We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Standards in Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Santa Fe to your Saves list
Residence Inn Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1698 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87505-4747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
“Marriott Standards in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have written over 140 reviews and take providing feedback seriously. I hope you find my review helpful.

This was our second time in Santa Fe and 1st time at the Residence Inn. We came for the long MLK weekend to bring the kids skiing. This hotel was perfect for us. I would recommend this hotel as an affordable place to stay with great comfort and amenities.

Comfortable beds: Check. Clean rooms: Check. Friendly and hospitable service: Check.

We stayed with our 3 children and got one of their 2-berdroom suites. Having a full kitchen to be able to cook at night after a day of skiing was a huge plus for us. I called the front desk and asked for more plates, cups, and even 2 more bar-stools and they were so accomodating and friendly.

Location is great...just a few miles from Hyde Park road (the road that takes you to skiing).

Full hot and cold breakfast choices in the morning was a great benefit...although we didn't like their coffee very much. But they had lots of choices and the kids all found something they liked.

Overall, I would stay here again. I'm sure in the summer it's also a great place with their pool, tennis courts, and other outdoor amenities.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have a problem with stairs, you will want to request a room on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    77
    37
    16
    2
See reviews for
60
71
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Made a stop with my family in Santa Fe to experience the charm of the Southwest. We found the Residence a great stop and stay for three nights. We had a penthouse suite that featured a loft room with a king sized, two bathrooms, another queen bed and a pull out. We have four kids and they loved the property. Nice hot tub and sitting area with a large fire place and free breakfast. This looked to be newly renovated and was very comfortable. Great location for getting around the Santa Fe area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Having never before stayed at a Residence Inn, we had no clue what to expect... We absolutely love the lay out of the hotel! Rather than all the rooms enclosed in one building is set up more like an apartment complex. We only had 1 neighbor and heard zero noise outside our room! The hotel is located close to downtown and if you ask the front desk, the amazing staff is there to provide directions, restaurant suggestions and the 411 on what to do in Santa Fe. We truly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had never stayed at a Residence Inn and thought we would check one out. We couldn't have been more surprised!

We had a booked the "Penthouse Loft". When we arrived we found our accomodations to be a two bedroom, two bath, three TV, living room with fireplace and a fully equipped kitchen. One bedroom is downstairs while the other is in the loft. The kitchen has a full sized frig, a dishwasher, an oven, a microwave and all the utensils you might need.

Both bedrooms and the living room had flat screen TVs which would be perfect for families. Both bathrooms were good sized and had tub/shower combinations.

Breakfast was served each morning and was a bountiful spread enough for most any appetite. Eggs, ham, waffles, bagels, pastries, cereal and juices. Everything was fresh and tasty.

If I had a complaint it would be twofold. First, the room was on the second (and third) floor and it was a bit of a challenge to carry all of our luggage to the room. No assistance was available. Not a big deal but something to be aware of, if that matters. The other issue we had was that they offer a fireplace but nothing to enjoy it with. After a call to the front desk, we were told that we could buy a Duraflame log if we wanted. Seems silly to offer a fireplace as one of their selling points and then charge you to use it. Not a big deal, just annoying.

Would we go back? Sure. While the Residence Inn was designed for longer stays, it certainly filled the bill for our short stay. All in all, great value.

Room Tip: We chose the Penthouse Loft with fireplace and couldn't have been happier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel has a nice location for access to downtown and Santa Fe attractions. While the room is very spacious, the lighting leaves a lot to be desired. There is no lighting for the couch which makes it difficult to read in that area. The other challenge is that access to all of the rooms is from the outside since there are about a dozen buildings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.L.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Everything was perfect. Enjoyed our stay . Our room was comfortable and the kitchen was perfect for making our own meals. It wasn't busy season so being by the pool was relaxing and we met great people who come her every year. Shopping in Santa Fe is fun if you love jewelry. Also a trip to Taos is a must. Will come again !!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we stayed here in late October / early November 2012, they had almost finished all the rennovation on the property. The property consists of small buildings around the periphery, with 4 rooms in each building. There are 2 levels to the buildings and no elevators, but the front desk offers help for your luggage if you have a 2nd floor room.

The rooms are reasonably quiet, but I did hear some parking lot noise a couple nights from late arrivals.

The rooms are very nice and clean (my wife is a "clean-freak"). They come with a kitchen that includes full-sized appliances (oven, stove, microwave, dishwasher, and refrigerator). There is an adequate selection of kitchen utensils and cooking equipment. The only small appliances are a coffee maker and a toaster. Sadly, there is no blender.

The counters in the kitchen and bathroom are granite. The toilet and bathtub/shower are behind a separate door and the bathroom counter is very large with a single cabinet below.

There is a fireplace, sofa, and desk in the room. The reception sells reasonably priced compressed wood logs for the fireplace ($5 per log), or you can buy the same at the nearby Smith's grocery store ($20 for 6 logs).

There are very small balconies off the rooms. Realistically, you would probably only enjoy them if you were on the 2nd floor. The walkways and parking lot are too close to the 1st floor balconies.

They offer a free breakfast each morning. The selection and quality isn't super great, but is a good solution if you don't want to make breakfast yourself in the kitchen or go somewhere. Sadly, on Sunday they did not have enough food out for the guests and people were hovering around the counters waiting for more to be brought out.

Housekeeping was suprisingly stingy with the soap. Typically, they leave a backup set of soaps and shampoos on the 2nd day, so that you never run out. They don't practice that here. We were baffled one day to come back and only have 1 bar of soap to share between the bath and sink.

The front desk is efficient and friendly. They will provide help with directions and other conceirge functions.

The location is actually pretty good. You are about 10 minutes away from the Plaza. It's very easy to follow the street where the hotel is located (Galisteo St.) towards the downtown. After you cross the river, the 2nd stop sign is for Water Street. You can turn left and then enter a parking garage mid block (right turn). That puts you within a couple blocks of the Plaza itself. You are still close to either I-25 or St. Francis St, if you want to take a day trip out of town.

Overally, I would stay here again. It's a good hotel, plus, I am a loyal Marriot customer.

Room Tip: I recommend a 2nd floor room on the North side, with a balcony that faces the parking lot. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Santa Fe

Address: 1698 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87505-4747
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.