We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could have been a five star review but.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Marcy Hotel Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fort Marcy Hotel Suites to your Saves list
Fort Marcy Hotel Suites
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   321 Kearney Road, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This could have been a five star review but.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The initial check in experience was great. Natalie at the front desk was pleasant and gave us great recommendations for places to eat. She is a gem. The condo we are in is nicely appointed with decor from the Southwest. The first night we stayed here was fine. Very quiet. Tonight we returned at 11 pm after seeing the opera. I walked into the bedroom and there are a thousand black ants in the room! On the floor, on the walls, on the ceiling! I stepped on the throw rug and another thousand come screaming out from under the rug. I called the after hours emergency number to get maintenance in here with a can of bug spray but was informed the office was closed. "Yes, that is why I called the emergency number." She responds "I can get someone from maintenance tomorrow at eight." Me: "You can't send anyone with bug spray now?" Her: "no." Me: "So basically you are telling me that if there is an after hours emergency, all you can do is tell the caller there is nothing you can do?" Her; "yep." I politely ended this conversation and am sleeping on the couch. Won't go near that room. hoping tomorrow the ants are not infesting my clothes. better wash them before heading home. no washer in the room, will bag everything and find a laundromat. Will not stay here again or recommend to my friends. What a shame, things started out so well!

Room Tip: Stay away or bring your own bug spray!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortMarcyHotelSuites, General Manager at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We clearly dropped the ball on this one. Our after hour emergency number is for exactly these types of emergency’s. I am happy to hear we did provide you a gift certificate for a future stay on us as you should not have had to experience this type of a problem on your vacation. I know we had someone out this next morning but as you mentioned, and I agree this is just not good enough. We have had a lot of much needed moisture this summer which may be the catalyst for this situation. We scheduled a professional to spray the facility once we heard of your experience. Thank you for letting us know about your stay so we can take care of these issues for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    129
    40
    25
    19
See reviews for
145
141
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a number of units booked for our daughter' wedding and all were perfect for our needs. Spacious, well-supplied kitchens, decent furnishings, and each one unique. These are individually-owned units managed by an on-site hotelier. Not all units on property are part of the hotel-suites. But, each unit has it's own unique decor (don't get that cookie-cutter hotel vibe) and some have great views, too. There is an indoor pool, and ample parking. The property style is older (well, age is relative considering it's Santa Fe), but absolutely everything we encountered was well-maintained, clean and fresh. The management and staff were friendly and truly awesome -- quite helpful with our many requests and needs. The advantage for us was space and convenience to the Plaza area and the other SF destinations. Our immediate family was happy to have a 3 bedroom unit with enough room for parents, siblings and good entertaining space; the bridesmaids were thrilled to all be together in one large 3 bedroom unit with lots of room to hang out room and plenty of bathrooms; Grandma appreciated having her own unit near everyone; and a couple other two-bedroom units rounded out our group -- giving everyone what they needed to be together but not on top of each other. When we return to Santa Fe, I have no doubt this is our new home-away-from-home! If you want a comfortable, home-like space with lots of room in a convenient locale, this is the place.

Room Tip: Book a superior unit if you want one that's been more-recently updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This place was great, a real home away from home, there were 5 of us staying and we had a three bedroom condo. The lounge was big where we could just chill out and watch TV. You can walk into the plaza from here. For the price it's amazing. Free parking. Friendly staff and a quiet area. Free wi-fi

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortMarcyHotelSuites, General Manager at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
"a real home away from home" I think I love this comment the best. As travelers hotels can get old, but your very own vacation condo is a breath of fresh air. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff as they really are the backbone to our success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had three bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, dining room, way comfy living room, open concept, kiva fireplace, tons of closet space, tv in every bedroom + living room, furnished kitchen, minutes from the Plaza, hot tub, indoor pool, laundry in condo, easy & close parking, felt very safe, QUIET and private... there was nothing to complain about !!! and it was even better than we had hoped. Will definitely stay here again. Great value in Santa Fe so close to the Plaza. Nice views.

Room Tip: one room with queen bed; 2 rooms with two twin beds; if you want a specific configuration you must s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I found Fort Marcy to be indifferently, even poorly, maintained. This can be summed up in its laundry facility which smells of something that has died, has dirty washing machines (Yes, washing machines need to be cleaned), has broken washers and dryers which are never repaired, poor lighting, no clock, and nowhere to sit.
I presume all this is in an effort to save money--at the expense of the guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortMarcyHotelSuites, General Manager at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear John from Santa Fe. Your review must be speaking strictly to our laundry facilities as you make no reference to our rooms or quality of service provided by our staff. As such I will comment only as it relates to our laundry room. To say we never have our washers repaired is simply untrue. Our laundry equipment is contracted through a company servicing the southwest. There is no question that sometimes they are slow to respond to our request to come and repair their machines, but they are here monthly and repair all their equipment when on property. We also sanitize our washers monthly using green approved products. Our laundry facility is designed for our guests use, so most guest don’t sit and wait for their laundry to be done, but instead return to their rooms for more rest and relaxation. Returning to the laundry area once it is done. We do have some seating just outside the laundry room so that people whom choose to wait can enjoy the fresh air that is Santa Fe. The lighting provided in the laundry room is twenty four 4 ft. florescent tubes, which I find very adequate. You are correct there is no clock in the room, but we find most guest these days don’t go anywhere without their trusty cell phones, which of course have clocks. Our guests are our future and as is evident from the 100’s of positive post we have received we do all in our power to ensure they have wonderful and memorable stay while on vacation here in Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was a great alternative to a hotel. It had all the conveniences of home. We stayed in unit 51. It has two bedrooms and two bathrooms with king, queen, and hide a bed couch. It was very quiet unlike some hotel/motel rooms. The pool was nice although there isn't really much of anywhere to put your things to keep them dry while swimming. It's a short walk to the plaza, but be prepared to walk uphill on the way back. You will enjoy staying here. There is plenty of room and it truly feels like a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Although all of the "casitas" are individually owned, and, therefore, all different, our one bedroom suite was perfect. Super staff at the office. And the best part, you can walk to the plaza for breakfast and the non-stop art/crafts/jewelry sales on the street and in the stores. Plus, parking is plentiful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: No fitness center. Only drawback. There is a small indoor pool, however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Marcy Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Marcy Hotel Suites

Address: 321 Kearney Road, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Marcy Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Perched atop a hill near the site of the original Fort Marcy from which the property took its name, the modern Fort Marcy provides guests with panoramic views of Santa Fe, the outlying deserts, and the distant Sangre de Cristo Mountains.

Fort Marcy's 1-, 2-, and 3-bedroom suites are spread throughout twelve different adobe buildings which sit on nine acres of natural and landscaped desert grounds. Stroll through meandering paths among shade trees, blooming cactus, and manicured gardens. Or return to your suite's fully furnished kitchen, separate living area, authentic kiva fireplace, or private balcony to enjoy the desert air or a famous Southwest sunset.

Of course, Santa Fe's historic downtown lies just blocks away - home to the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, the Cathedral Basilica of St. Francis of Assisi, the Mercado, Galleria, and Sena Plazas, the San Miguel Mission, and an endless number of shopping, dining, and entertainment options. For the Santa Fe getaway that's the ideal blend of luxury, convenience, and beauty, Fort Marcy may just be vacation perfection.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fort Marcy Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Marcy Hotel Santa Fe
Fort Marcy Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.