We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, run down and expensive” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Marcy Hotel Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fort Marcy Hotel Suites to your Saves list
Fort Marcy Hotel Suites
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   321 Kearney Road, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Escazu, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Dirty, run down and expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Marcy Suites and totally disliked it. It smelled bad. The management did not want to fix anything and warned us that they don't give refunds. This is always a huge red flag. Don't waste your money, find an alternative.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortMarcyHotelSuites, General Manager at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Sir, as a knowledgeable Senior Contributor to Trip Advisor I find your review quite disturbing. “Dirty, and run down” is not a phrase I have heard in my past 2 ½ years, while here at Fort Marcy. As the General Manager here, I am not aware of a guest complaint that meets your description. As the Manager our policy here is to not rent a room that does not meet our strict standards of readiness. As you have read from countless other reviewers each unit is individually owned and these owners expect us to maintain their units for them to exacting standards, which is why you review puzzles me. I assure you as the management we do want things fixed in a timely manner to ensure our guest have a memorable time while here on vacation in beautiful Santa Fe. I apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced and hoped you would have contacted me (The Management) for a resolution. I look forward to assisting you further on your next trip to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    129
    40
    25
    19
See reviews for
145
141
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

What an amazing find within a short walk to downtown Santa Fe! Two condos were a wonderful alternative for meeting up with and spending time with lifelong friends. Simple hotels only permit you to hang out in the lobby/bar or sit perched on the end of someone's bed.

Instead, we had two-bedroom, two-bath premium units for seven people. Flat screen TVs were everywhere; the kitchen was fully equipped and we had a comfortable living room for relaxing and entertaining. We didn't do much cooking (Santa Fe has some fabulous restaurants) but we had breakfast there, the odd lunch and evening aperitifs.

The architecture and lovely decor were all Southwestern style. You knew you were in New Mexico even while indoors. Our unit (#20) had a beautiful view of the mountains from its front porch. Our other friends were catty-corner to us in an equally attractive condo.

The staff was friendly, customer-oriented and helpful --- from the point of reservations (thank you, Natalie) to departure (thank you, Nathan). Congratulations to Mr. Bayardo for a well-run facility! We will return to Santa Fe and we will stay here again.

Pat L

Room Tip: Book a premier condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortMarcyHotelSuites, General Manager at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I hate to sound like a broken record but Thank You for your positive response. I also am great full that you pointed our the job being done by our team here at Fort Marcy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

we loved staying here. the location is about 4 blocks from the plaza . it is in walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go. the first 2 blocks you walk slightly down hill. it was raining our first night, which made it seem a bit slippery. we were in a one bedroom . there are just 2 of us and it was so much larger than a regular hotel room. there was a nice furnished kitchen, a living room with dining room. a bedroom, of course and a nice size bathroom.

we always go to the coyote café on the upstairs patio. it is even open in winter. great margaritas and fish tacos. we went to santacafe and ate in the patio. it was raining but they had large umbrellas. the filet was to die for as was our calamari appetizer. the table next to us ordered some scrumptious looking desserts. the wine list is quite pricey. we also had dinner at el meson.
we sat at a table in the bar and lots of wonderful tapas and some really good Spanish wines. some people came in looking for Mexican food, not the same at all. there was a flamenco guitarist playing while we were there. I recommend oyster mushrooms on the tapas menu. the best ever. we tried to duplicate at home......no way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The initial check in experience was great. Natalie at the front desk was pleasant and gave us great recommendations for places to eat. She is a gem. The condo we are in is nicely appointed with decor from the Southwest. The first night we stayed here was fine. Very quiet. Tonight we returned at 11 pm after seeing the opera. I walked into the bedroom and there are a thousand black ants in the room! On the floor, on the walls, on the ceiling! I stepped on the throw rug and another thousand come screaming out from under the rug. I called the after hours emergency number to get maintenance in here with a can of bug spray but was informed the office was closed. "Yes, that is why I called the emergency number." She responds "I can get someone from maintenance tomorrow at eight." Me: "You can't send anyone with bug spray now?" Her: "no." Me: "So basically you are telling me that if there is an after hours emergency, all you can do is tell the caller there is nothing you can do?" Her; "yep." I politely ended this conversation and am sleeping on the couch. Won't go near that room. hoping tomorrow the ants are not infesting my clothes. better wash them before heading home. no washer in the room, will bag everything and find a laundromat. Will not stay here again or recommend to my friends. What a shame, things started out so well!

Room Tip: Stay away or bring your own bug spray!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortMarcyHotelSuites, General Manager at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We clearly dropped the ball on this one. Our after hour emergency number is for exactly these types of emergency’s. I am happy to hear we did provide you a gift certificate for a future stay on us as you should not have had to experience this type of a problem on your vacation. I know we had someone out this next morning but as you mentioned, and I agree this is just not good enough. We have had a lot of much needed moisture this summer which may be the catalyst for this situation. We scheduled a professional to spray the facility once we heard of your experience. Thank you for letting us know about your stay so we can take care of these issues for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a number of units booked for our daughter' wedding and all were perfect for our needs. Spacious, well-supplied kitchens, decent furnishings, and each one unique. These are individually-owned units managed by an on-site hotelier. Not all units on property are part of the hotel-suites. But, each unit has it's own unique decor (don't get that cookie-cutter hotel vibe) and some have great views, too. There is an indoor pool, and ample parking. The property style is older (well, age is relative considering it's Santa Fe), but absolutely everything we encountered was well-maintained, clean and fresh. The management and staff were friendly and truly awesome -- quite helpful with our many requests and needs. The advantage for us was space and convenience to the Plaza area and the other SF destinations. Our immediate family was happy to have a 3 bedroom unit with enough room for parents, siblings and good entertaining space; the bridesmaids were thrilled to all be together in one large 3 bedroom unit with lots of room to hang out room and plenty of bathrooms; Grandma appreciated having her own unit near everyone; and a couple other two-bedroom units rounded out our group -- giving everyone what they needed to be together but not on top of each other. When we return to Santa Fe, I have no doubt this is our new home-away-from-home! If you want a comfortable, home-like space with lots of room in a convenient locale, this is the place.

Room Tip: Book a superior unit if you want one that's been more-recently updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This place was great, a real home away from home, there were 5 of us staying and we had a three bedroom condo. The lounge was big where we could just chill out and watch TV. You can walk into the plaza from here. For the price it's amazing. Free parking. Friendly staff and a quiet area. Free wi-fi

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortMarcyHotelSuites, General Manager at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
"a real home away from home" I think I love this comment the best. As travelers hotels can get old, but your very own vacation condo is a breath of fresh air. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff as they really are the backbone to our success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had three bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, dining room, way comfy living room, open concept, kiva fireplace, tons of closet space, tv in every bedroom + living room, furnished kitchen, minutes from the Plaza, hot tub, indoor pool, laundry in condo, easy & close parking, felt very safe, QUIET and private... there was nothing to complain about !!! and it was even better than we had hoped. Will definitely stay here again. Great value in Santa Fe so close to the Plaza. Nice views.

Room Tip: one room with queen bed; 2 rooms with two twin beds; if you want a specific configuration you must s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Marcy Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Marcy Hotel Suites

Address: 321 Kearney Road, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Marcy Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Perched atop a hill near the site of the original Fort Marcy from which the property took its name, the modern Fort Marcy provides guests with panoramic views of Santa Fe, the outlying deserts, and the distant Sangre de Cristo Mountains.

Fort Marcy's 1-, 2-, and 3-bedroom suites are spread throughout twelve different adobe buildings which sit on nine acres of natural and landscaped desert grounds. Stroll through meandering paths among shade trees, blooming cactus, and manicured gardens. Or return to your suite's fully furnished kitchen, separate living area, authentic kiva fireplace, or private balcony to enjoy the desert air or a famous Southwest sunset.

Of course, Santa Fe's historic downtown lies just blocks away - home to the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, the Cathedral Basilica of St. Francis of Assisi, the Mercado, Galleria, and Sena Plazas, the San Miguel Mission, and an endless number of shopping, dining, and entertainment options. For the Santa Fe getaway that's the ideal blend of luxury, convenience, and beauty, Fort Marcy may just be vacation perfection.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fort Marcy Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Marcy Hotel Santa Fe
Fort Marcy Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.