We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Charming, pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My rating is actually 4 & 1/2 stars. We booked a standard king room but asked for a gas fireplace upon arrival & were upgraded to a Spa King room. Absolutely lovey, spacious, comfortable room with a balcony & view of the grounds. Very nice large bathroom with double sinks & separate shower.

The grounds were beautiful with foilage & interesting architecture at every turn. Had it been just a little warmer outside, we would have taken advantage of the wonderful courtyard/patio area for food and drinks.

The staff at the hotel/resort was very friendly and attentive. The extra touches provided by the hotel made it very warm & inviting, such as the evening wine/appetizer reception. The valet service was very fast & convenient. And shuttle service provided to wherever we wanted to go was very efficient. They treated us like first class.

The on-site restaurant, Fuego, was excellent with a wonderful atmosphere. We had dinner once & breakfast twice. Except for my one dinner (which was my fault for ordering wrong), the food was absolutely delicious. Especially the breakfast entrees, such as Huevos Rancheros. Very gourmet. The service was excellent as well.

There were just a few minor problems in the room, such as the safe not locking and both the clocks having the wrong time & not able to change them. At check-out, we were delayed by having to wait for an attendant as one was busy and the other took a phone call instead of helping us.

But overall, we were extremely pleased with this lovely hotel/resort and would not hesitate to go back. In fact, we are looking forward to it.

Room Tip: A Spa room is well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    119
    82
    36
    25
See reviews for
96
193
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I so desperately want to give them more then 3 stars. The resort is beautiful. Everyone we met was so friendly and kind. Everyone was so happy and smiled whenever you saw them. The rooms were nice and clean keeping with the tradition of the region. The spa was great, very clean and quiet. The concierge the desk staff everyone was great. We want to particularly acknowledge, Tom and Nancy at the concierge desk, Unique at the registration desk, Alley in the spa who does an amazing pedicure, Ibrahim who does a world class thai massage and the two esthetcians who did our facials.
Okay so here's where the stars come off. The bathroom was too small. Our room could sleep 4 people, no way 4 people could use that bathroom, there were two of us an it was cramped. The bed and pillows are too soft. I woke the first morning with a kink in my neck. I used the decorative pillows to sleep on because they were firmer. The food at the restaurant, specifically the bar was less then great. We ordered cocktails with the hummus and it was sour. We had the truffle fries which were good but the dipping sauce was okay at best. When we checked in they had no spa menus at the front desk. The reason, they have been acquired by starwood properties and so they are waiting for the new menus. Ask me if I care. My mom spent almost $1500 for 2 nights, get me a spa menu. We had called weeks earlier to book our appointments and they said no need to rush and book, its our slow season. But when we got to the resort and the spa availability was limited. Sue Ann and Andrea did the best they could to accommodate us and I can't say we missed anything. It was just a little more difficult then it needed to be. The furniture in the spa is old you can see the leather chairs coming apart at the seams. We spent some time at the pool which appeared to be clean, etc...The bar at the pool was closed. I walked to the lobby to ask for a server to come out. It took about 30 minutes. This happened twice. The spa assistant who moves the laundry and brings in new linens checked in on us at the pool twice but no one else. Can you imagine how much more they would have made on us if they came around more often? Okay one final thing. We had a 2 nights with 3 spa treatments each for two people. At check out when I looked at the folio, out bill was over $900. When I went over it line by line it ended up coming down to $300 which made more sense. So here's my question, if we hadn't been diligent in reviewing the bill would we have over paid? I am sorry to think I may know the answer to that question. Overall, the location and the people that work there are terrific!! But man they could do some things a little better. My mom and I had a terrific time together.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We love La Posada. There were a couple of problems the day we checked in with our room. They called us and asked if we'd like to move to a suite. Oh my it was wonderful. It made our entire trip. This was not our first stay at La Posada we've been there 5 times. We love the grounds, the original house and the staff. We will be back!

Room Tip: Always choose a room away from the street. We prefer upstairs to downstairs. Stay in a newer sectio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

La Posada de Santa Fe is a landmark. Perfectly situated for strolling the town in a sunny garden setting with one of the oldest fine building with lots of history and personality while being totally classy. Staff members are completely determined to make you happy. The art housed on the walls make a perfect gallery with Sara Eyestone giving great 'tour' each Friday about 4 PM. Call her at 505-577-4991 to check details. You will love your stay or just your 'tour'. One of the secrets of Santa Fe from someone who has lived here for over 20 years.

Room Tip: Variety from in the old but wonderful building to small guest cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Five nights in Santa Fe at Christmas was wonderful. Canyon Road on Christmas Eve is a beautiful and fun experience with thousands of people enjoying the luminaries and fire pits. The visit was magical in many ways. La Posada was just what you would expect with style of rooms and facilities. Our room was fine but cleaning staff was always very late in the day, coming as we were getting ready for dinner! Lounge and restaurant were very good. Great visit.

Room Tip: we had requested room with fireplace........fun in winter but don't need in summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I recently stayed at La Posada Hotel and Spa in Santa Fe, just for an overnight on business. I have frequested their Staab Lounge many times but never stayed over. We were given incorrect directions to the room, but the check-in guy realized his mistake and chased after us to show us the way. We got room 249, which was up one flight of steep stairs. The outside door had been left open and sticks and leaves had gathered in the doorway-a natural touch- but in a bad way. The room was large and well-appointed, but it lacked the comfort and ambiance anticipated. There were cracks in the walls, uneven flooring, the wood window seal was cracked and rotting. BUT, the location is great, just steps to the center of the Historic Town and close walking to just about everything.

When checking out I called ahead to have my bags brought down, so I could dash to a meeting. I waited 20 minutes and asked 2 staff to try and locate where they were. Finally I got someone to go look for them. They finally showed up on the curb- unattended-end of story.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Outstanding casual low-profile hotel just 2 blocks off the square in Santa Fe. Spacious grounds with comfortable patio areas, walking distance to restaurants and the galleries on Canyon Road. Staff and service are excellent; restaurant very good. The rooms are spread out in one-story casitas across the hotel grounds. Rooms are smallish and reminiscent of "Route 66" motels, but clean and charming. If in winter ask for a room with a fireplace; you can stock up on pinion firewood in the lobby, or ask the staff to deliver an armload to you. Spa on premises which we did not use, but said to be good. Rates are reasonable compared to other Santa Fe options in the same vicinity. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: If in winter, ask for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.