We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I should have believed Trip Advisor ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I should have believed Trip Advisor ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The rooms are run down, the hotel is tired. Simple amenities are scarce and everything else is broken. Staff is kind but terribly inefficient and non-responsive. Needs work. Breakfast was delicious and the best part of the time there. Housekeeping was nonexistent.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    96
    68
    27
    20
See reviews for
77
157
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is terrible. I am a Starwood loyalist and I can't believe they let this mediocre place into the Luxury Collection. Except for a good location in old Santa Fe, there's little good to say. The carpet in the hallways is dirtier than any hotel carpet I've ever seen, the carpet in our room was dirty and ripped, torn and missing. The rooms are very dark and none of the light switches actually turn on lights. We were "upgraded" to a suite, and the bedroom in the suite and the bathroom had no windows at all. The bathroom had nasty dirty finger prints on the ceiling, and the head of housekeeping called it "condensation stains" on the walls. I asked if she'd ever heard of bleach. Turn down service came, we were 5 minutes from leaving the room, we asked them to come right back, they never did. The head of housekeeping came to my room to explain how sorry she was, but nothing on the list got fixed. The rooms also smell smokey, its supposed to be the smell of the fireplace, but we visited at the end of July, the winter fire smell should be long gone. The only thing nice was the new Luxury collection towels in the very dirty bathroom.

Room Tip: There are some good rooms by the pool with tile floors instead of the nasty dirty carpet. Steer cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

La Posada was one of my favorite happy hours in Santa Fe,but it is gone! Waitress said they have gotten rid of it after Starwood purchased the property. Food and drink were good, but not as much fun.So sad!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The La Posada is a charming hacienda-like property in the midst is Santa Fe with easy walking distance to downtown and many attractions. We had a suite of 3 rooms, one of which had a pool table! We were there with a convention.
That being said, the service, although friendly and well-meaning, was spotty at best. One day our room didn't get cleaned until 3, then an hour later someone came to do turn-down service. Our friend's room never got cleaned at all on another day. Or rooms would get cleaned, then no towels left, or just one towel, or no clean glasses in the bar. One friend was awakened at 11:30 pm by someone returning her cleaned laundry! One sent his laundry out, only to have it returned half an hour later uncleaned.
The pool is lovely and the service there was great. I didn't try the spa.
Restaurant service was mostly slow and erratic. By the end of the week we all had to laugh--some of the incidents were so inexplicable and of course we all had a great time anyway. First World problems.

Room Tip: Away from the reception room if there's a wedding going on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose this hotel based on other reviews. We just spent 4 nights. Fuego, their restaurant, food was ok, service with only 7 people in the restaurant was a bit below par. Breakfast on the patio was very good each morning and the staff there good.
We came back from a day at the International Art Festival, and by 3pm, the rooms were not made up, used towels sat on the patio, I had to call to have them picked up. You have to state if you want sheets changed everyday, as they do not....we had to complain to resolve some of the problems...the cleaning girls were talking and not paying attention to their work. For older people the shower / tubs can be slippery, when I said I was bringing an older person, they don't think of mats or where they put the person, even though I asked. The management tried to make up for it but they should be more on top of things and follow notes made when reservations are made.
The location is good. But don't think I would stay there again. For over 40 years I have traveled for work and personal and have stayed in every star rating....this should be a 3 1/2.

Room Tip: doesn't matter, they did not follow notes I gave them on two different occasions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at La Posada de Santa Fe. The breakfast was outstanding My husband ordered the Southwest Omelet and he said it was the best omelet he has ever eaten. I ordered the Skinnie Mini Bennie and it too was the best breakfast I have ever eaten. Our compliments to the chef. The weather in Santa Fe was cool when were were there. We would like to have been able to open the window to allow some fresh air into the room, but we couldn't get the window open. The air flowing out of the air-conditioning vent landed right on my face while I was trying to sleep, resulting in a sleepless night. The landscaping was beautiful.

Room Tip: If you like to be able to open a window to allow fresh air in the room, ask for a room with windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to Santa Fe many times over the past 30 years or so, and La Posada has always been our first choice place to stay. We most recently stayed at June 24-29, 2014, and are so thrilled that they have become a Starwood Luxury Collection property. The grounds are so beautiful, and we just feel such peace the minute we enter the property. We stayed in a king room with a fireplace and a private patio which was lovely. We appreciated the luxurious, fluffy, huge new towels, as well as the double sink vanity, lighted make-up mirror, scale, and large glass-enclosed shower with adjustable shower head in the roomy bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were top notch as well. We had 2 large armoires with plenty of room to unpack for 5 nights plus hide our luggage inside. Sitting on the private patio was a relaxation highlight each day and evening.

In contrast to some recent reviews, our check-in was very smooth. We arrived at about 11am, knowing that check in was not until 4pm. We completed a pre-check-in and went to lunch. Sarala called before we finished lunch and said we could pick up our key at our convenience. She did, however, fail to offer us our welcome gift as Starwood Gold members. We were in the lobby on several occasions over our stay, and everyone we encountered was very friendly, professional, and helpful.

We had dinner reservations one night at Fuego. We received a call in the afternoon that a wedding party had booked the entire dining room and patio until 7 pm, so they would be serving dinner in the bar instead. Since we really preferred to sit outside, we chose to wait until 7, so we could do that. Another customer was really angry about this, but we really didn't see it as a problem. At 7, however, we were told we could not be seated outside. We had booked our reservation 2 weeks earlier through Open Table and management had only realized they had a problem 24 hours earlier. Our problem with the issue is that they did not notify us at that time, so we could have made reservations somewhere else. (This was a Saturday night). At this point, we asked to speak with someone in charge of food services, and were greeted promptly by Patricia, who was new to her job, but very professional and very good at service recovery. She arranged for a private table to be set up on the patio, placed flowers on it, comped our drinks and desert, and we ended up thoroughly enjoying our delicious tamales on this beautiful evening. This situation was a total failure however, on the part of the Food and Beverage Manager who should have foreseen the problem and contacted resort guests who had dinner reservations LONG before the short notice that we received.

Anytime we phoned for service (housekeeping or ice), no one was inclined to respond to our request with any speed or accuracy. I spoke with Kat one night, asking for ice, and when it still hadn't been delivered 40 minutes later I phoned again and was told that they had just sent the request. Although they told me that the only way to get ice was for them to deliver it, I found an ice machine near room 200 and from then on, we got our own ice. Turndown service was only provided one night without prompting from management.

Housekeeping personnel regularly took breaks on the benches near our room, talking loudly and flirting with each other. We felt this was rather unprofessional.

One final comment is that we thought Starwood properties became completely smoke free in 2008, but no one is enforcing this at La Posada, as we observed people smoking on the property daily.

Over all, we had a wonderful time in Santa Fe, but were somewhat disappointed with La Posada as detailed above. We will definitely consider staying here again, but only if we are convinced that the Luxury Collection standards are being met. We were impressed with the visibility of room managers, Scott and Jason, and their eagerness to make sure we had a good experience, in spite of communication issues within the organization. We love this property and really want to see it be top notch and become deserving of the 16000 SPG points that are now required per night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#29 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.