We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did Not Meet Expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Evanston
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Did Not Meet Expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We returned fourteen years after our honeymoon and were consistently disappointed in how the hotel managed to make a mess of things although several of the staff members were outstanding. Due to a change in travel plans, we had a four night stay booked through three reservations which seemed to cause chaos throughout the hotel. From having to wait fifteen or more minutes for our car even though no one was in front of us, to botched deliveries of newspapers, to not getting the room made up by the end of the day. The "rooms manager" seemed indifferent to our plight and the hotels response to their review was late in coming and lame in offer to make things right. They said that they did not have our address and wanted to us a complimentary room upgrade for our next visit as if our travel of half way across the country was something that we do on weekends.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room that has a working fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    110
    75
    34
    21
See reviews for
90
178
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Beautiful grounds, quaint hotel, but the staff go beyond their jobs to make your stay fabulous. We stayed here for 4 nights 9/3 to 9/7. They have just come onboard with Starwood Luxury Collection and are in the process of redoing the hotel. The unredone rooms are very old elegant but very much in need of redo.
All I can say is that from the moment we checked in with Morgan everyone couldn't have been nicer. When we expressed our unhappiness with our room she took us to a few and finally showed us a suite (still older). She said she wanted us to be happy and gave it to us for no additional charge. (We had requested the dining room tv for a Seahawks game but a wedding party took it so we had no where for the 8 of us to go...therefore the suite) She also sent up appetizers for our game! Beyond the call....
While walking down a hall one day we stopped an employee and asked a question....found out it was the Manager. Well he went beyond our request...googling our answer and helping us out.
This hotel will be fantastic when it is all redone...as long as Starwood keeps the staff it has!
It is walking distance to town and all the museums but there is a shuttle that will take you and pick you up. They also took us about 3 miles away to dinner one night...all 8 of us.

Room Tip: It is a very wedding event hotel get a room away from courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently attended a "destination wedding" and the hotel and staff could not have been more accommodating and the room so serene and peaceful. The hotel bar and restaurant were also staffed with attentive and caring professionals that seemed to really enjoy serving us, as if we were guests in their homes. The grounds are tranquil and well landscaped and the outdoor art sculptures were intriguing. Thank you for all the changes as we had not stayed at La Posada since the late 1980s. Keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace and a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, Texas
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dark Small Room, No Outlet in the Bathroom, Opening any window coverings turned the room into an observatory by other guests. I think we got the converted Pool Storage area for our room. If you stay in this Hotel after reading this review, make sure your room is not near any wedding agenda. The music was so loud and went past Midnight. After that, the obnoxious guests mingled near our room and we even had the pleasure of someone getting sick in our bushes by the window. If this Hotel is going to cater to this kind of environment, the guests should know about it or they need to control the situation. I can't believe I had to pay for this! I've stayed in Santa Fe 4 other times and this is by far the worse hotel. Go anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Two of us stayed at La Posada from 8/18/2014 - 8/22/2014. Wish it could've been for longer. Beautiful, rustic, comfortable, friendly, 2 blocks from the center of town. The hotel has an on-call shuttle service anywhere with in 2 miles. Lovely artwork (paintings, sculptures) everywhere; large pretty patio filled with colorful art and flowers. Had a great vegetarian dinner there, except for an overpriced cocktail. There is also a wonderful French cafe and bakery right across the street.
Although the hotel was a bit pricey for us, it was well worth it. The room was real comfortable - great bed and pillows!! Each room was sort of in it's own alcove and felt very private. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Close enough to walk to the major attractions in Santa Fe. If you don't feel like walking they have a shuttle. Everyone at the hotel was extremely helpful and friendly. If you forgot something they had it readily available. Concierge helped fix a shoe of my roommate, offered to get an ice pack or a heating pad, for our aching knees and back. Our room had a fireplace, and included wine glasses and a wine opener. Spa was super! Highly recommend this place!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel, low rise that meanders through small gardens. Spacious room, a little dark as a result of Santa Fe architecture that emphasizes small windows. Breakfasts on large patio were lovely. Smallish lobby and apart from pool, no common outdoor areas to just lounge and relax.

You can walk to anywhere in town from this location.

Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms may have outdoor seating areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.