We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T STAY HERE!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“DON'T STAY HERE!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We pulled up to the hotel and we were sooo excited to be there. It was our once a year outing for my birthday weekend with our children and our nephews. When we walked in the place looked beautiful until we went to check in. We walk to the front desk and were told that the rooms that I had ALREADY paid for were not available. (Not to mention that I had called an hour and a half earlier to confirm and to request a porta-crib.)They had over booked the hotel and we had been bumped! I couldn't believe it. As we were walking out and saying to my hubby that I was disgusted, another patron overheard me and said the same thing happened to her the night before! The manager said that he found some other rooms for us at another local hotel. We pile the kids back into the car only to go and find 2 rooms that do not have enough beds for all of us to sleep. The whole weekend was ruined and we had to pack crying kids into the car and drive back to Albuquerque. DON'T STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    114
    77
    35
    22
See reviews for
93
184
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Island, Nebraska, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Seven years ago I traveled to Santa Fe on a solo vacation. I knew I would like it, but didn't know I would Love it. Staying at the La Posada de Santa Fe was a great choice then and was one of the aspects I was looking forward to experiencing again. I was not disappointed; the location, art, service, food, spa (although a little too expensive) room, history, ambiance etc were all fabulous and it will not be seven years before I return. Thank you, La Posada de Santa Fe, thank you.

Room Tip: The 19% gratuity at the spa is too much and can be lowered by the guest just by stating another amou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, Usa
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I spent the night here on the way back to Denver. Great location, the Plaza is a short walk, however we utilized the shuttle which runs nightly to 11 pm. Very quiet, the king size bed was very comfortable. We didn't have time to use the facilities, however we would definitely come back again. The fireplace made the stay memorable.

Room Tip: If you book your room on Priceline, the resort fee of $30, taxes are not included in your bid. If yo...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had our two dogs with us so they upgraded us to a larger room on the first floor. It was a very nice, very clean room and it was definitely more than adequate for us and our dogs. There seemed to be an extra chair in the room which was kinda in the way when walking from the bedroom to the sitting/tv area but not a big deal, especially since we were only there one night, and the rest of the room was fine. It overlooked the pool area which was small but nice and very tropical feeling with lots of plants around it and lounge chairs.
We were able to bring our dogs with us and eat in the lounge area. The food was great but not a lot of selection in the lounge. The restaurant, which we did not eat at, has a larger menu.
The dog potty area was a short walk to the rear of the hotel. Not a big deal.
The area was really nice, right in Old Santa Fe, good to walk around with the dogs for some exercise.
They had a laundry room, only 1 washer and 1 dryer, but it wasn't busy, worked out perfectly for us to do a load of laundry on our road trip. It was a little confusing to find it, but eventually I did, and it was on one of the upper floors and all the hallways look the same, I can see how you could easily get confused and turned around up there but I managed.
The staff was very nice and accommodating. They provided a map of the area, and also where to bring the dogs to do their business, and even had quarters for the laundry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgique
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

When crossing the monumental entrance and look at the first too dark adobe casitas , you hope for a nice stay...
but you also will meet the slowest meal service ever , the search for your room at night which is a nightmare without a torch and an erratic room management .

Room Tip: For once , try to stay rather near the reception but stay away from the parking lots
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was the fifth time booking a stay at La Posada. A special date for my wife and our 8 year-old before her little brother is born. As always, perfect service, amazing food, familiar faces that recognize you and address you by name when you drive to the front door... This time they got a suite with a wood burning fireplace, definitely worth the extra morning in the fall and the winter months. This is just the perfect hotel for Santa Fe, great location and amenities (the hot tub and the spa are 2 of our favorites) with a professional but genuinely friendly and personable staff that really cares about you and your needs.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

However the rooms are in serious need of repair. We requested a king bed and the first rom they gave us was a very small queen room right next to an outdoor wedding, The room was freezing, had plaster falling off the walls and smelled terrible. They did move us to a bigger room which we suspect might have been a laundry room at one point. It was bigger with 2 queen beds but also had plaster falling off the wall. Additionally the windows were so old that we had to have the heat jacked up all the way to keep the room warm enough. There was no way to keep the bathroom warm except to keep the door open as the were no heat vents in the bathroom. The staff was wonderful and helpful. The resort has the ability to be great again but they really need to spend some time and money renovating their rooms,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.