We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place in a lovely city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely Place in a lovely city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We went to this resort for a wedding nearby. It is a well-kept, attractive place only a few blocks from town. It is an interesting town with no shortage of lovely things to purchase. In addition, at least while we were there in late August, local native Americans set up their wares in town. There was also an art show and a great fair going on. One more thing about the town - we didn't find one bad restaurant. We were pleased with every meal we purchased and the prices are better than in NY. As for the hotel, the room was decent size - not large. The only closet was in the bathroom. There is a fireplace. The room was clean but I was not impressed with housekeeping. There was supposed to be turn down service but of the 3 nights, that happened once (which we really don't care about anyway). Housekeeping arrived late. Once they came at 3:30 while we were changing for the wedding so we told them not to come in. Other people complained of the same thing - leaving their rooms in the morning and coming back at around 3 to relax at the pool and the room was still not made up. I liked the spa treatment I received and thought the treatment was very professionally done. In addition,they didn't push me to purchase anything at the end, which I find to be very unusual but refreshing. The spa treatment is not cheap but I enjoyed the spa. The pool was nice and the young woman in charge was wonderful and aware of everyone around. She brought over an ice water with lemon to every person who came in while she was also bartending. We only had breakfast here so I couldn't comment on the restaurants, but the breakfast was good and wasn't any more expensive than breakfast in town. The 2 concierges I spoke with were always warm and helpful. There is an SUV that will drive you to locations within 2 miles of the resort but there may be a wait at times but it is a nice convenience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    124
    85
    36
    28
See reviews for
99
203
16
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We drove up for a quite weekend. The resort is located within walking distance from the plaza. The food was good. They have a nice salt water pool/hot tub. A few pool toy around for kids. Also they have a nice steam room.

The hotel room is okay. It is nothing more than average at best. THE BED IS THE WOREST BED I HAVE EVER SLEPT IN AT A "LUXURY HOTEL". At 400.00 a night with tax, will not return, just due to the actual mattress. We actually both woke up in the middle of the night sore and rolling around. The suite was nice size.

After such a pool night sleep, we did not hang around. We packed up and moved on down the road.

Room Tip: Ask where the new mattress are located
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I go to Santa Fe for work a few times a year. I have tried several hotels there. La Posada is the one I tend to stay most.

It is a very nice property (spacious) and the common spaces have a lot of character. I like the curator/art scene. On the negative side, the standard rooms are super, super tiny. Also, the disappointment comes from pictures on the site and common areas that make the hotel look splendorous and then going to you room that is closet size.

Best of the hotel:
*Soup (from room service), tomatoe + basil + pinne nuts. Also, chocolate + churros from breakfast at Fuego.
*The art in the hotel.
*The grounds.

Suggestions for improvement:
*I don't like the whole car valet on top of the resort fee. I ended spending an extra $10/day on tips for the car pick up.
*Consider adding yourself to a mileage program (Starwood?). Most of us, frequent travelers like to collect miles.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

La Posada has a lot going for it....Good location; good food; beautiful grounds. It is a wonderful place to grab a (complimentary) coffee, the NY Times or the WSJ, and sit, sip, and read. The rooms are average.

However, on my most recent stay (I have stayed their 3 times), I have noticed that the service at the front desk is not what is used to be/should be. Perhaps it was because I booked the room via priceline, but the staff member checking us in was rather unfriendly. Perhaps it was just a long day, she had been dealing with lots of issues, etc., but it was not a great way to launch our stay.

Nonetheless, it is a pretty good hotel that has a lot going for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I think this hotel can be overpriced, but the rooms are cozy and represent Santa Fe well. They aren't grand, but they're nice. The staff is nice and sometimes helpful, which isn't always easy to find in Santa Fe. Housekeeping was just okay. The restaurant is pretty good and most of the staff is good, but there is one lady on the wait staff who is not attentive and blamed all of the poor service on the cook and the hostess. The hostess wasn't consistently attentive. Some days, yes, some days, missing for long periods of time. The pool is basic, but clean. The spa is nice, although small. The steam room is a plus. The massage therapists are pretty good. There is one gentleman in the spa who is great with pedicures. You can dress casual or dress up. In general, Santa Fe is NOT a fashion mecca and is very casual. The hotel is unique, but not necessarily super upscale. More historic. The artwork in the hotel, in my opinion, is horrendous. Very cheesy and not high end. It doesn't represent elegance. I recommend the hotel, but check your room before you settle in because they aren't all nice. I don't know how it compares to others, but I have seen ONE room at La Fonda and it was nice. The La Fonda was too crowded for my tastes. Also, I would stay on an upper floor, so you don't have people walking above you. Also, there's a $30 hotel use fee. Be careful because if there's a wedding or event, some spots will be loud until about 11pm.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a fireplace in the late fall and winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the parking attendants to the restaurant staff to the room and pool staff, the La Posada stands heads above anyone in Santa Fe.
We stayed two nights and by the time we departed we were greeted like "family" members by the parking staff and the restaurant people. They really made us feel at home and were very kind to our grandkids who always seemed to come up with something new for the staff. The staff always came through. This is a delightful home away from home that is very special.
Thank you La Posada!!

Room Tip: Weddings on the courtyard until 10pm on weekends, so be aware of the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear JCH87506,

Thank you so much for the great review. It made my day. We focus our staff on being intimate and genuine in all there interactions. Additionally, one of our cornerstones of service is to have fun. I'm so glad that you experienced this while on site. I will be sure to share this with the team and thank them for the effort.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days and chose a king patio room.The property exudes the old world charm with duplex styled cottages sprawled all over.Our room was nice and big with a large patio.Staff were very courteous and always ready to help.The hotel itself is around 2-3 minutes away from the Plaza and they had free shuttle service to drop you off and pick you back up as soon as you called. Josh was our shuttle driver on both days and was very prompt and courteous and always at your service. We also liked the hotel breakfast which they serve outside in a covered patio.Nice ambience!
My only complaint would be that during our check-out we found that somebody fraudulently billed around $200 in dinner food bills against our room number.We immediately knew this was wrong as we never ate dinner at this hotel's restaurant. Bringing this to the attention of front desk,they recovered the checks which had our room number but signed by some different person. Fortunately the front desk staff deducted the food bills charges,but we think this unnecessary hassle could have been avoided if the restaurant staff cross-checked the room number with the guest name.
Overall a nice stay otherwise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ina1021,

Thank you for the time to write a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate the acknowledge of Josh and the breakfast experience. I have to say that the patio is one of my favorite places on the property. I will also share your review with Josh as I know he collects his letters and loves to know when he makes an impact on peoples stays. He cares and does a great job. It makes my job that much better when I can thank him with a note like yours. On the issue with your bill I'm so sorry for the mix-up. I'm glad that the team at the front figured it out and got it corrected quickly.

We look forward to your return.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.