We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Santa Fe to your Saves list
Residence Inn Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1698 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87505-4747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Tucson
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This complex consists of fifteen 2-floor buildings with 8 units per building. The center of the grounds is home to the sports court, pool, barbeques, and tables and chairs. There is also a small fitness room in the gatehouse building. It is an older style "Residence Inn" but it does have a lot of charm. The upper floors are nice but the stairs can be quite a challenge to haul luggage up and down. The newer "Residence Inn" properties we have stayed in are 2-floor single structure buildings with elevators. No elevators here.

The main Gatehouse building has a nice, lodge-like feeling and look. The staff is courteous and helpful. We especially appreciated David's helpfulness, going out of his way to help us find directions to our next stop. Printing out a map, marking the route, and offering suggestions. He is a very professional person and a credit to the Marriott brand.

Our room was a second-floor studio which was surprisingly spacious! Although it didn't have the separate bedroom many "Residence Inn" properties have, it seemed to flow better and look more attractive as a studio set-up.

The kitchen was a very good size and had a full-size stove and oven, dishwasher, full-size refrigerator, and plenty of counter space. Attractive granite topped the light colored wood cabinetry and many other surfaces throughout the unit. In keeping with the Santa Fe style, much of the wood trim (headboards, night stands, desks, etc.) were painted an olive-taupe color.

Carpets were clean and in good shape, the towels were very nice and soft, bedding comfortable, and the room even has a fireplace! Breakfast was okay, pretty much what most of the Residence Inn properties offer (but some do it better, like the Phoenix airport Residence Inn). We were only here for one breakfast.

The actual Santa Fe location for this property is just about half way between the freeways and the "Paseo de Peralta". We did not run across any restaurants on our walks and had planned ahead, packing food for dinner. After a long drive, it was nice to eat at "home". The map says there is a "Smith's: market on Pacheco (about 2 blocks from the Residence Inn but we did not see it).

Location-wise, this property is in a medical services complex location and it was so very quiet. Lots of green grass everywhere on the property and around the business grounds. We took long walks in both directions and enjoyed the little park area in the neighborhood nearby.

The pool area closes at 10 p.m. and it is busy! Popular with families, the 4-year old segment of the population make themselves known (and heard). We were looking forward to 10 p.m. rolling around!

Nice place, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room as far from the pool and activity center as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    81
    38
    17
    2
See reviews for
61
74
7
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our room was spacious and somewhat updated but very dark even with lights on. Bathroom door would not stay closed. The windows were so dirty that I wasn't sure if the sun was shining when I got up. One and only plastic chair on tiny patio was covered in dirt. The whole property outside needed cleaning/weeding. Desk clerk was not overly friendly. Breakfast was okay but had to ask for yogurt. This property is not as nice as most Residence Inn's.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South scottsdale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This place is ok but not real special...they've upgraded the kitchens and baths..it's clean but not sparkling. There are weeds growing and un painted exterior surfaces with dried up masking tape evident...dirty towels strewn in areas below the stars, lots of laughing and giggling coming out of the kitchen at 7:30 am. Not sure there is anyone really managing this aging property. Why not stay at the Hampton?

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at this property several years ago and were very happy with the price point and the value of the property. We chose to stay here again this year and were again pleased with the outstanding value of the rooms compared to the hotel properties on or near the Plaza. The 2 story penthouse was clean, housekeeping service was very good and the pool area was updated and looked great. The neighborhood is relatively quiet (especially on weekends) and the front desk staff were polite and friendly. We will return to the Residence Inn for our next visit to Santa Fe.

Room Tip: The penthouse rooms are a great value if your traveling group or family need a lot of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Check in guy, Michael, was just SO nice and professional. The lobby of this hotel has been completely redone and is GORGEOUS! (See my photos.) The outdoor space is wonderful (again, see my photos.)

I was in a 2 story room. There was a loft upstairs with king and bathroom. There was a Murphy bed (queen) on the first floor in a very large area with a table and a nice desk, and a second bathroom. There was a full kitchen and separate living room – very spacious suite.

The grounds are amazing. There’s a beautiful pool with a lot of sheltered space to sit and enjoy the surroundings. I really loved this green space. This Residence Inn is one of the older styles, like an apartment building. There are several buildings with rooms on the first floor and the second floor – the rooms open to the outside. There are no elevators, so if you are a person with a disability or unable to climb stairs, be sure you reserve a room on the first floor.
There was a great tennis court and gorgeous area with a barbeque grill.

Free buffet breakfast in the mornings in the main lobby (very good). And on certain weeknights, they serve snacks and small meals (complimentary and really good). That was a really nice perk! I’m all about free!

I was VERY excited to see that this hotel had big recycle bins sitting around the property. But, I noticed that people were also throwing trash in. Then one day, I saw housekeeping take the stuff from the recycle bin and mix it in with regular trash (oh no!). So, I question whether or not they really recycle – maybe they separate it somewhere else. I wish all hotels were required to recycle – but hotels that do are few and far between I have noticed. So, if this one does actually recycle, GOOD for them!

Downtown Santa Fe is a quick drive down a back street (that takes you right into downtown). It was a great location and I loved staying here. Up or down the street either way there are plenty of shops and restaurants.

All good and I can't wait to go back! Oh, and wifi is free.

Room Tip: My room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We reserved a two-bedroom penthouse at the Residence Inn six weeks before our Santa Fe vacation with extended family and received a confirmation email the week before, so we thought we were set. After a long day's drive, we arrived only to learn that the hotel was overbooked, and so there was no room for us. It reminded me of the Seinfeld rental car skit: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6m_DeR_n72E.

To make it up to us, they reserved 2 adjoining rooms at the Courtyard, at their expense. We appreciated the gesture, but would have greatly preferred getting the room we reserved in the first place. In over 30 years of staying at Residence Inns across the country for business and pleasure, I have never had them fail to honor a reservation. I am counting this as a lesson learned; even if I have a room reservation, I need to double and triple check with the front desk to make sure there will be a room for us when we arrive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

After having to cancel our reservation at another hotel in Santa Fe on a busy Thursday night, we were worried that we might not be able to get a hotel. After hours of searching and calling hotels in Whole Foods, we found this place. The front desk lady let us check out the room before we rented in, but it smelled of cigarettes and nail polish, so we asked for another room to look at. This was the same layout (a suite room) and was great and roomy. When we went to check into the room, the wonderful desk lady told us that she wanted to upgrade us to the penthouse suite for the same price. When we walked into this suite, it was like a large apartment with a full kitchen (full-sized appliances!),a VERY updated and new, but homey feel, a room downstairs with a king bed, and an upstairs area with another king bed. This was amazing!!! The breakfast was average continental breakfast, but it was nice that they provided it. The pool and hot-tub was new and modern and clean. I would definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: The suites and penthouses are very nice and roomy. Any of the ones closer to the pool are a little m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Santa Fe

Address: 1698 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87505-4747
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.