We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1698 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87505-4747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Fargo,ND
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“ok place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in a studio suite and the room was ok. Not really a suite but larger than a standard room and does include a full size refridgerator and stove.I requested an upper floor on my reservation which they did not honor but arrived early enough to be switched to an upper room with a small balcony. Plastic chairs were filthy dirty on the balcony so we had to request extra towels to cover them so we could sit down,

Food was abysmal which lowers the overall rating. Breakfast during the week was supposed to be until 9:30 but they ran out of everything by 8:30. Waffle maker out of order most of the time. Complimentary newspapers gone early (they claimed they had some anyway). The week we were their they only served an evening meal ONE night (on tuesday) they said they only served alternate Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and this wasn't a week they were serving so don;t count on having complimentary evening meals. The outdoor pool was under contruction and out of service and the list goes on and on,

So overall its an ok place to stay but definitely not up to Marriotts standards.

Room Tip: upper level rooms have small balcony
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate L, General Manager at Residence Inn Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and sharing your feedback. I apologize that your stay was just OK as we strive to provide great stays to all our guests. I'm glad we were able to provide you with the 2nd floor room you requested but I agree, it should have been done without asking. Your comment about the chairs has been taken to heart and the maintenance team is cleaning them up as Santa Fe's spring temperatures are now warm enough to enjoy the balconies and patios. The pool, which was closed for the winter when you were here, will be completed and open by Memorial Day weekend. We have also taken action on the breakfast to ensure the buffet is full and fresh all morning long, every morning. Our evening social hour is 2 nights a week on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Though it is not intended as an evening meal, it is a nice way to relax after a long day of work or play in Santa Fe. Again, thanks for the feedback. I hope you will give us another chance if your travels bring you back to New Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    66
    34
    16
    2
See reviews for
54
60
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

if you want to be close to everything Santa Fe and yet have a restful and quiet time. We lived in Santa Fe so for us it is "coming home" - and the staff and ambiance of the Residence Inn lives up to Marriott quality. It is off the beaten track, no doubt, but getting around is easy and the staff is amazing. This was our second visit in a relatively short time span and we totally enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate L, General Manager at Residence Inn Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your great comments! I let the whole team know you thought they were amazing. We hope you come back "home" and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is a bit off the beaten track for tourists. It is near a large hospital, so probably a very convenient place for family members and friends. We stayed two nights. Had two minor problems with the room and reported them to the front desk the next morning. They were both fixed by the time we returned in the late afternoon. This is good customer service, but Marriott guests should not expect less.

The condition of the property is average and could use a shot of sprucing up. Still, everything worked and we had two quiet, comfortable nights.

The complimentary breakfast spread was no more than average, and we chose to dine elsewhere after checking out from our second night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate L, General Manager at Residence Inn Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments and taking the time to write a review. As you mentioned, we are not right at the Plaza and not on busy Cerrillos Road. Hopefully our staff gave you the easy directions, 1 1/2 miles straight down Galisteo Street takes you directly to the Plaza, and showed you the best places to park. The sprucing up you mentioned has begun with new bushes and flowers planted this week. It sounded like our breakfast needed some sprucing up too, so we have made some changes. As you said, expect nothing less from Marriott. I'm glad our staff took good care of you and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLORADO SPRINGS
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a very good hotel situated just a bit too far from the core of Santa Fe. We had a 2 bedroom hotel as there was 3 of us travelling...perfect for a family with kids also. The unit is large, fully equipped, with 2 king size beds (one in a closed off bedroom and one in a upstair loft) and breakfast is included (very nice variety of food). As this hotel is just off Hwy 25, great place for travelers and we did not hear anything at night with windows opened. There is a nice pool area - only opened from May on, so we could not take advantage. The drive to the core is about 10 mins, so not very far, but there is not much to do around the hotel itself - it does have a large grocery store just down the road.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool courtyard have small balconies which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate L, General Manager at Residence Inn Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thanks for the review! Sounds like our Executive Penthouse suite was just right for you and your family. We are about a mile and a half from the Plaza area, hopefully the free parking made up for the short drive. Next time you are here we can recommend some great restaurants and museums out of that core area. There are some hidden gems in Santa Fe with great ratings on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in a "penthouse" suite. The entire property has been remodeled and updated. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are as expected for Residence Inn. We like the location since you're off the main drag (Cerrillos Road), yet have quick access to the downtown Santa Fe area.

Room Tip: You probably would always want a "second" floor suite ... just to have some control over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Beds were very comfy but the room smelled and the daily cleaning was so so. The toilet plugged very easily. They did serve breakfast which was nice. They had a nice wood fireplace in the room but using it was not an option. I probably would not stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate L, General Manager at Residence Inn Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. Feedback is always helpful, especially when your stay was "just ok". Your comments regarding housekeeping are troubling. We have a very experience housekeeping staff so the cleaning should never be just so-so. My housekeeping supervisor and I have discussed your comments to be sure improvements are made, including noticing poorly working toilets before our guests do. You mentioned the wood-burning fireplace, which are in all the rooms, but that using it was not an option. I hope that was due to warm weather or other concerns. We have logs available at the desk and guests are always welcome to use the fireplace. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I hope you decide to give us another try when you are back in Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We had the penthouse for 4 adults. Very comfortable, nice updated kitchen. Not as clean as most Marriotts but beds were very comfy. Hot breakfast each day. Pool wasn't open and hot tub was small and needed cleaning. Staff very nice. Not close enough to square to walk. Trader Joes is nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Santa Fe

Address: 1698 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87505-4747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Santa Fe 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.