We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service: Clean sweep - unlike the grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Service: Clean sweep - unlike the grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at La Posada and time in Northern New Mexico. In fact we extended our stay to three nights from two. When we arrived, we were booked in a second floor 'suite' but after seeing all the rooms with small porches went back to the front desk to see if there were other options. They were very considerate in offering to see other rooms and we checked out three others before choosing our favorite. So note - all the rooms are very different. We had a ground floor with small patio and our room was cozy. A bit dark, but that's the style. Real wood fireplace was wonderful. The grounds were beautiful but my wife and I wanted to ask for a broom so we could clean up our area - it appeared to not have been swept for many days. Unlike our room, which was very clean. We joked that maybe their landscaping budget had been cut. But overall, this is a very unique place with a great staff. Just a block or two away from the heart of town. Great spot to from which to discover Santa Fe. Their bar and patio make a great spot to have a drink and bite.

Room Tip: It's valet parking only and it can take 10 or so minutes to retrieve you car....so call before y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    102
    71
    31
    21
See reviews for
85
164
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at La Posada with 4 other couples for 4 nights. We were all disappointed in the condition of our rooms. The carpeting was old and dirty, paint was chipped, walls were scuffed. The rooms need redecorating. The linens were upgraded when the hotel became part of the "Luxury Collection" of Starwood a couple of weeks ago. The pillows are enormous, very fat and uncomfortable.
There was a huge communication problem whenever a request was made by phone. One of us left a credit card at a restaurant in town. When he called the next evening to ask if he had left it, our wait person happened to answer the phone and said she'd left a message for him at the hotel saying his card was at the restaurant. Needless to say, he never got that message. Another of us ordered some food to be delivered to a different room. It was delivered to his room. I ordered food to be delivered to some friends from the bar but the person never placed the order. "Oh, I got busy."
The bathtubs are quite slippery and there are no bathmats. One of our group slipped and hit her head and back. She and her husband spent that first evening in the ER. No apology was offered nor was any compensation. Not even a drink or an offer to pick up the room service charge for dinner when they returned from the ER late that evening.
Jennifer who works as a bartender at the pool is the hardest working human being in all of Santa Fe and a bright light on the staff.
Our package included breakfast and a $50 spa credit. Those who had massages said they were excellent. The food at breakfast was delicious as was the guacamole at the pool. The first morning, our food took 45 minutes to arrive and most of the hot food was room temperature. The problem was with the kitchen; the waitstaff was on top of it. They serve fantastic homemade jams - peach, rhubarb and strawberry.

Be sure to ask to have your room serviced before you leave for the day; otherwise it may never happen as was the case with one couple in our group. They asked several times between 2:30 and 10 PM and it never happened. All they got in the end was "turndown" and fresh towels.

We had to call to ask for turndown service as well and they still did not fill the ice bucket which we has been told was part of "turndown" when we checked in.

Room Tip: 247 has a skylight which made the room lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Beautiful, serene, relaxed, elegant, personable. The best grounds and pool area of any hotel in Santa Fe. Great location for plaza and canyon road. Great shuttle service to pick you up if your exploring gets a bit too long.

Room Tip: Away from la peralta
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were very disappointed in the hotel. Our family travels a lot, and we prefer the Starwood brands for the heavenly beds (the best), loyalty programs (amex card) and constancy within the brands. However this hotel should never be classified as 5 star or a luxury collection property.
We should have known we were in trouble when we went to our upgraded room and had to look at 4 other rooms to find something acceptable. The people that we interacted with at the hotel were all great, but the execution of normal tasks and requests left a lot to be desired. The rooms were dirty, old, and had very creaky floors. On our first morning I drank the coffee in the room (service for 1) house keeping did not replace it, at turn down it was not replaced, I called for 3 item before we went out for a late dinner 1) coffee, 2) thinner pillows, 3) extra blanket. The person who took my request read back all 3 items, but 2 items showed up but no coffee. The following morning we called for coffee and after 30 plus minutes of it not showing up, I went out hunting for a house keeping cart and found one grabbed some and got the all allusive morning coffee!
The house keeping staff never cleaned the floors even after calling on the second day. We know because in the bathroom my wife dropped something on the floor of the bathroom just behind the door and when we checked out two days later it was still there, even after calling and asking them to be more through in the cleaning. We used the fireplace and it took two days to clean it out, and they never replaced the wood. Another big issue was the concierge, we asked about a hike to the Nambe waterfalls, he gave us directions (about 40 Min. away), but never told us it was closed on Wednesdays, the day we went. However, that night we read a local magazine and it said it was open Thursday-Sunday, I would expect a hotel concierge to know these things and not waste a good part of our day.

We would return to Santa Fe but we would never recommend or return to La Posada de Santa Fe. I also think that it would be appropriate to rebrand this hotel as a Sheraton at best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear DAS48,

Thank you for the time to do a review. I apologies for the issues you had with housekeeping and the concierge. We use all these reviews as tools for the team. I have reviewed your remarks in the interest of imp[roving our service levels. We are currently in the process of beginning our renovations schedule for the fall. We will be making major improvements in the public areas and rooms. I would look forward to being able to have you back on the property to see the improvements.

If I can every be of assistance please do hesitate to contact me directly.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have stayed here many times and it is just the best around the Plaza. We sometimes think of just trying another hotel but never do. The ground are spacious and immaculate. This resort is on several acres and many buildings. The Fuego restaurant is top notch, with a varied menu. The rooms are recently upgraded and very luxurious. Lots of benches and table with chairs thru oot the resort for relaxing with your morning coffee or evening drink, pool and spa, too. Great linens and bath products. It is just a 2 block walk to the Plaza, The Shed and La Casa Sena restaurants and others. A great luxury resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear JCPC21,

Thank you so much for the time to do a review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. I appreciate the acknowledgement of the property and especially the Bath and Linen products as those are items we have just upgraded with our transition to Luxury Collection.

Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My 3 girlfriends and I went to Santa Fe to celebrate our 50th birthdays. We picked La Posada because they had a 2 bedroom suite. They call themselves a LUXURY property, but they didn't act like one. The bedrooms were really small. In fact one of the bedroom doors didn't open all the way because it ran into the nightstand. There was only 1 pair of slippers in the room. They brought champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, but only 3 of them. We had to call multiple times to complain about different things, such as they never removed the dirty plate of strawberries, never replaced the glasses after we used them, left the towels on the couch, never cleaned the bathroom to our satisfaction. They did comp us a lot of things because of our complaining, but that's not how it should work. The restaurant, spa, pool area and the grounds are lovely, and the location is perfect, but the room accommodations were not up to par or our expectations. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Donnabisio,

I appreciate the time you took to do a review. I apologizes for the issues you experienced during your stay. As a historic resort we have a large variety of accommodations. Almost all of our rooms are unique. I would love the opportunity to host you again in the future and would offer my services to pick the perfect room and would guarantee the experience.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here June 6-10 for a 15 yr anniversary trip. We found the property to be quaint, well maintained and very relaxing. The staff were helpful for the most part. Surprisingly, the concierge was the only one that never went out of their way to help. They almost seemed bothered. However, everyone else was very friendly.
We stayed in a very basic room (king bed w kiva). It was decorated in a rustic decor...beautiful. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. Housekeeping was very inconsistent despite daily tipping. We had to call twice to have our room freshened up.
The grounds are beautiful. The pool is small, but was a perfect place to relax on a hot afternoon. The hotel sits on a great location. Walking distance to the plaza and canyon rd.
We did not use the spa. The facitilites looked a little worn. We did use the exercise room. It's small but adequately stocked.
We had drinks and dessert several nights. Loved the staff in the bar...great drinks. The Tres Leches cake is amazing. We also enjoyed the s'mores by the fire one night.
I hope to return to La Posada soon.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear CamiOhio,

Thank you for the review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed you stay with us. We look forward to your return as well. I have a soft spot for people from Ohio as this is where one side of my family is from. Let me know if I can be of assistance with anything in the future.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.