We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay but watch your bill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Plainview, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay but watch your bill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed for two nights over valentine weekend. The price quoted for the room we wanted and the actual charge was 100.00 per night higher. It is a nice facility with nice grounds and casitas. When we arrived they put us in the wrong room type. It is close to the square and the staff was accomodating. They charge 30.00 extra per day for valet parking and other items such as internet. They do have two suburbans that take you within two miles of the hotel and pick you up which was nice. Being aware of bad billing service when we checked out they had overcharged by over 400.00. They have finally corrected but a nightmare to say the least. If you stay have everything in writing as it seems they are either trying to reap people off or do not know what they are doing...a little of both I believe. John McGavock, Global Travel International

Room Tip: King bed with patio and fire place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    124
    85
    36
    28
See reviews for
99
203
16
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had a wonderful snack of cheeses and fruits in the garden on a sunny afternoon....very relaxing after a day of shopping on the Plaza. Our server was pleasant and the iced tea refreshing. Did not stay in a room, but wandered around to see the cute casitas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

My assistant booked rooms here for a business trip. Check-in was ok. Room was mediocre and not at all what I expected for the price. We stayed in a deluxe room. Someone's random pieces of hair were scattered around the bathroom. Turn down service consists of an Andy's mint. Why bother? Leaves blown all over the sidewalk. Apparently housekeeping doesn't bother to sweep the entrance areas outside rooms. Cool. Rustic, right?

Because we were tired, we had dinner at the el fuego. We sat for about 5 minutes before anyone took our drink order. Then another 15 minutes before they took our order. 40 minutes before food was delivered. Food was mediocre. Salmon, green chili stew, even the cheeseburger was mediocre. Pretty sure the bun on the burger was from Safeway. 1 star service. 2 star food. 3 star prices. Don't bother. You'll be disappointed.

I love Santa Fe, and I'm one of the easiest going, down to earth people you'll ever meet. There were numerous other problems with our stay, but they are similar to the other reviews.

You would be better off staying at a holiday inn. Trust me.... Save your money and avoid this place like the plague.

Absolutely one of the most overpriced hotels I've ever stayed in. It's obvious that they want to be a 5 star hotel, but they don't want to spend the money on improvements or staff who understand anything about hospitality.

Will never come back here. I hope the place burns to the ground.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Found a decent rate online last minute, and actually liked the king room with fireplace and patio that we ended up getting. Problem was all of the extras that were added without our prior knowledge including a hefty daily resort fee, valet parking fee, high automatic tips (19%) for things like a bottle of wine, etc. Be careful because you'll end up spending more than you initially think. Also, maid service did not replenish soap/shampoos between nights. Also have heard that not all the rooms are as well maintained as others. Staff were all friendly though. Well located between canyon road and the central plaza. Would perhaps consider staying here again?

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We attended a wedding so here so can only comment on that, as we did not see the rooms or experience any of the other amenities.

My girlfriend and came to a wedding here summer 13'. I am just now catching up on my reviews. The venue was amazing, all of the staff wonderful, and weather to die for. This is just to let anybody thinking about planning a wedding here, you won't be disappointed... We also attended a morning after brunch that was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I met my mom here for a long weekend and we have enjoyed every minute. The room was spacious and comfortable. The art, decor, and furnishings in the common spaces throughout the hotel were exceptional. The curator has done an amazing job collecting quality art pieces that compliment the historic mansion, but also create such charm and accessibility to make it feel like your living room. We could have stayed for hours in front of the fire and in the small sitting rooms, and we did! The Friday night appetizers and art tour with the curator was amazing. Not to be missed. The spa treatments were very well done (though expensive but probably comparable to other spa prices in town). Most of the service was very good and friendly. The shuttle service around town was a fantastic addition. A minor comment is that some of the staff upon arrival and departure seemed to lack experience. For example, it would have been nice to have been shown to our room since the layout is not easy. Also, when trying to get help calling for an airport shuttle, the receptionist staff seemed confused. One other minor comment is that the showers are only so-so. Other than those minor things that can be fixed with some attention, the hotel as a whole was an A plus and made our visit to Santa Fe extremely memorable and special. We will definitely be back and look forward to it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were only able to spend one night at this charming hotel in Santa Fe so we did not really mind that the room was very small, as some other reviewers have mentioned. The fireplace made the room cozy and snug. The hotel accommodated our dog (for a fee) and having the crate in the room made for even less room but still we were very happy to enjoy the New Mexico hacienda flavor of this hotel. We had very good breakfast in the dinning room and the bar looked wonderful. I especially liked the many lovely paintings by local artists that were displayed for sale on the walls in the main building. It was wonderful to see a business supporting the excellent local artists in this way. I understand that the paintings are changed on a regular basis.
I carelessly left a small toiletry bag hanging on the back of the bathroom door when we checked out. I realized it several hours later when we were quite a ways away and called immediately. The call was handled very graciously and the woman said it had not been turned in but she would look for it. I left my number and received a call back from her several hours later to say it had not been found. I continued to call daily for five days before deciding that it was a lost cause. On the sixth day the hotel called to say they had the bag and, as I asked, they sent it to me right way. I am not sure why it took so long to find it but I was impressed that the people I dealt with were so willing to help and that when they found it they took the initiative to call me. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are after an 'old Santa Fe' experience. They do have larger suites, of course. It may not be for those who want a sleek, modern style room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace for a cozy experience...winters can be cold in Santa Fe. If you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.