We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, unique property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful, unique property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Exquisite rooms and first rate service. We stayed in the main house after asking for a room with a tub. The room was impeccably decorated and felt like we were in a Wild West saloon. The noise was intense sleeping above the bar, but we'll go back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    96
    68
    27
    20
See reviews for
77
157
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I have mixed emotions about the La Posada Resort. Our stay there could possibly be a great experience ignoring what we found in our room on the last day of our stay. I will first go over what we liked about this resort and then explain the incidence.

La Posada is a beautiful historical resort, conveniently located within walking distance of major attractions and restaurants of Santa Fe. The beautiful New Mexican architecture and the unique room designs makes it stand out from any other resort. Our "Fire Place King" room was a clean and specious one bedroom suite with a cozy living room. Our room was located on the far east side of the resort, next to Paseo De Peralta street, but there was absolutely no street noise. Upon request, our room came with a wood burning fireplace, which was fun and easy to lit. Strongly recommended if you are visiting during winter! Internet speed was great most of the time.

Staff and social events: The check-in was fast and the front desk staff were polite but could have been more welcoming. One thing we really enjoyed during our stay was the late afternoon socials in the lobby. Everyday a fun event was taking place. We went to Wednesday "s'mores by the fire" and Thursday "cheese and wine tasting" and got to drink and socialize with other guests in a very friendly setting, which we enjoyed a lot.

Parking: There are a limited number of parking spots available on the properties and during the busy season the valet uses them for big trucks and SUVs. They park the rest of the cars somewhere else and that was a bit inconvenient. We were on a road trip and had left a lot of our stuff in the car and every time we needed something, we had to ask valet to bring us the car and drive it back a few minutes later, needless to mention that you have to tip every single time!

Dining: The "Patio Restaurant" is closed during the Winter season. The "Staab House" and "Fuego" are on the pricey side but offer a wide selection of food and drinks. Our favorite meal was breakfast at Fuego's.

Spa & fitness center: The 24/7 fitness room was very clean and had a good collection of equipment and weights. At no extra cost, resort guests could use the eucalyptus steam room. Taking advantage of the steam room is highly recommended, considering how harsh the dry winter weather can be on your skin. My wife also got a facial service at the Spa that she enjoyed a lot.

And here comes the worst thing that happened to us during our stay; the first morning we woke up, I noticed my protein bar, that I had left on top of the coffee table the night before, was a bit torn and had tiny chew marks on it. We didn't take it seriously and I ate it later that day. On the third day, as we were packing to leave, my wife found two of her sealed hot chocolate mix packets ripped open and chewed up! Next to the packets, tiny pieces of the torn up paper and hot chocolate powder scattered throughout the luggage. We also found an animal hair. We could tell from the size of the chew marks that one or more rodents had enjoyed our company and foods as we stayed there. We were quite shocked; never expected to have a rodent in a pricey/high end resort room! We took all the "evidence" to the manager, who honestly didn't seem very surprised. He collected our bag of evidence, apologized for the problem and partially reimbursed us for the last night of the stay and fully for the resort fees. Luckily, I didn't get sick from eating the contaminated protein bar but I hope they have taken some action and fixed their pest problem by now; for the sake of future guest's health.

We enjoyed our stay but will we return? Probably not.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Babak F,

Thank you for writing such a detailed review. It is a very good summary of the property and it seemed to me that with the one exception it was a great trip. I want to apologize for the incident with your protein bars and hot chocolate. This is not typical at the property. We are set on 6 acres and with the outdoor setting we have to continually monitor issues like this. We have a contract with pest control and the property is monitored with a perimeter against such issues on a month basis.

When you departed we went back to the room and had our company come back in and service that area. I would like to make it up to you. Your last statement was that you enjoyed your stay but will you return? If you have time I'd love to discuss this as I believe we can give you some good incentive and I would appreciate an opportunity to win you back as a client.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I'm an Albuquerque local who frequently stays in Santa Fe hotels for business. Having lodged in all top Santa Fe hotels, La Posada is indeed among the very best. Every room is slightly different, which I personally love (character and all), and the food & drinks are top-notch. I frequently host business meetings in their front rooms, and enjoy the bar after work. Can't beat its location one block from the Plaza, and from many quality restaurants and museums.

Room Tip: Since every room is slightly different, don't hesitate to ask to view different rooms upon check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Republic, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was a beautiful resort with exceptional service by the staff. We had a wonderful room -- it was comfy despite the weather we had (it was snowing)! I was happy we had a fireplace....but the only problem we had is the fireplace caused the room to fill with smoke. The flute was open so not sure why...the smoke alarm ended up going off in middle of night so we had to open windows to air out. Our clothing smelled like smoke after leaving. :) This didn't ruin our trip -- we enjoyed the restaurant and bar -- we enjoyed the spa -- had a wonderful couples massage....and we even enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub in the evening after dinner and great margaritas! We love the resort and would go back --- want to go back in warmer weather so we can see more of Santa Fe. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We finally got to stay at La Posada and to my amazement it was wonderful. The staff was extremely helpful and nice the room was spacious yet cozy with a fireplace. The original Stabb house is so outstanding. It is the Victorian Mansion that the hotel was built around. It has a beautiful bar to the left of the entry and to the right is a room the you can dine in or have a business meeting called the Rose Room. Further down the hall is a lovely library with comfy couches and once again a fireplace. The whole house is filled with beautiful oil painting and works of art. The ambiance is amazing. Also a bonus is the salt water hot tub and pool, both are outside but heated. Glad that we tried again. It was well worth it !

Room Tip: The original house rooms are from another era while the casitas are very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed for two nights over valentine weekend. The price quoted for the room we wanted and the actual charge was 100.00 per night higher. It is a nice facility with nice grounds and casitas. When we arrived they put us in the wrong room type. It is close to the square and the staff was accomodating. They charge 30.00 extra per day for valet parking and other items such as internet. They do have two suburbans that take you within two miles of the hotel and pick you up which was nice. Being aware of bad billing service when we checked out they had overcharged by over 400.00. They have finally corrected but a nightmare to say the least. If you stay have everything in writing as it seems they are either trying to reap people off or do not know what they are doing...a little of both I believe. John McGavock, Global Travel International

Room Tip: King bed with patio and fire place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had a wonderful snack of cheeses and fruits in the garden on a sunny afternoon....very relaxing after a day of shopping on the Plaza. Our server was pleasant and the iced tea refreshing. Did not stay in a room, but wandered around to see the cute casitas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#29 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.