We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different kind of resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“A different kind of resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

La Posada de Santa Fe is not your typical resort getaway. At 6 acres and 157 rooms, it is a relatively small property. It is also a historic property, meaning the buildings have some age to them. Rooms are contained in numerous small buildings (casitas), so just about every room has it's own exterior entry - no long hallways here. The property was also extensively remodeled Having said that, there are some things to be aware of.

The remodel is now showing a bit of its own age, and is probably due for a refresh. Because of the historic nature of the property, each casita, and each room, are unique. Some show their age more than others, but in all my stays I've never been in one that is bad. However, the remodelers did appear to take some short cuts - such as doors with years of painting on them (over the hinges, etc.) rather than being properly stripped and refinished. Not a big deal, but not the quality one would expect to see in a high-end resort.

Bathrooms are often the weak link in hotels, expensive and cheap. While attempts have been made to keep La Posada up-to-date, a couple of mistakes were made. Then bathroom window in our room appeared to be non-insulated, so in the winter it transmits a lot of cold air into the bathroom.

A design error that too many hotels make is the use of the curved shower curtain rod. Maybe this gives the user the feeling the shower is larger than it actually is? Regardless, the result is usually that the curvature adds enough linear inches to make a standard shower curtain too short to keep water from splashing on the floor. Either do away with the curved rod or order curtains that are long enough to completely keep water inside the shower.

When staying at a resort like La Posada, be aware that you will most likely be charged a resort fee. La Posada discloses this upfront - a $30 daily resort fee, but offsets it with a $40 daily breakfast credit. Chances are you won't have EVERY breakfast at the hotel, but it is one way to minimize this fee.

Personally, I am not happy that US hotels large and small appear to be adding this non-negotiable fee to their rates. It probably offsets the lost revenue they used to get from telephone sue, minibar purchases, etc. But ALWAYS check first to see if there is a resort fee added on top of your room rate.

While La Posada does offer free valet parking, self-parking does not appear to be an option. Like I said, the property is small and parking is limited. (Although before the remodel, one could park close to their room.) They do not charge for valet parking, although that cost may be figured into the resort fee, as well as Wi-Fi (unfortunately slow) and other items.

You are also charged $1/day for donation to the restoration of a nearby park. A nice idea, but, again, this fee is not generally disclosed upfront and I suspect there is no option to have it removed.

La Posada lacks some of amenities you might find in a larger property - dining choices are limited (and generally upscale) and I did not see a "gift shop" for general travel sundries.

La Posada is a fine, older property, within walking distance of many local amenities, shopping, and dining. I've stayed there numerous times over a 20 year period and will return. However, note that it does come with some minor drawbacks (maintenance/upkeep, on-site amenities, parking, additional fees). None of these are "deal breakers", so check out La Posada with these in mind.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    119
    82
    36
    24
See reviews for
96
193
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Cororado, USA
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at La Posada 30 years ago and we returned because we remembered a very charming and comfortable place. It's really not that any longer. Every aspect of the place is more upscale. We had stayed in one of the casitas with a small patio, so reserved one again. The coziness was replaced with grandeur. Lounge chairs in front of the fireplace, enormous bathroom and very high ceilings. Nice, but not very charming. With all this move to upscale accommodations, we were surprised to find a lack of attention to detail by the cleaning staff. On one day, there were no washcloths in the bathroom, on another there were no matches for the fireplace and on yet another there was no wood for the fireplace. We had breakfast on only one morning and were very disappointed. The Mexican-style breakfasts (two different ones) that we ordered were extremely bland, not at all up to what we found at other Santa Fe restaurants. We'll probably try a different place when we return to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

A casita style hotel where each room is unique, La Posada has charm and a good and friendly staff. Fun bar, good restaurant and nice if small spa, it is charming in an old world sense, not a slick steel and glass cube. We have stayed there for years and enjoy this character but not everyone does. Beware of the Concierge who can sometimes be a bit rude and self-assured, but most staff try their hardest and do a good job overall. Relax and enjoy LaPo!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

One of the best customer service experiences we have ever had in a hotel. Romantic room, with a kiva fireplace and nightly delivery of piñon. Lovely property and setting just blocks from the Plaza. 'Smores by the lobby fireplace was a lovely touch, and the Margarita pedicures in the spa were bliss. We loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We travel to Santa Fe often and always try to stay at La Posada - it is truly an exceptional place where they have created a wonderful atmosphere and experience. Unique rooms, great service, excellent location (quiet, peaceful, yet a short walk to the Plaza) all adds up to an exceptional stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We absolutely enjoyed this resort. The staff was friendly, the room clean and comfortable. I enjoyed a heated pool and hot tub in December! The artwork around the main building and grounds was like visiting a museum, except with a cup of cocoa and a fresh cookie in hand. The only disappointment was the loud music coming from an event on a Saturday night. This kept us up until midnight.

Room Tip: There are beautiful rooms with fireplaces and patio's. Be sure to get one that meets the season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed here in August on a girls' trip. My sister and our young adult daughters spent 3 nights at the property in 2 rooms. The rooms were large with large bathrooms. The sleep quality was good, along with the linens. The rooms were similar to other premium properties in Santa Fe with a distinct regional style. The grounds were lovely in the traditional style as well. The location is close to the plaza with easy access to walk to anything. We would not hesitate to book here again. Parking is valet only.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.