We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loretto over La Fonda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loretto over La Fonda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We've stayed at both hotels recently and we bother liked the Loretto better. The major differences we saw ere less small children, more comfortable beds and you can't here any door slamming at the Loretto like you can at La Fonda. We love the bar at the Loretto too. That's an everyday resting spot for us, before dinner. We also bought very nice, quality jewelry from the shop at the entrance to the hotel. We looked at lots of shops on the square and along Canyon Road but found what we wanted from the shop in the hotel. Their inventory is huge! The woman running the shop told us the items were virtually all made by her family. She had detailed information about all of the pieces we considered. We're Loretto customers from now on.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    293
    115
    67
    31
See reviews for
189
433
50
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

This hotel totally exceeded all expectations. From the moment we arrived, the staff greeted us by name and took care of everything! Our room was over the top luxury! The bed was very comfortable, the room was exceptionally clean and the view...amazing. The french doors opened to a wonderful patio overlooking the church. The night view of the stained glass was breathtaking. Our first dinner was at Luminaria. Wow. Upon recommendation from staff, we ordered the chorizo shrimp appetizer. I'm still trying to recreate that at home! The sea bass with orange blossoms was like nothing I have ever had. Delicioso! Bartender was great. We had martinis and spicy margaritas. This is on our top 10! We will be back!

Room Tip: Request a room by the church. Pretty view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Upon driving into this hotel, my husband and I thought this hotel was beautiful and perfectly located, so close to the Plaza. We were greated by Charyce at check-in and we were treated like frequent guests...she was so happy to see us and very welcoming. Our room was perfect with a balcony overlooking the plaza and the bed was super comfortable. The first night my husband discovered Sergio in the bar who made him a serrano margarita made with pepper infused tequila that insured my husband would be a regular customer the rest of our trip. He said he would go back to the hotel just for that drink but loved everything about it too. We enjoyed the pool, the lovely grounds with all the art and all the friendly people at Loretto. Our last night we had a fantastic evening at Lumanaria on the patio. Something about those bells going off at the nearby church and the romantic ambience of the patio lighting added a special spark to our meal. We shared a 16 ounce steak and had their signature tortilla soup (delish!) which was a much better meal than the one we had at an expensive restaurant on Canyon Road which I will not name. The Inn and Spa at Loretto is befittng as a five star hotel in Santa Fe. We are already thinking of scheduling our anniversary. We found romance, hospitality, great food and drink and a perfect setting all in one!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnandSpaatLoretto, Director of Sales at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. I look forward to sharing them with the entire team. We strive to make memorable experiences for our guests and it's great to know we succeeded. Please let us know when you want to return for your anniversary. We promise to make it the best ever!

Dana Ortega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed here on May 7th and had booked it through SniqueAway. What a great little Inn. The famed church with the stairway without supports is actually attached to the Inn. The grounds are great and the hotel itself is very nice. We stayed in a deluxe King room that had a shared balcony. Other reviews said they didn't like the colorful walls, but where the heck are you? New Mexico is famous for the southwest decor. The room had a very comfortable bed, nice plasma TV, in room convenience bar and a fireplace. Very nice. The staff was also great. They had a pleasant attitude and were VERY helpful in picking local restaurants. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at the Loretto Inn and had a wonderful time. The location was perfect. We could walk to the town square and restaurants. The staff was helpful,courteous and could not do enough to oblige us. The lounge area was great for drinks and music and we enjoyed the pool.Our room -a junior suite- was spacious and tastefully decorated in a Southwestern motif. We had dinner in the Luminara restaurant by the fire and the food was excellent. We loved it and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I visited this hotel with a group of professional women for a retreat. The location was ideal for us to explore the shops and galleries in small groups. The outdoor dining room for breakfast was perfect and lovely. My favorite aspect of the hotel was the pool and garden, though. It was a perfect place to relax and read in the heart of the city. I found our room to be exceedingly dark, so I just aimed to spend as little time in the room as possible and the beautiful public spaces made that easy.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

we booked here on a Living Social deal. It was about half price. That is a good description of what we got. The Inn is near downtown and an easy walk to all the wonderful downtown museums, shops and restaurants. We had a room with a balcony -- the inside of the room was not large, but adequate. The bathroom was cozy but the shower was fine. The balcony overlooked the air conditioners. the fireplace had lovely little candle holders with tealights inside, which appeared to be $1.50 each, should you decide to burn one for ambiance. (no thanks, not at that price! we had a car. we stopped at trader joe's and got some battery-operated tealights and had "candles" everywhere all night long and took them home with us afterward.

The biggest surprise was that the pool was closed for renovation, so no pool. But that's life. And there's no hot tub outside at all. i guess we got what we paid for.

The price of the massages caught me by surprise, too. perhaps i'm just used to a better deal at the spa i usually frequent at home (in missouri) -- the price here was about twice what i pay and the facility, while clean and adequate, wasn't nearly as nice as my home place. decided to save our money until we got home.

So, as I said, we got what we paid for. Half price. about half the amenities. a decent room, in a good location. but that's about it. (i marked free parking, but it was included in our L.S. deal -- probably not always free to others.)

except the cocktails in the bar were fantastic, especially at happy hour prices. We got WAY MORE than we paid for there!!!

Room Tip: the bar happy hour is the best deal at the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Loretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.