We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely, Historic Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A Lovely, Historic Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Hidden within the trees you find LaPosada. A historic old mansion that has been transformed into a luxury hotel with excellent staff that will attend to your every need. Be sure to inquire of staff about the history and story of the mansion. The location is terrific and walking distance to the square. Artwork, that can be purchased, covers the walls within the common areas. This property has many amenities usually found in a luxury hotel, including a conference center. Rooms vary vastly, but since there are several types, styles, and sizes, most everyone should be able to find something to suit their needs. There are a few areas that could stand updating and maintenance, but overall a nice property.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    119
    82
    36
    25
See reviews for
96
194
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at La Posada to celebrate his 60th birthday in June 2014. The best part of our stay there was the staff. They are extremely nice, friendly, and helpful, and even wrote my husband a birthday card and delivered a bottle of wine and chocolate-covered strawberries as a gift. The grounds are lovely, however, certain areas are in need of more diligent maintenance. The second room we were booked into (more about that in a minute) had a back door that opened onto a courtyard shared by 4 other rooms. The courtyard was full of weeds, and the tables and chairs out there were dirty, as if we were not expected to even look out there, let alone spend any time out there (which we wanted to do and did, after cleaning the table ourselves and ignoring the weeds). Also the windows in our room were dirty and the floor quite uneven (which is understandable for an old adobe structure, but it needs to be attended to). The room was nicely appointed, clean, and comfortable. Comfortable bed, lots of nice fluffy towels.

We asked to be moved from our first room because it was small and dark, and the bathroom had a strong musty moldy smell. The staff was very gracious about accommodating our request and moved us to a nicer suite for no extra charge. Both rooms, however, were back behind the meeting rooms (the 200 series rooms) where the maids store their carts, and in the morning we had to wend our way through the ugly carts and chatting maids to get anywhere else on the property. Definitely a buzz killer.

The pool is saline rather than chlorine, which is nice, but the pool is rather small. The pool attendant must be the hardest working woman in Santa Fe. She is like the Energizer Bunny -- always on the go, keeping track of everyone (and there were lots of people there) and anticipating our needs for drinking water. She was constantly bringing everyone cups of ice water and refilling our cups. Again, very cheerful and friendly. The showers on the women's side of the spa need to be replaced. They just don't work well. My husband booked a massage at the spa and raved about it.

We had two lovely breakfasts (good food) on the pleasant dining patio. The lobby and common rooms are filled with the worst art (although I hear it is to some people's taste).

Before we arrived we had an issue with the accounting department because our credit card was charged twice for different amounts for our deposit. It took several days of phone calls and emails to sort it all out because there was only one person in that department who could help us. I think she might be overworked.

Overall our stay at La Posada was pleasant, and I would stay there again. The location is very convenient for walking into and around the heart of Santa Fe, yet because of the lovely grounds, the property feels secluded. Also it is very quiet. And dog friendly!

Room Tip: Don't let the staff put you in any room back behind the meeting rooms (the 200 series rooms). Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We absolutely love Santa Fe and visit once or twice a year. Therefore, we have stayed many different places. When we first arrived, we had a small issue and it was taken care of promptly by Managment. We booked our room at the last minute via Hotwire.com. For those of you who book a room at La Posada via Hotwire with kids, please be aware the deal on Hotwire is not for two queen beds. It is for one queen bed with a roll away bed. Our room was entirely too small for a roll away bed. Therefore, we had to switch rooms and we were told initially we would have to pay extra for it. However, management did not charge us extra. They were amazing! The resort grounds are absolutely beautiful and it is conveniently located within walking distance to everything on the square--huge perk! The one thing I was not overly impressed with was the room. It needed to be updated. Our carpet had quite a few rough stains, mirrors had not been cleaned well and had streaks all over, shutters had been broken, bath tub reglaze/paint job was not good, the decor and bedding was okay-nothing more or less. If we had not booked via Hotwire and had booked at regular price, I would have been extremely disappointed with the room. Would I stay here again? If I booked via Hotwire for the price we paid, yes! Otherwise, I would stay elsewhere until the rooms are updated.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aarongot
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've been a fan of La Posada for years. It was on the short list for our wedding venue 10 years ago. Although we ultimately chose the roof top at the Hudson in NYC for convenience and a host of other reasons, we visited La Posada many times over the years as my folks live in Albuquerque. It had been 5 years since we actually stayed in the hotel so we were excited for the luxury and always fantastic service.

La Posada has now recently become a Starwood Luxury Property. Usually that would be a positive indicator for me, although I rate Rock Resorts very highly as well. I think this has execution a bit scrambled.

Overall the experience was not exactly what we had come to expect from La Posada. We stayed in a two bedroom suite and it was in pretty rough shape. No views to speak of and one bathroom. It was in desperate need of a makeover. The management tried to accommodate us with another two bedroom suite but it did not pass the wife's inspection and was only made available to us at 6pm. Since we were checking out the next day the move wasn't worth it. It should be noted that this property is historical and the rooms are all very different. There are gems to found but you need to be choosy.

The service in the Staab House Bar, Fuego restaurant and pool was excellent. Super friendly and attentive. Fuego seemed to struggle a bit at times (dinner) with the volume, so I assume that they were short staffed.

Special note to the Bellhop team. You guys deliver! It always a pleasure to drive up and be taken care by the team. They get it done! Thanks guys.

Next time in Santa Fe I would be tempted to try another location as I expect more when paying what you pay for La Posada but La Posada stays on the list.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Santa Fe is a walker's town. We love the location of La Posada- two blocks from the square- but it feels secluded, even so. More than anything, I love the art in this beautiful, long-lived place. It is quirky yet luxurious, a combo that is hard to find and makes it all the more special. It doesn't overdo the Southwestern motif as some hotels do. The bar and restaurant a fabulous places to relax, with dynamic drinks. The restaurant staff is attentive and friendly. The check-in/lobby staff are warm and welcoming, especially Ann Rogers and Morgan Martino who, for us, went above and beyond for every request.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Just finished up a stay at La Posada. We have great friends that stay here and it was a wonderful recommendation. Would stay here again based on the location being a block off canyon drive for the galleries and a block from the plaza. You don't get plaza noise and feel very secluded yet close! Grounds are very lovely as well.

Jennifer at the pool was amazing. We arrived and she had waters all ready and filled them before even empty. She hustled to get drinks. Get the mango piña colada!! One tip is to get there before noon as there are probably only 20 or so lounge chairs. Small area but perfect for relaxing. Service great at the pool.

Our main issues were around check in and the room. Seems others have mentioned this in their reviews since Starwood took over this year. We arrived at 4 and the room was not ready. First person said she would just call us because it shouldn't be too long and we were offered a first round if drinks on them. An hour went by, still no call. Went back spoke with a second check in gal who promptly upgraded us saying she hated making people wait. So that was nice! Ended up in a king suite with fireplace. Room very spacious and clean, although tiny bathroom where only one person could fit at a time. We also went to wrong room at first bc key card packet said 233, but really it was 223. Just a quick fix, but sort of showed they were rushing through. Second day water wasn't working. By the time we came back from pool it was on, but we had to run it a bit as it came out brown!! Ugh. No communication from the hotel on it to us. We took these things in stride as we were on vacation with friends without kids! But a little sloppy considering the overall quality of the hotel. Room tip..they are all different. Next time I would ask for second floor room as we were on first floor and heard every creak and squeak of the people walking above.

Afternoon art walk and wine and food hospitality great! We would definitely come back here assuming that after some time with new ownership they will work out room situations.

Also, eat at the Shed and Cafe Pasquale. Both excellent!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was our third time staying at La Posada in 4 years. We love Sante Fe for the weather, hiking, dining and special atmosphere and this trip did not disappoint on these fronts. We have always stayed at La Posada as a Rock Resort and were surprised to learn upon arrival that it had been taken over by Starwood. Everything looked the same but there were many service lapses this time. The hotel was nice enough to allow us to change rooms (none of our requested rooms had been set aside for us as we had hoped) after one night even though they were busy with weddings and big crowds. This was the beginning of our problems.
When we left the hotel at 8am we were given our new room number and were told our bags, which were packed and ready to go, would be in our new room when we returned in the afternoon. Upon our 2:30pm return, after a day of hiking in the dusty hot Jemez Mountains, our room was not ready so we hung out in our sweaty clothes and waited until 3:30 to get into our room. Throughout all of this the reception staff was apologetic, offering us drinks etc. They could not have been more pleasant or attentive. So we finally get to our room and our bags are not there. We called and were assured they would be there soon. We had dinner reservations at 5:30 and our bags had still not appeared at 5:10. My husband went looking for the bags in our original room. The maids happened to be there. He had left a $20 bill on one of the bags as a tip for the bellman and found that it had disappeared. He grabbed our bags, making two trips across the property and up a flight of stairs (because the elevator was broken).
Housekeeping was slipshod on the first two nights. There was literally a pile of housekeeping garbage outside the adjoining room, including sheets, towels, used glasses and a bag of trash which was tipped over and strewn across the floor - for 24 hours! Our comforter was put on upside down with the opening towards the pillow, which is minor but not nice when the comforter comes out of the cover. Only on our last day did they seem to get it together with an excellent and professional housekeeping effort, including fixing the comforter, tidying up loose items on all surfaces, picking up stuff off the floor and vacuuming, etc.
Having said all of the above we will return to La Posada. We love the location, the right room, and the folks who work there could not be nicer.

Room Tip: Because this place has so many different and quirky types of rooms it is a good idea to ask to see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.