We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property & Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #30 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property & Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel recently became a starwood property which my husband and I were excited about since he travels for work and has status.

The property was gorgeous and set in a great location where you are only a short walk into the heart of Santa Fe and close to Canyon Road.

The room could have been cleaner as the couch looked like it had stains and there was a spider web in the shower that stayed put our entire visit. It was cool that each room is it's own pueblo vs. the traditional hotel feel.

We sat outside and ordered a glass of wine and desert at Fuego, their on-site restaurant and I wasn't impressed with the service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Maryann G,

Thank you for the time to do a review. I appreciate the acknowledgement of the property. If you do have time I would love to speak with you directly as I'm not sure what room your were in and I'd like to make sure we get the couch cleaned.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
505-954-9610
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    96
    68
    28
    21
See reviews for
78
158
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel with only 2 story buildings and very well manicured grounds. We stayed 5 nights and saw all of Santa Fe, canyon rd., all within walking distance. The restaurant was good and the patio area really nice. The pool was pleasant but a moderate size. We had some hassles nevertheless. The TV had no signal and could not be fixed. A new one was brought in and they still could not get it to work. There was no internet as advertised, probably because our room was near the far edge of the property (204). The housekeeping was poor. We had to call at 4:30PM to get the room cleaned one day. Other days we had only 1 towel and had to call twice over 2 hours to get more. Lastly, we booked directly with them. The reservation rate was not honored and there were double charges. I managed to call the business office a week later and they refunded the erroneous charges without a problem. So overall they were having some issues with housekeeping and a front office in disarray. The resort has great potential but something was not right when we visited in May 2014.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear MN,

Thank you for writing a review. I appreciate the acknowledgement of the restaurant and your positive experience. I do want to apologize for the issues that you experienced. Unfortunately, during the time that you were here we were making some significant changes to our systems as we were becoming part of Luxury Collect. This should not have impacted you but it obviously did. Do to the special circumstance when you were here I would like to invite you back with the first night on us and a complementary upgrade to a suite for your stay.

We look forward to having you back and being able to show off all the improvements that have come with our new brand. Please give me a call at the below number and I will get a gift certificate to you.

At your Service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
505-954-9610
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This Place is amazing! growing up in west texas my family use to come to santa fe all the time, we frequented La fonda most times or the Loretta, but i remember seeing this gated hotel that looked enchanting but never knew what it was. My boyfriend who had never been to santa fe always remembered my stories about this really cool place, determined to find it he was and wow what a amazing hotel! so now every year in June to get away form the hustle and bustle of the DFW we come! the grounds our mesmerizing and the service is fantastic! We both work in customer service and are graded on monthly so I can attest that the red carpet service that La posada gives is truly the best out there! I can see why so many people choose to come here! This is the only place I recommend and cant wait to be there in 3 weeks !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Christina P.

Thanks for the great review. We look forward to having you back. If I can do anything at all to help with you next trip please feel free to give me a call directly. Always helps to have the GM in your corner.

At your service,

Ben Tutt 505-954-9610
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Amazing property! Such a perfect location! Staff made us feel right at home with our dogs, and made sure we were happy with accommodations. We booked a couple of massages and the spa staff is wonderful! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Merrill L,

Appreciate the great review. I'm so glad that you had such a good time away. Your from one of my old homes in Vail. I still have a place there and know how nice it is to get out of town after season. I do have to say I'm jealous of the snow you got this year.

Look forward to your next trip.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I agree, a great location and staff are friendly and helpful. This was the suggested stay for a family wedding and I will say it was definitely more than I would normally pay for a hotel, but a special occasion is just that. I was disappointed in my room, for the price I expected way more than I got. My room was waaayy in the back - quite a walk from the main lobby. I was shocked at the size! I had a King bed, but it would not be a stretch to say that I would have to open the door and jump on the bed to get to the bathroom. A very small room indeed. I asked to move the next morning and was accommodated immediately. I do have to say that the staff was prompt and efficient in responding to any requests that I made. I was shown a new room (much bigger)and the staff moved my belongings as I had events to attend. I needed some alterations to a dress and was directed to someone within minutes of asking and alterations performed overnight. I can say that the staff made this stay pleasant for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear KandKevents,

Thank you for the time to do a review. I appreciate the great acknowledgement of the team here at the hotel. As a resort started in the 1930's we have over 130 different styles of rooms. I always encourage people to let us know if there is anything they don't like about their rooms as we literally have the perfect room for any desire. I'm glad to hear you got into a room that you enjoyed.

When you come again just let me know and we will get your into the room you enjoyed.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Overall this resort is nicely landscaped and beautifully situated on a large property. The staff are friendly and generally helpful. The rooms are comfortable and unique. I was in town for a conference hosted at this resort. The food was delicious and the snacks were also good. There were many logistical issues such as setting up a cash bar when it was supposed to be an open bar, regularly running out of coffee and hot water, charging for parking and the resort fee when those things were supposed to be master billed. The check in process is unecessarily inefficient. Small desks with individual clerks assist through the process when I would prefer the efficiency of a regular front desk. Signage to rooms could be better. The bed was very comfortable and the amenities were nice, but everything should have been exceptional given the cost.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Btailon,

Thank you for the time to do a review and the feedback on the stay. I'm glad your overall experience was a good one and that you enjoyed the hotel. I appreciate the feedback on the other items as we use this feedback to focus an training and service at the hotel. If I can ever be of assistance in the future please let me know.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great location and lots of potential if you like historical hotels but this was just not for me. My room was in need of updating and it did not have any of the cool things (like a nice patio) that others have referenced. Here are the problems I had during my stay: there was no water in the room (I had to call); I could not open the window - I called twice and no one ever came to get it open for me - so no fresh air; a maintenance guy came to my room twice while I was trying to nap (this is before I realized I needed help getting the window opened) - the first time he came he needed to install a smoke detector in my bathroom and then an hour later he came back because he needed to take a picture of what he installed; the shade in the bathroom did not cover the entire window and someone could easily look inside and see me in the shower - not that anyone would want to do this but they COULD and it made me uncomfortable. Other areas of the hotel had upgraded rooms but not mine - also, I was given a handicapped room - I did not ask for one and I was not told that I was getting one - seems like it would have been appropriate to tell me. Too many issues for me to recommend this place. Sorry...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Gratefulrich,

Thank you for the time to do a review. My apologies for the issues during your stay. As we went through our transition we had to upgrade some items in the rooms and get new supplies. Part of this was the alarms, window locks, and changing out of waters. I regret that this impacted you. I would like the opportunity to make it up to you and get you back to the hotel to see the improvements.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
505-954-9610
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#29 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.