We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff But Hotel Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Santa Fe to your Saves list
The Lodge at Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 N St Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Radisson Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Santa Fe Ski Escape
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Shelby, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Staff But Hotel Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

First the good: Great location and super friendly staff. Hotel is also not your typical chain hotel and has great local theme. Now the bad: The hotel is in need of a refresh --- fitness center is just a spare room and dingy. Shower rods should be curved to avoid the wrestling match with the curtain. A/C unit in room was extremely loud. So, there are some good and some bad, but staff is very good. Hotel should renovate to keep up with level of professionalism of staff and spectacular views from the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Shev61,

Thank you for your review of The Lodge at Santa Fe. I am glad you enjoyed our location and super friendly staff. I really appreciate your notes, we are constantly looking for ways to improve our guests' experience. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Tom A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    160
    119
    71
    60
See reviews for
116
211
27
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
RIO RANCHO
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The location was a positive for us, as we were there for the opera. We liked being outside of Old Town & could relax before & after the performance. It's an older hotel & needs an upgrade, but it was fine for just an overnight. Appreciate it being, "Smoke Free".
Our favorite person, was a lovely professional front desk attendant named, Julie and she directed us to a wonderful out of the way shop called the Ark for some specialty shopping. Too cool!

Room Tip: 3 Floor, away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Holley-77,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Lodge at Santa Fe. I am glad you enjoyed our location, we do too! Our perch atop the hill provides some breathtaking views without the hustle and bustle of the downtown area. I am glad to hear our staff were able to provide such a genuine Santa Fe experience for you! We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Tom A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Friendly service and nice setting. Especially good service from Julie at the front desk. Convenient free shuttle service to the Plaza also.........the service in the morning in the cafe was slow due to apparent under staffing, but food was good.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Retpd2001,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The Lodge at Santa Fe. I will be sharing your notes with my staff. We love to hear that we were able to provide such a positive experience for our guests.

Kind Regards,

Tom A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with my partner while on business. We found the staff to be friendly and welcoming, however the property is a little tired and in need of some modernisation. Although the beds are large and comfortable, the window blinds did not open fully and the carpets were worn and stained. Bathrooms are a good size and clean, however the lighting is not great. We made use of the pool which is a great size and gets plenty of sun. However, again the area was not well maintained with many chipped tiles and sand in the bottom of the pool. Several of the sun loungers had fabric that was worn. We visited the hotel bar once, which again had friendly staff but lacked atmosphere and had loud rock music blaring out which was not to our taste - we moved outside to their balcony in order to be able to talk to each other. The gym is tiny - a converted guest room with just 3 pieces of equipment - 1 of which was broken! Pay the $15 and go to The Santa Fe Spa next door if you want a decent gym! The free WiFi was much appreciated and the speed was good, allowing us to do work whilst at the hotel. Finally, the location is good - although there is little around the immediate area of the hotel - easy to get to downtown, the opera, etc and I believe there was a free shuttle to The Plaza. An OK hotel, but had we been paying ourselves on holiday, I would have been disappointed.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear JayF72,

Thank you for your review of The Lodge at Santa Fe. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff during your visit. We strive to provide a comfortable and authentic cultural experience to our guests. I appreciate your notes on how we may improve in the future. I hope we have the opportunity to show you how great this property can be in the future!

Kind Regards,

Tom A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Felt welcome and comfortable? Yes! Will and Estevana at the Front Desk were extremely helpful when we had requests (room change, boarding passes, information, etc.). Those who served us in the dining room and guests room did everything to make our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear David C,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and property! We are very proud of what we do and I makes us smile to know we are appreciated. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Kind Regards,

Tom A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed at the recommendation of a friend. The rate confirmed for us was reasonable in comparison to the product.

The positive aspects of the hotel was the boutique rustic nature of the hotel. The location is great in relation to the downtown Plaza, Canyon road and the Santa Fe opera. The grounds have a certain charm which accents the ambiance of the hotel. The free parking and WIFI are a plus. The room has a separate sink area from the main bathroom. There is an in-room refrigerator. The bed was firm and comfortable.

The following are the reasons why I probably wouldn't return till the hotel goes through a massive renovation. I was in room one of the 400 room king suites, it was roomy, but the room had the signs of wear. There wasn't a desk in the room. The shower drained poorly and had poor pressure. The door was rather ragged looking. The TV was a big box that most hotels have replaced years ago. The hallways have a dark lighting and the carpets are worn and stained. Around the pool area, grass and weeds are going through the cracks in the bricks. In the room and through the hotel, there are obvious signs of wear and tear. There was dust in areas along the business center and sales office that should be cleaned daily. Most of these observations are probably easy to overlook if it wasn't seen with such frequency.

I used which the gym, which was a room where they removed the furniture and put 4 pieces of equipment. The weight set didn't work. I didn't eat at the hotel to comment.

The front desk staff didn't seem to be welcoming or happy about their jobs.

There are many hotels which have the same design as the Lodge, I think I will move my business there till I hear about the updates being confirmed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Escapefromthedesert,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Lodge at Santa Fe. You are right in saying there is a certain charm to the property. We are very proud of our heritage and strive to provide the most authentic cultural experience to all of our guests. I am sorry the room and grounds did not meet your standards. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our guest experience. Thank you for the notes, I very much appreciate hearing what we can do better for the future. We will hope to see you back in Santa Fe in the coming year!

Kind Regards,

Tom A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Arrangements made in advance for our arrival which was appreciated. Arrived early...didn't realize check-in was 4pm instead of 3pm. Staff at front desk average at best. One hostess was helpful, but overall they seemed to layed back. I can deal with that......Finally got our room. Looking for refrigerator to store some travel items...Not there! Front desk response was they only have them in their suites! Ice machine was a hike. For $127.oo a night, I expect better service and accomodations. We checked out and found a hotel that met our needs.

Room Tip: Didn't stay so can't respond to your other questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Dwight D,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at The Lodge at Santa Fe. I am terribly sorry to hear that the property did not live up to your expectations. We strive to provide the highest levels of customer service possible to our guests. I wish your concerns had been brought to my attention sooner, I am sure we could have done much better for you. I sincerely hope you would choose to give us another shot to show you just how great we can be.

Kind Regards,

Tom A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Santa Fe

Address: 750 N St Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Radisson Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Santa Fe is fully decorated to celebrate the wonder and awe of the Southwest’s most notable city. Located just five minutes to the Santa Fe plaza and historic attractions, the Lodge at Santa Fe is a unique hotel with cultural style. Gardunos restaurant onsite serves fresh 'New Mexican' cuisine, and our guests enjoy hand crafted furniture and breathtaking architecture. Beautiful stone flooring, Native American weavings patterns and weavings, and spacious suites with Kiva fireplaces are all part of the experience. The Lodge at Santa Fe has a complimentary shuttle to the historic Santa Fe plaza, plus free WiFi and parking. Experience the magic of Santa Fe when you book your visit at The Lodge at Santa Fe. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
Lodge Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.