We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Santa Fe to your Saves list
Residence Inn Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1698 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87505-4747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in April, we stayed in a penthouse bi-level loft room. There were 4 of us and it felt spacious for us. The kitchen was clean and modern. There was one bedroom with attached bathroom downstairs that had folding doors to close. Living room had a fireplace, but we didn't use it. The loft had a second queen bed and bathroom. The room was quiet, no road noise.
There was no elevator, so was a minor inconvenience to drag our luggage up the stairs to our room.
Breakfast was average, typical continental breakfast stuff with some hot food.
We had a rental car, so location was fine for us, quick drive to downtown Santa Fe, but not convenient if you wanted to walk anywhere.
Didn't get the room cleaned while we were there, so can't comment on housekeeping.
Overall good stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our overnight trip to Santa Fe. The hotel is not exactly close to Downtown Santa Fe, so not a great choice if you don't have a car. We came via the train from ABQ, so we had to walk a mile and a half with luggage from the station. They do offer an airport shuttle if you book in advance. The room was pretty average for a Residence Inn. It was clean and adequate for what we needed. The breakfast didn't look very appetizing, but we walked to a nice bakery a mile away. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NationalParksLover81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night and was somewhat disappointed as it wasn't up to the normal Residence Inn (Marriott) standards. The room was not very clean, highlighted by mold growing in the bathtub, an incredibly dirty balcony with paper towels left at the foot of the balcony door to collect water which presumably had seeped into the room and some really questionable stuff under the chest at the foot of the bed. The breakfast was suitable and the staff were courteous thus the 3 star rating

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubba G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We picked Residence Inn due to being a reward member and positive experiences at Residence Inns. The room was great-I asked for a quiet location. It was away from the road and parking lot and upper floor. The room had a lovely, updated kitchen, king bed and fire-place. Perfect for nippy March evenings. We went to social hour one night and enjoyed chili/cheese dogs and potato salad for dinner. Breakfast-a disappointment-tired, tough scrambled eggs, sad sausage, biscuits-served each day with no variety. That needs serious looking at. Luckily we had a kitchen and had our own food to eat. Two staff members stood out-Margaret and Monica. Both helpful and friendly. Monica called after we checked out to say my husband had left his credit card in the room and we made arrangements to have it returned. A stay several years ago in a Residence Inn (in Williamsburg) resulted in the theft of my wedding ring-so I very much appreciated the honesty of housekeeping returning the card and Monica following through. The location of this hotel was great for us. A bit off the beaten path-great for quiet-yet easy to get everywhere. During our stay we saw many other hotel options and were grateful we chose this one.

Room Tip: If quiet is a priority-ask for a second floor room away from street/parking lot and probably pool wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BSmith068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I have several compliments for this property, and one critique.

Before arriving, the General Manager was gracious enough to allow us to use Marriott Rewards points to reserve/upgrade to the Penthouse Suite w/ loft, which was very comfortable and spacious. The photos in the online gallery are true to portrayal. These rooms have wood-burning fireplaces, which was a novel (but welcome) amenity that we definitely used. The Penthouse rooms are accessed by stairs though, so take note if you have accessibility concerns. The property does have other suites on ground level though.

Breakfast (hot and cold) is served every morning and was nice for our family before we headed off to the slopes. Ski Santa Fé is about a 30 minute drive from the hotel, through downtown, and then up the mountain (which takes the majority of the time). It is only a few minutes from downtown though and right around the corner from the hospital (just in case).

The only issue I had was one of professionalism of two of the front desk employees. Although they were courteous for the most part, several times that I went down to ask questions or buy sundries these employees had what appeared to be several young friends or family members hanging out in the dining and reception areas, even one sitting on the reception counter next to me as I made an inquiry. It was a little off-putting and didn't reflect the standards that I have come to expect from Marriott properties.

All in all, this is a nice hotel near downtown and a short drive from the slopes with spacious, comfortable rooms with guest-oriented management. We'll likely return.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank gsimerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I do go to Santa Fe often, and usually stay here. The rooms are typical of a Residence Inn with kitchens and fireplaces that actually work. The hotel was updated this past year. I really like the location. You can be at the plaza in a couple of minutes with the straight shot down Galisteo, yet remain somewhat removed from the hubbub that can engulf the downtown area.

Most of the employees have worked there for years, and really get to know the guests. Most often, they will bend over backwards to help.....often offering rides downtown if needed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 354Bubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family came for several days to ski and enjoy Santa Fe. We loved the fireplace and the kitchen is a nice place to cook. However this is an older property that has some flaws. The walls are thin and it was difficult to sleep in our downstairs suite because we could hear the people above us walking around. When we complained we were moved to a two-story unit which was much better. Each unit has its own water supply and it didn't take long at all to run out of hot water. After taking one too many cold showers we had to learn to pace our showers. The beds - especially the double beds - also weren't up to the normal high standards we have come to expect from Marriott. However every time we complained the staff jumped into action to find extra bedding, move us into a new unit or provide missing supplies.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor so you don't have to hear other quests walking around above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Houmom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe
14.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Santa Fe Inn
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Santa Fe

Address: 1698 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87505-4747
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing