We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a reunion!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place for a reunion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We are 18 former neighbors who have been getting together for New Year's for the past 30 years. La Posada was the PERFECT
hotel/resort for our reunion this year. The hotel is within a few blocks of all the major tourist attractions in the city, especially The Plaza, with its Indian market, and Canyon Road, with art galleries galore. The rooms were perfect, especially ours, which was the suite where we all met for wine and cheese nightly before dinner. The Concierge was incredibly helpful in planning our group tours, as well as the shuttle to and from the Albuquerque airport. The Reservations staff gave us the best rates ever. The Art Curator presented an extremely informative talk on the hotel's history and a tour of the art collection, with information about the sale of artworks and the artists themselves. But the Crowning Glory was the SHUTTLE. Our party included 3 pre- and post- knee surgery members, and one woman on crutches. The drivers took them, and any others who wanted a ride, to and from dinner engagements, museums, shopping, and tourist attractions. Our stay was made infinitely more pleasant, and all of us were able to participate because of them. We would HIGHLY recommend La Posada for family and friends' gatherings, couples' vacations, and business stays. We hope to go back with our children and grandchldren to enjoy the summertime activities. [TripAdvisor: PLEASE SIGN ME "Joyce W."]

Room Tip: Every one of the 157 rooms is unique. There are many little Southwestern "casas/houses," w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    119
    82
    36
    25
See reviews for
96
193
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for years with very good results until the last visit. Although the room was very nice ...as usual...the service was under par. Even though I had a letter from an assistance manager saying I would get a $100 credit for spa or restaurant usage...the manager person I spoke to at check out...refused to give me the credit saying it was a mistake. He took the letter so I have nothing to go back with but it left me with a very bad taste for e whole incident. We will be back to Sante Fe but will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Xbbuch,

Thank you for the time to do a tripadvisor. I wanted to update you on events at the hotel. We have changed ownership and have become part of the Luxury Collection with Starwood. This has included a significant investment in the property and additional renovation plans. I know you had challenges with this last visit but I would like to welcome you back to see the changes that have been made. I'd love to personally handle your reservation. Please feel free to reach out directly.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
505-954-9610
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The whole staff, from lobby to housekeeping, were excellent and so willing to please every guest, dogs included! The room had a divine bed and a wonderful bathroom. My dog was treated like a person with respect and kindness from every one of the employees.


Room Tip: Each room is different. My room was very comfortable and my brother and his wife's room was lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

While we did not stay at La Posada, we did make time to visit their spa for a much needed massage. The spa is quite relaxing and enjoyable. A little bit of civility and relaxation to allow some centering.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

La Posada de Santa Fe is not your typical resort getaway. At 6 acres and 157 rooms, it is a relatively small property. It is also a historic property, meaning the buildings have some age to them. Rooms are contained in numerous small buildings (casitas), so just about every room has it's own exterior entry - no long hallways here. The property was also extensively remodeled Having said that, there are some things to be aware of.

The remodel is now showing a bit of its own age, and is probably due for a refresh. Because of the historic nature of the property, each casita, and each room, are unique. Some show their age more than others, but in all my stays I've never been in one that is bad. However, the remodelers did appear to take some short cuts - such as doors with years of painting on them (over the hinges, etc.) rather than being properly stripped and refinished. Not a big deal, but not the quality one would expect to see in a high-end resort.

Bathrooms are often the weak link in hotels, expensive and cheap. While attempts have been made to keep La Posada up-to-date, a couple of mistakes were made. Then bathroom window in our room appeared to be non-insulated, so in the winter it transmits a lot of cold air into the bathroom.

A design error that too many hotels make is the use of the curved shower curtain rod. Maybe this gives the user the feeling the shower is larger than it actually is? Regardless, the result is usually that the curvature adds enough linear inches to make a standard shower curtain too short to keep water from splashing on the floor. Either do away with the curved rod or order curtains that are long enough to completely keep water inside the shower.

When staying at a resort like La Posada, be aware that you will most likely be charged a resort fee. La Posada discloses this upfront - a $30 daily resort fee, but offsets it with a $40 daily breakfast credit. Chances are you won't have EVERY breakfast at the hotel, but it is one way to minimize this fee.

Personally, I am not happy that US hotels large and small appear to be adding this non-negotiable fee to their rates. It probably offsets the lost revenue they used to get from telephone sue, minibar purchases, etc. But ALWAYS check first to see if there is a resort fee added on top of your room rate.

While La Posada does offer free valet parking, self-parking does not appear to be an option. Like I said, the property is small and parking is limited. (Although before the remodel, one could park close to their room.) They do not charge for valet parking, although that cost may be figured into the resort fee, as well as Wi-Fi (unfortunately slow) and other items.

You are also charged $1/day for donation to the restoration of a nearby park. A nice idea, but, again, this fee is not generally disclosed upfront and I suspect there is no option to have it removed.

La Posada lacks some of amenities you might find in a larger property - dining choices are limited (and generally upscale) and I did not see a "gift shop" for general travel sundries.

La Posada is a fine, older property, within walking distance of many local amenities, shopping, and dining. I've stayed there numerous times over a 20 year period and will return. However, note that it does come with some minor drawbacks (maintenance/upkeep, on-site amenities, parking, additional fees). None of these are "deal breakers", so check out La Posada with these in mind.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Cororado, USA
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at La Posada 30 years ago and we returned because we remembered a very charming and comfortable place. It's really not that any longer. Every aspect of the place is more upscale. We had stayed in one of the casitas with a small patio, so reserved one again. The coziness was replaced with grandeur. Lounge chairs in front of the fireplace, enormous bathroom and very high ceilings. Nice, but not very charming. With all this move to upscale accommodations, we were surprised to find a lack of attention to detail by the cleaning staff. On one day, there were no washcloths in the bathroom, on another there were no matches for the fireplace and on yet another there was no wood for the fireplace. We had breakfast on only one morning and were very disappointed. The Mexican-style breakfasts (two different ones) that we ordered were extremely bland, not at all up to what we found at other Santa Fe restaurants. We'll probably try a different place when we return to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

A casita style hotel where each room is unique, La Posada has charm and a good and friendly staff. Fun bar, good restaurant and nice if small spa, it is charming in an old world sense, not a slick steel and glass cube. We have stayed there for years and enjoy this character but not everyone does. Beware of the Concierge who can sometimes be a bit rude and self-assured, but most staff try their hardest and do a good job overall. Relax and enjoy LaPo!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.