviews I decided to book two rooms for myself and foreign visitors. I should have seen a warning flag when it took over one hour to book a room, first over the Internet and then over the phone. I was shuffled back and forth from the front desk to the reservation agent in Phoenix who knew nothing about the hotel. I wanted two rooms with baconies so I opted for the superior room with balcony at about a $35 a night up charge. When I ask the front desk if the rooms would face the chapel, cathedral or mountains I was told that not all their superior rooms had
balconies. I found this strange as the website had beautiful descriptions of the
Balconied superior rooms. The front desk lady with a slight attitude changed
Her tune when she saw for herself the ad! I requested a view but please not
Of a parking lot. Well you guessed it balcony over looking tour bus parking lot
And in fact they have no balconies which are free of parking lots views. We wanted
Massages in The Spa, well maybe in a day or two, also same for pedicure, yet they had
No one waiting, they simply call around local independent operators to man the
Spa! Shops in the lobby although many, were sporadically opened. Signs saying
Open at ten, or eleven never seemed to open. There was one excellent part to the hotel. The bellmen were wonderful, they were honest in the appraisals of sites and restaurants. The time we did not use our bell mans advice, the restaurant we chose was way, way too proud of itself thinking they were in NYC! The restaurant the young bellman did suggest, for a light meal was superb, La Boca, a tapas place. Pay less elsewhere and spend the extra shopping some excellent and exotic locals. Our group felt gouged and unsatisfied.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Marketing Coordinator at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear about the problems you encountered and sincerely apologize for your less than exceptional stay. Please email our Director of Sales and Marketing, Dana Ortega, at dortega@destinationhotels.com, she would like to talk to you directly. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

It is pointless repeating all of the accurate and positive previous reviews .Just a couple of minor criticisms .Firstly my room was very dark even without all of the lights on.Secondly the wardrobe space is inadequate with a tiny cupboard squeezed in to the bathroom.
However as i say these are minor comments-overall a very positive experience

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

I LOVE this hotel and will keep coming back! The staff is friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable. I felt very comfortable at all times. Love that it's walking distance to all shopping and fine restaurants. The cocktail bar area is comfy and cozy and love all the live music!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Marketing Coordinator at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for staying at The Inn and Spa at Loretto. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed it here and liked The Living Room Bar. We take pleasure in the fact that you consider our staff to be friendly, happy and knowledgeable. Thank you. With that said, you mentioned you will return; please consider one of our packages. Can I suggest our Warm up for Winter package? This package is designed to warm the body and the soul with passes to The Loretto Chapel, a CD titled Songs in the Key of Warm by Matthew Andrae, and many more. Thanks again, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

We stayed two nights and found all to be wonderful and best priced we have stayed in near plaza

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.