We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

La Posada is in a great location in Santa Fe with wonderful grounds. Quaint would be the most appropriate term. The hotel is nice, but dated. It is in need of renovation. With a big group attending, we found many rooms with worn carpets, broken hinges on cabinets and water problems. On the other hand, the location is great and many rooms have been updated with new expanded bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    102
    71
    31
    21
See reviews for
85
165
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a very nice place to stay. The rooms were comfortable,the only drawback being that the tv didn't work properly and we had to end up being contented with the picture that we got.
The surroundings, the beautiful grounds, the friendly staff, and the great food made up for that. Hot coffee and newspapers are provided to the guests every morning in the lobby and that's a great place to meet some of the other guests. It's not too far from the centre of Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Try and get a room close to the main building if you like wi fi , as we didn't get good service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarissaNOakeley, Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for the feedback regarding the television quality; we will make sure to take a look at the television, test the reception, and fix the issue. We hope that you come visit us again soon.
- Marissa Oakeley, Leisure Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Six years ago, I stayed at La Posada for a business event. The facilities staff and everything about the place was top notch. So I thought it would be a great place to have a quiet for a man to weekend in Santa Fe. Wrong.
The comedy of errors started right as we rolled up to the place. The person who took our bags spent most of the time complaining about how poorly him and his coworkers have been treated lately. When we got to the room, the keys didn't work. It took maintenance to come out and fix it, which at midnight, I'll we wanted was to go to bed. It turned out, we had the very same problem the next day. We were told we should insert the keys more gently. After having maintenance come out again, it was very clear that the battery unit inside the door had not been checked in over four years, and the batteries that power the card reader had failed. All told, we sink more than an hour into this issue.

We also made the mistake of getting lunch there. What a debacle. Despite offering lunch being delivered to the pool, there's only one menu. The bartender grabbed it from one patron and handed it to another and said "you just have to share." Really rough service. Food took over an hour to arrive.

We just weren't enjoying ourselves at this property, and we're about to check out A day early, and go to the Marriott down the street. Not as good of a location, but at least it's more predictable. The most senior person was in HR. While very nice, he told me that our stay would be refunded, any felt horrible about the experience we had. So we decided to stay. BTW, we had to wait 15 mins to talk to him. He had a line. A LINE. of people upset over various aspects of the stay. Lots of apologizing "we have new systems, we're short staffed tonight. etc."

A week later, I noticed that nothing was refunded, and while I recognize this is made more complicated when you book with Expedia, it's still a promise not kept. Three months later, still no refund, just bad and at times comical memories of how bad some hotel experiences can be.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The La Posada has a great location, grounds and set up.

To keep it simple, here's the pros and cons we experienced:

Pros:
- As I mentioned, great location. You will be less than a 5 minute walk to the historic square.
- Nice salt water pool. Nothing too fancy, but nice.
- Valet parking only. I marked it as a pro, but could be somewhat of a con if you are using your car a lot.
- Internet didn't work for me.
- Room service fair, but 38 dollars for a burger?

Cons:
- Didn't get the room I booked so be sure to ask exactly the room you will be getting
- The "smores" party used marshmallow sticks that were used multiple times before. Really?

Overall this is a hard choice. To be honest, for the price, I would of expected more. However, I'll go back and try them again. We'll see.

Room Tip: Be sure to get the details of the exactly what you booked and paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The La Posada was never perfect but the historic property with its location, quintessential local bar, gardens & superb southwestern food kept us coming back for a decade. It was also an American Express Platinum Hotel and those perks made it the best stay in Santa Fe. No more under Starwood. Although a so called Gold Member, not only did my rates double but the room was so bad (no upgrade available as I had thru Amex) that we decided to check out. Management moved us to an acceptable suite commensurate with the rate, but for that price we could have been in a Four Seasons. So very sad. Shame on Starwood--you should have paid more attention to this jewel Santa Fe property.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Freudsid,

Thank you for the time to do a review. I appreciate the feedback and wanted to give some updates on the property. We are currently going through the planning for the most significant update the hotel has had in the past eight year. This fall we will be renovating all interior areas of the property. We will be adding a brand new restaurant as well. All of this will be done in the classic Santa Fe style that our property has been famous for. The new ownership group and Starwood have come in recently and were not responsible for Amex Platinum departing the property. They are actually working to renew our agreement in 2015 and bring the property to a higher level. I can stand strongly behind this as I have been the General Manager for over four years. What we have wanted to do to raise all of the levels is finally coming to fruition. Feedback like yours in invaluable in the process. I would actually love the opportunity to speak with you directly. As a Santa Fe fan I would love to get you back to the property after this fall and get your feedback directly. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance in the future.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
505-954-9610 direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved this place! Just a block from the plaza. Easy walk to museums, shops and restaurants. The location is perfect iF your goal is to enjoy the historic downtown. It still feels very quite and secluded. To be honest the actual resort is so cozy and enchanting you just want to stay there. The gardens are really beautiful. The casitas are spread on the grounds so it feels like you are in a private cabin. A lot of them have a small porch with private table and chairs. The bed was comfy and our room was large with a walking closet.

The staff is courteous and there is obvious pride in working there. The pool lady was so attentive and nice. We had breakfast in the restaurant and it was delicious and the setting was lovely.

I would love to go back.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms towards the center of the resort for less noise from the nearby streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarissaNOakeley, Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our charming historic downtown resort! We know you have many nearby hotel choices in the area, so we thank you for choosing La Posada De Santa Fe! Come visit us again soon.
- Marissa Oakeley, Leisure Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was a little hesitant to stay here given some of the reviews but our family was so pleased we did. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out, the service was outstanding. Scott made sure every need was met, including finding us a room for one of the night s that we had been unable to get a room online as the website said it was sold out. Our room was upgraded, the complimentary appetizers and drinks were a nice addition and delicious. The room was spacious, comfortable, clean, and perfect for a family of four. The pool and hot tub area were nice and the service was attentive with complimentary treats and ice water brought to us without request. The location is perfect with less than a 10 minute walk to town. I am so glad this hotel is now part of Starwood. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarissaNOakeley, Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort! We know you have many luxury resort choices in the area, so we thank you for choosing La Posada De Santa Fe. Come visit us again soon.

- Marissa Oakeley, Leisure Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.